Introduction
The Nabb Research Center is home to the Salisbury University Archives. Among other collections documenting the administration of Salisbury University since opening in 1925 and other institutional topics, the University Archives also contains Lina Lecate's scrapbook and the diaries of Mae Jones, two students who attended Maryland State Normal School from 1925 to 1927. In addition, the UA has a diary of a campus elementary school teacher from 1926 and the school's student newspapers: The Holly Leaf and The SSC Informer. These five digitized collections all provide insight into the college student experience and document changes that occurred over Salisbury University's 95-year history from a student perspective.
Student Diaries
These four diaries contain daily accounts of Mae Jones’ time at Maryland State Normal School, home, and travels. This includes the classes she attended and other activities or events she witnessed.
- Diary of a Campus Elementary Teacher
This diary contains daily critiques on another teacher or student teacher written by an unknown teacher who taught at the Maryland State Normal School Campus Elementary School in 1926. There are critiques for each class taught by the teacher. There are also notes and ideas for classroom activities.
Finding Aid
Objects
Pennant
Salisbury Gulls pennant, 1965-66.
UA2016.009.001
Lapel Pin
Lapel pin worn by Loma Cathering Dryden Murray, class of 1939.
UA2017.013.001
Student Scrapbooks
Lina Lecates was a student at Maryland State Normal School from 1925 to 1927. This scrapbook contains programs and keepsakes from Lina Lecates’ time at the Maryland State Normal School. This includes letters, dried flowers, engagement announcements, newspaper clippings, photographs, postcards, and a doily. Some of the scrapbook has not been digitized.
Finding Aid
Newspapers
- Holly LeafThe Holly Leaf was the official campus newspaper at Salisbury University from 1926 to 1970. Published monthly, the Holly Leaf printed articles that covered campus events, student life, and opinions throughout the period of time when the school was known as Maryland State Normal School (1925-1935), Maryland State Teachers College (1935-1963), and lastly Salisbury State College (1963-1988). The Holly Leaf staff consisted of student editors, reporters, and photographers, along with one faculty advisor.
- The SSC InformerThe S.S.C. Informer was the official campus newspaper at Salisbury University from 1971 to 1973. Published monthly, the S.S.C. Informer printed articles that covered campus events, student life, and opinions throughout the period of time when the school was known as Salisbury State College (1963-1988). The S.S.C. Informer staff consisted of student editors, reporters, and photographers, along with one faculty adviser.