Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Family History at the Nabb Center: Family Bibles

About the Nabb Center's family bibles

Bibles donated to the Nabb Center, whether singly or as part of a larger collection, have largely been integrated into one collection. A variety of print editions spanning from 18th Century to 20th century are represented, as well as various religious denominations and types of Bibles. Most of the Bibles contain hand-written notations of family history—including births, deaths, marriages and baptisms—for several surnames beyond the title. Some may contain additional clippings or other items and some Bibles do not contain any family information. Family Bibles held by the Nabb Center and not included in this collection are also referred to in the inventory.

2006.200 Family Bible Collection inventory

Box 1

Series 1 Wicomico Historical Society

  1. WHS-BI-004 The Holy Bible containing the Old and New Testaments…  pub. 1839            
  2. WHS-BI-001, McGrath / Cathell Family Bible pub. 1866
  3. WHS-BI-007, Ridell / Rider Family Bible pub. 1827
  4. Holy Bible Pub. American Bible Society nd

Box 2

  1. Holland Family Bible, 1819
  2. Bodine Family Bible
  3. Children’s Bible, pub: Golden Press

Box 3

  1. WHS-BI-009, Ephraim Dennis Family Bible pub. 1855
  2. B-114, pub.1851 “Notes, Explanatory and Practical on The Gospels:  Designed for Sunday School Teachers and Bible Classes, Vol. II by Albert Barnes
  3. B-112, Fields Family Bible pub. 1828
  4. New Testament
  5. Oxford Published Bible 
  6. The Holy Bible containing the Old Testament and The New… “Printed by Charles Bill, and the Exectrix of Thomas Newcomb, de-ceas’d; printers to the Queens most Excellent Majesty, MDCCVI [1706].”

Box 4

  1. Our Salvation Bible [pocketsize] Copyright 1942 & 1954 by John Ray Hinkle [Charlie C. Hudson]
  2. William T. Johnson, The New Testament 1873
  3. John Stewart [ Fields Family Bible], 1868
  4. Warrick Family Bible, 1855
  5. Mrs. Warricks’ Bible, pub. Whitman
  6. James P. Toadvine Family Bible ,1855 [Malone/ Toadvine/ Fields]
  7. Charley Hudson’s New Testament, 1889
  8. Mrs. R.C. Maxwell New Testament, pub. Southwestern Co.
  9. Dr. Richard Lemmons’ Bible, 1841

Box 5

  1. Levin M. Dashiell Family Bible 1850, pub. 1849
  2. Reid Family Bible, 1806
  3. Laura Sophia Baker, Holy Bible 1891 
  4. James Family Bible, 1845
  5. WHS-BI-014, [Charles] Dashiell Family Bible 1827

Box 6

Series II Assorted Bibles

  1. 1995.12.42 [Milton & Ethel] Gunby Family Bible, 1892

Box 7

  1. 1999.26-99.26.01 [Naboth & Catherine] Slacum Family Bible, 1891

Box 8

  1. Thomas Dobson Bible, 1799

Box 9

  1. 2001.01.09 Wilkins Family Bible c1892

Box 10

  1. TC580 Sandra Frazier [John Edward & Lily Rush Gillis] Polk Family Bible c 1899

Box 11 

  1. 2007.064 Mr. & Mrs. Carlton Tyer 1892
  2. 2020.006 Brown family Bible
  3. 2020.006 Brown family Bible

Box 12

  1. 2005.093 George & Almira Gibbons Miller c1890
  2. TC606 King Burnett Collection Tarr Family Bible [given to Peter Tarr by Tench Tilghman 1856] contains pages from earlier unidentified Bible

Box 13

  1. 1997.01 James A. & Maggie C. Williams Waller Jr. Family Bible pub. 1889

Box 14

  1. 2006.064 Dore Family Collection:  Laird / Bedsworth Family Bible 1883

Box 15

  1. Matthews 2009.035

Box 16

  1. Holy Bible 1852
  2. Gordon H. Toadvine Family Bible 1853 [son of Alexander G. Toadvine & Theodora Humphreys Toadvine]
  3. 1995.33.02  Samuel Bernard & Mary Helen Barr Harrell Family Bible  c1902 [also Laws family]
  4. 2007.074  Janet Parker Taylor  New Testament of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ pub.1859
  5. Holy Bible, nd,  pub. Harper, no family info

Box 17 

  1. TC767  Lauren Wainwright Collection 1878 Stuart family records 
  2. 2018.081 Cantwell family bible, circa 1871
  3. 2021.019 Huffington Family Bible, 1849

Box 18

  1. 1998.142 CRV Hall Collection.  1898 Bible.  No family records (cover off)
  2. 1998.142 CRV Hall Collection  1868 Bible.  Johnson and Cook family records
  3. 1998.142 CRV Hall Collection  1846 Bible.  No family records (notation on inside cover:  Eugene Ryland Meiles & Emma R. Meiles Baltimore, MD)
  4. 1998.142 CRV Hall Collection  1852 Bible.  No family records (notation on inside cover:  Miss Martha E. Streeter from Mrs. Fox June 30th 1855)
  5. 2011.006 Sue Ellen Robinson 1865 Bible No family records (notation on inside:  Martha Brumbley)
  6. Sue Ellen Robinson 1867 Bible  White family records
  7. Mia Vye 2011. 015.014 Lambdin-LeCompte family records  1833 Bible
  8. Philliips, Waller, Atkins family records TC785; from Sussex County (Millsboro) Delaware
  9. Martha Washington White and Levin James Dashiell family Bible; from Mrs. Robert Taylor
  10. 2009temp42; nd on Bible; 1863-1993 records include Covington, Gillis, Jones

Box 19

  1. The Art Bible (1901) (no family info)
  2. Parsons Family Bible(1831), donated by Teresa Derrickson
  3. Neal Family Bible (1850), donated by Teresa Derrickson
  4. Glendining Family Bible (1818) donated by Ethel & Charles Berry (2001.01.05.01)

Box 20

  1. D. Page Elmore 2013.022 no family records
  2. D. Page Elmore 2013.022 (1903) no family records
  3. Bates Family 2014.078; written on inside page “William & Mary E. Norris From Papa December 25, 1879” published 1879; Norris & Bates family records

Box 21

  1. 2014.111 donated by Daughtery-Ball, no family information (name written in front: “John Stewart Sept 21, 1868”) published 1868
  2. 2014.111 donated by Debra Daughtery-Ball; Somers & Adams families records pub. 1828
  3. Phillips family 2015.171 donated by Gillian Phillips pub 1834
  4. Majors family 2006.200  donated by Barbara Whitehead pub. 1861
  5. Donaway family donated by Judith Lowe 2016.040 pub. 1869
  6. Kellam family donated by Alice Hooper Lambert 2019.100 pub. 1877
  7. Kellam, Hall, Stevens, Beard donated by Alice Hooper Lambert 2019.100 pub. 1813
  8. Stevens (of Accomack City, VA) donated by Alice Hooper Lambert 2019.100 (no pub)

Box 22

  1. Perkins and Furniss Bible (also includes Coulburn and Miles) 1999.001

Separated

  • 1998.127.03  Yantis Collection, Hurst Family, 1874 – REMOVED TO 2012.001
  • 1999.05.13 Selby / Martin Family Bible, 1814 – REMOVED to 1999.005
  • 1999.05.10 Townsend Family Bible, 1819 [may have slave births in front of book] – REMOVED to 1999.005
  • 1999.05.12 [George & Priscilla] Upshur Family Bible, 1839 – REMOVED to 1999.005
  • 1999.05.05 Ed Hammond Collection, Warrington / Robinson Family Bible, 1812 – REMOVED TO 1999.005
  • 1999.05.11 [Henry & Eleanor] Franklin Family Bible, c1791 - – REMOVED to 1999.005
  • 1999.05.09 pub.1857 no family information – REMOVED TO 1999.005
  • 1988.050 Arthur Smack Family Bible 1908 – REMOVED to 1988.050
  • 1991.31.45.06 Albert Laws Collection 1945 no family records – REMOVED to 1991.031
  • 1991.31.45.07 Albert Laws Collection 1831 no family records - REMOVED
  • 91.35.45.04 Albert Laws Collection  nd  Bacon Family Records REMOVED
  • 91.31.45.05 Albert Laws Collection 1973 no family records REMOVED
  • 91.31.45.08 Albert Laws Collection 1831 no family records REMOVED
  • 91.31.45.03 Albert Laws Collection c1881 Bacon, Hearn, Morris family records REMOVED
  • Register only, no Bible, of Windsor family; probably Somerset County, MD, found in collections, unknown source [MISSING]
  • Isaac and Frances Ann (Nichols) Molock family  (black family from Dorchester County, MD) 1865 Bible; donated by Keiford Jackson; contains Jackson family records. Mollock family Bible (used in Nabb's 2010 African American exhibit);  Bible belonged to Clarence Molock (1883-1946) who was a scholar, educator and preacher.  He lived in Vienna and Baltimore, MD REMOVED to 2009.030
  • 1999.006 Gilliss Family Collection family bibles

Partial Transcription of Family Bibles

Contained within these pages are the transcriptions of family Bible records that have been donated to the Nabb Center over the years. The publication dates of the Bibles date from the 1600s to the 1990s. Entries might include marriages, births, and deaths or any other notations made by the writer.  Some entries only record a single generation; others may include several generations.  The condition of each Bible and its hand-written notations varies; some are legible and others are not.  Arrangement of the transcriptions has been made as per each Bible and the family name used is either the one given or the name which most often recorded in that Bible.  Naturally, there may be several other surnames found in each Bible. 

Separated Family Bibles

  • 1998.127.03  Yantis Collection, Hurst Family, 1874 – REMOVED TO 2012.001
  • 1999.05.13 Selby / Martin Family Bible, 1814 – REMOVED to 1999.005
  • 1999.05.10 Townsend Family Bible, 1819 [may have slave births in front of book] – REMOVED to 1999.005
  • 1999.05.12 [George & Priscilla] Upshur Family Bible, 1839 – REMOVED to 1999.005
  • 1999.05.05 Ed Hammond Collection, Warrington / Robinson Family Bible, 1812 – REMOVED TO 1999.005
  • 1999.05.11 [Henry & Eleanor] Franklin Family Bible, c1791 - – REMOVED to 1999.005
  • 1999.05.09 pub.1857 no family information – REMOVED TO 1999.005
  • 1988.050 Arthur Smack Family Bible 1908 – REMOVED to 1988.050
  • 1991.31.45.06 Albert Laws Collection 1945 no family records – REMOVED to 1991.031
  • 1991.31.45.07 Albert Laws Collection 1831 no family records - REMOVED
  • 91.35.45.04 Albert Laws Collection  nd  Bacon Family Records REMOVED
  • 91.31.45.05 Albert Laws Collection 1973 no family records REMOVED
  • 91.31.45.08 Albert Laws Collection 1831 no family records REMOVED
  • 91.31.45.03 Albert Laws Collection c1881 Bacon, Hearn, Morris family records REMOVED
  • Register only, no Bible, of Windsor family; probably Somerset County, MD, found in collections, unknown source [MISSING]
  • Isaac and Frances Ann (Nichols) Molock family  (black family from Dorchester County, MD) 1865 Bible; donated by Keiford Jackson; contains Jackson family records. Mollock family Bible (used in Nabb's 2010 African American exhibit);  Bible belonged to Clarence Molock (1883-1946) who was a scholar, educator and preacher.  He lived in Vienna and Baltimore, MD REMOVED to 2009.030
  • 1999.006 Gilliss Family Collection family bibles

Published records

  1. Bible Records in the Snow Hill Public Library  Snow Hill, MD (Transcribed by G. Ray Thompson PhD)     F187.W7 B53 2017
  2. Bible Records of Worcester County, MD Families (Transcribed by G. Ray Thompson, PhD)    F187.W7 W673
  3. Bible Records Accomack/Northampton County, VA (23 vols)    F232.N85 B53