Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Family History at the Nabb Center: Church Records

Maryland

  1. St. Martin's Parish Ledger  Worcester County, Maryland    F187.W7 R2
  2. Buckingham Presbyterian Church in Berlin, MD (Isaac W. K. Hardy, D.D)     F187.W7 R23
  3. A Testament to Faith: A History of Bethany United Methodist Church, Berlin, Maryland (Celebrating 180 Years of Recorded History, 1811-1991) (Elaine Wiser)    F187.W7 R22
  4. Sessions Book of Snow Hill Meeting House (Compiled by G. Ray Thompson)    F187.W7 R23
  5. Abstracts from Dorchester County Parish Records    F187.D6 B97

Asbury United Methodist Church

This handwritten ledger includes the records of the Methodist Episcopal Church, Salisbury Circuit, Philadelphia Conference from 1851 to 1879. Included are baptisms, marriages, elders and preachers, and other membership information. These records come from the Asbury Methodist Episcopal Church collection at the Nabb Research Center. For full view of the ledger, visit here: https://archive.org/details/mechurch-salisbury

St. John's United Methodist Church Records (Deal Island, Maryland)

In the early 2000s, T. Aaron Horner and Joan Barnhart transcribed the marriages, baptisms, and gravestones of St. John's United Methodist Church in Deal Island, Maryland. The original records remain at the church. Full view of the transcription can be found here: https://archive.org/details/dealislandstjohns 

St. Peter's Methodist Church Baptisms and Marriages 1857-1969

This transcription consists of the records of St. Peter's Methodist Church in Hopewell, Maryland from 1857 to 1969. Although this transcript only covers baptisms and marriages, the full collection contains finances and memberships. For full view of the transcription, visit here: https://archive.org/details/2000.013

Malone Church Marriage and Baptism Records, 1883-1894

This ledger contains the church record of the Madison Circuit of the Delaware Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, which was an African American church in Dorchester County Maryland that included Malone Church. Included are baptisms from 1883 to 1893 and marriages from 1883 to 1894. For full view of the transcription, visit here: https://archive.org/details/2003.003complete

Marriage and Baptismal Records of the Union Methodist Episcopal Church (Federalsburg, Maryland), 1859-1943

In 1999, Carlene Schmick and Robert Peloquin transcribed the marriage and baptismal records of the Union Methodist Episcopal Church (Federalsburg, Maryland) for the Edward H. Nabb Research Center. The records date from 1859 to 1943. The originals are kept at the church and were microfilmed at the Maryland State Archives; microfilm copies can be accessed at the Nabb Research Center. For full view of the transcription, visit here: https://archive.org/details/federalsburgunionmechurch

Virginia

  1. Accomack Tithables 1663-1695 (Compiled by Stratton Nottingham)     F232.A2 N462
  2. A Record of Baptisms on the Accomack Circuit (Researched by Gail M Walczyk)    F232.A2 W25 1999
  3. Northampton County, Virginia Tithables, 1662-1677 (John B Bell)    F232.N85 B44 1993
  4. Northampton County, Virginia, Tithables, 1720-1769 (John B. Bell)     F232.N85 B45 1993
  5. Hungars Parish Records (1660-1661) Northampton County, Virginia    F232.N85 H8
  6. Vestry Book of Hungars Parish Northampton County, Virginia (1757-1875) (transcribed and edited by Dr. Howard Mackey and Candy McMahon Pery)    F232.N85 M33 1997

Historical Sketch Of Methodist Episcopal Church in Somerset County

In 1878, an attempt was made to document the history of the Methodist Church on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. With little data being kept, much of the history of the Methodist denomination, and the Eastern Shore being a bastion of it, has been lost. This transcription was created from an original manuscript found in Philadelphia's Presbyterian Historical Society. For a full view of the sketch, visit here: https://archive.org/details/SomersetCountyMEChurch

Stevenson Methodist Episcopal Church (Berlin, Maryland)

These two ledgers contain the church records of the Stevenson Methodist Episcopal Church in Berlin, Maryland from 1857 to 1957. Records include baptisms, marriages, member lists, and other miscellaneous information about the church's activities. Digitized from the originals provided by (and returned to) the church. Full view of the records can be found here: https://archive.org/details/stevenson-mechurch-ledgers/StevensonChurchLedger1

Mt. Calvary United Methodist Church Records, 1889-1917

This transcription contains the records of the African American church, Mt. Calvary United Methodist Church, in Fruitland, Maryland, and the church records of Friendship and Flower Hill churches in Eden and Allen, Maryland. Included are marriages and baptisms from 1889-1917. For full view of the transcription, visit here: https://archive.org/details/2012.061complete

Bethlehem Methodist Episcopal Church Baptism and Marriage Records, 1885-1977

The Bethlehem Methodist Church Records document the membership and activities of the Dorchester County church, as well as Taylor's Island's Methodist congregation before the official church's establishment in 1858. Included are baptisms and marriages from 1885 to 1977. For full view of the transcription, visit here: https://archive.org/details/2001.004complete

Metropolitan Methodist Episcopal Church Records, 1875-1960

This microfilm transcription is available in the Edward H. Nabb's Research Center, and contains the records of the Metropolitan ME Church in Princess Anne, Maryland, which was initially organized by slaves in the early nineteenth century. Included are records of marriages from 1875 to 1912, baptisms from 1875-1914, and funerals from 1929 to 1960. For full view of the transcription, visit here: https://archive.org/details/SCR073