Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Sussex County Delaware Deed Record 1800-1818 (11 Vol) F172.S8 K43
- Land Records of Sussex County, Delaware 1681-1792 (10 vol)Sussex County Delaware F172.S8 L35
These two indexes provide references and abstracts of records documenting land records, court transactions, and more records in Somerset and Worcester counties (including present-day Wicomico County) before 1870. The document includes two separate indexes, originally handwritten by John E. Jacob Jr. and transcribed by Jane Burt: the first arranged by location and the second by surname. The original indexes are found in the John Jacob Collection at the Nabb Research Center.
These 1745 and 1755 debt books for Worcester County, Maryland were transcribed and compiled by Jane Yantis from microfilm roll MSA SR7944.
According to Skinner's 2016 abstracts, "The Provincial Land Office of Maryland was responsible for distributing land from 1634 to 1777 on behalf of the Lord Proprietor. The Lord Proprietor’s rent rolls and the debt books, the means by which the Lord Proprietor kept track of the rents due him, both commence in 1715 (though some are no longer extant). The surviving rent rolls consist of entries for each tract of land patented, the name of the person for whom the land was originally surveyed, the present owner, acreage, and rent. Alienations, or subsequent sales and leases of the piece of land, are also included. The debt books’ great value is that they enable the researcher to track land ownership over various years in cases of intestate estates, land inherited by women, and land that is not specified in a will."
American Origins was presented by the Edward H. Nabb Research Center for Delmarva History and Culture at Salisbury University. It is a digital archive, utilizing GIS technology, focusing on the settlement period of 1663 through 1759. The database consists of records pertaining to the inhabitants of the neck of land just south of the Wicomico River in Somerset County, Maryland currently referred to as Mt. Vernon. This area, formerly known as the Hungary Neck district, contained portions of the Monie and Wicomico Hundreds during the colonial period.
Ballard Miles Surveys Index
For the past twenty-five years, Salisbury University and the Nabb Research Center have been the custodians of survey documents prepared by three generations of the Miles family, namely William F.W.; Samuel F.; and W. Ballard Miles. These documents consist mainly of plats and descriptions of parcels of land in Somerset County [Maryland], but also include many in Worcester and Wicomico Counties.
The time span covered by these surveys is roughly from the mid-eighteen hundreds to nineteen-seventy. However, research notes in many of these files track earlier surveys back to before the Revolutionary War.
Early Somerset County, MD Land Records
1670-1683 Somerset County, MD Surveys
The Somerset County Warrants Book of Francis Jenckins is actually not a warrants book at all, but primarily a surveyor’s record book. Its principal contents are descriptions of approximately 700 land tracts surveyed under Francis Jenckins and James Weedon during their tenures as Deputy Surveyor of Somerset County, 1670-1683. The surveys have been abstracted by G. Ray Thompson, Ph.D.
1685 Somerset County, MD Rent Roll
The Rent Roll is a list of the Somerset property owners and their patented lands for which rent was due the Proprietor in 1685. It was abstracted by John F. Polk, Ph.D. from the last 12 pages of the Jenckins Warrants Book. The list is compiled by owner and tract names of the properties owned, with size shown in acres.
- Dorchester County Maryland Land Office additional rent rolls 1737-1745, 1745-1755 F187.D6 K43 F187. D6 R4
- Dorchester County Maryland Debt Book 1734-1759 F187.D6 K39
- Dorchester County Land Records 1815-1860 F187.D6 L2
- Dorchester County Maryland Rent Rolls 1659-1745 (2 vol) F187.D6 R4
- Settlers of Maryland 1679-1783 (5 vol-land patents & certificates)) F180.C65
- The Early Settlers of Maryland (land patents) F180.S55
- Abstracts of the Debt Books of the Provincial Land Office Somerset County 1733-1774 (3 vol asst yrs) F187.S7 S78
- Somerset Couty Maryland Rent Rolls 1662-1775 (12 vol) F187.S7 T22
- 1734 Debt Book Somerset County Maryland (2 vol) F187.S7 T23
- 1783 Tax List Somerset County and Worcester County Maryland F187.?S7 T24 1783
- 1798 Federal Direct Tax of Somerset County Maryland F187.S7 T24
- Tax Lists of Somerset County 1730-1740 F187.S7 T320
- Somerset County Tax Lists 1723-1759 (21 asst vol.) F187.T25
- Land Records of Somerset County Maryland F187.S7 L2
- Somerset County Maryland Land Records 1671-1803 (16 vol) F187.S7 L2
- 1783 Tax Lists for Somerset County and Worcester County Maryland F187.S7 T24
- Land Records of Wicomico County 1666-1810 F187.W5 D78
- Land records of Worcester County Maryland 1666-1810 (Ruth T. Dryden) F187.W7 L2
- Worcester County Maryland Land Records (Abstracted by Leslie & Neil Keddie) 1742-1801 (9 books) F187.W7 L2
- Worcester County Land Records: Abstracts of Libers AG, AF & AH (1815-1818) F187.W7 L2
- Land Patents of Worcester Couty, MD (1742-1755): John Henry, Deputy Surveyor of Worcester County F187.W7 L22
- Abstracts of the Debt Books of the Provincial Land Office of Maryland: Worcester County (3 vols.) (V.L Skinner, Jr) F187.W7 S56
- Worcester County, Maryland 1745 & 1755 Debt Book (sorted by last name) (compiled & transcribed by Jane M. Yantis) F187.W7 Y33
- Worcester County, Maryland 1745 & 1755 Debt Book (sorted by time & name) (compiled & transcribed by Jane M. Yantis) F187.W7 Y33
- Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of Virginia Land Patents and Grants (Abstracted and Index by Nell Marion Nugent) 5 volumes F225. N842
- Accomack Land Causes 1728-1825 (Compiled by Stratton Nottingham) F232.A2 N5 1990
- The 1787 Census of Virginia: Accomack County (The Personal Property Lists for the Year 1787 for Accomack County, Virginia) (Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Love) F232.A2 S37 1987
- Virgnia's Eastern Shore: A history of Northampton and Accomack County (2 vols) (Ralph T. Whitelaw) F232.E2 W6 1989
- 1856 Personal Property Tax for Northampton County, Virginia (Transcribed by Doris Adler) F232.N85 A23 1996
- An Original List of Taxable Property within the county of Northampton, Virginia for 1796 (transcribed by Frances Bibbins Latimer) F232.N85 L375 1998
- Virginia Land Causes: Lancaster County (1795-1848) Northampton County (1731-1868) (Stratton Nottingham) F232.N85 S94