Skip to main content

History of Baseball on Delmarva: Home

Introduction

The Eastern Shore has embraced America’s pastime from the earliest days of the game. In small towns along the shores of Delaware, Maryland and Virginia, teams such as the Parksley Spuds, Crisfield Stars, Snow Hill Tigers, Slaughter Neck Giants, and the Salisbury Reds played to enthusiastic, sold-out crowds.

The Nabb Research Center, with support from the National Endowment for the Humanities, has collected, digitized, and photographed thousands of images, documents, and objects related to baseball on the Eastern Shore. In preserving these materials, we hope to inspire future generations to explore this fascinating part of Delmarva history.

This guide serves as a resource to connect researchers with the sources that we've collected and discovered, some of which were in existing Nabb Center collections and others that community members generously permitted us to digitize.

The collections can be further researched in Dropbox by clicking on the collection titles in the spreadsheet below. Please be aware that items may be protected by copyright and permission to use must be obtained from copyright holders. Visit the Nabb Center website or contact us for more information.

Guide to the Digital Archive

Accession # Collection Title Description of Items Finding Aid
1984.016 John Jacob Collection Postcard for the Crisfield Reds, circa 1903. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/1984.016
1987.093 Richard W. Cooper Papers Newspaper articles written by Richard Cooper in 1976, 1995, and 1996 about baseball history on the Eastern Shore. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/1987.093
1993.006 E. Sheldon Jones Collection Included in this collection are three photographs related to baseball: a 1940s Wicomico Memorial Park ticket booth and two photographs of a man in what is likely a Washington College jersey, circa 1920s. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/1993.006
1995.005 Orlando Wootten Photograph Collection Included in this collection is one photograph related to baseball. The photo is a team photo of the 1896 Salisbury baseball club. The individuals are identified in a copy in the Walter Thurston Photograph Collection (2016-096-1542). http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/1995.005
1999.019 Wilson Family photographs Included in this photograph collection is one photograph related the baseball. The photograph shows a bloomer team, likely in Princess Anne in the 1890s, including a few "topper"--men who wore dresses and played on the women's teams. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/1999.019
2001.006 E.I. Brown Photograph Collection Included in this photograph collection are two photographs related to baseball. The photographs are both team photographs of what appears to be a 1920s all star team. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2001.006
2001.007 Wicomico Historical Society collection Included in this collection are miscellaneous documents and one photograph related to baseball. One photograph shows people and baseball players with Salisbury jerseys around 1900 and the documents relate to baseball in Salisbury and Princess Anne in the mid-20th century. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2001.007
2004.011 Pocomoke City Baseball Collection This collection of four photographs features images of both the Pocomoke City and Pocomoke City High School baseball teams. Individuals appearing in the images are all identified. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2004.011
2004.013 Sterling Photograph collection Of note is a 1907 photograph of the Cambridge Baseball Club, winners of the Eastern Shore and Delaware baseball championship of the same year. Team members have been identified on the back of the photograph by last name only. Members of the team are identified below. 1. Bonthron - Catcher 2. Townsend - Left Field and Captain 3. Corneil - 2nd Base 4. John Franklin Baker - 3rd Base 5. Baker - Umpire 6. Coolin - 1st Base 7. Wilson - Pitcher 8. Dawson - Center Field 9. Cunningham - Pitcher 10. Bonthron - 2nd Base 11. Bassett - Catcher and Manager 12. Gallagher - Short Stop 13. H. C. Byrd - Pitcher 14. Norman Meekin - Mascot http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2004.013
2007.032 Eastern Shore Ephemera Collection Included in this collection is one color postcard relate to baseball from 1912. The postcard shows the baseball field in Berlin, Maryland. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2007.032
2011.137 Senator Joe Long scrapbooks This unprocessed collection documents the life and career of Joseph Long, a long-time Salisbury and Eastern Shore politician who was a notable baseball player in the 1940s. Included are images from his scrapbooks. FINDING AID NOT AVAILABLE
2012.048 Humphreys Family papers Included in this collection is a handwritten list of players on the 1876 Salisbury White Cloud baseball team. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2012.048
2012.200 Baker Family papers Included in this photograph collection are six photographs related to baseball, though the baseball field appears to be a professional team, likely the Baltimore Orioles.  http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2012.200
2012.292 James R. Trader papers Included in this collection are 85 images of documents related to the genealogy, life, and career of Allen, Maryland baseball player, Dick Porter. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2012.292
2013.041 Eastern Shore League Salisbury Baseball Sepia-toned photographic print of the Eastern Shore League Salisbury Indians, who pose together with their coaches on the field in front of a series of bleachers. The print is signed on the back by the players, "Joe Kohlman, John Bassler, Leo Revolinsky, Joe Salazar, Joe Sarlis, Frank Deutsch, Frank Trechock, Juan Montero, Fred Thomas, Bill Luzansky, Bermin Gueva, Charles Gumby, and Jerry Lynn." The name of the photograph studio is also stamped on the verso, "Photo-Lite Studio, Ocean City, Md." http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2013.041
2015.021 Improved Order of Red Men, Fruitland Improved Order of Red Men, Fruitland records documents the chapter out of Fruitland, Maryland, Tribe 149, including one photograph of the group's baseball team. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2015.021
2016.096 Walter Thurston Photograph Collection Included in this photograph collection are over 40 photographs related to baseball, primarily in Salisbury in the mid-20th century. While some were taken by Thurston himself, many are photographs of other photographs. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2016.096
2018.050 Richard Griffith Scrapbook This collection of digitized scrapbook pages depicts the baseball career of Sharptown, Maryland native, Mr. Richard Griffith. The collection includes digitized newspaper clippings and photos from Mr. Griffith's baseball career from spanning from 1953-1961. Also included is a digitized copy of Mr. Griffith's application to be inducted into the Eastern Shore Baseball Hall of Fame in 2001 as well as a the copy of the program from the induction event. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2018.050
2018.061 Postcards of Elizabeth S. Hammond A photo postcard written to Miss Elizabeth S. Hammond, Milford, Delaware, in 1908 written by C. Kennedy Lewis depicting the WCA Baseball team. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2018.061a
2019.068 Salisbury Indians baseball scrapbook (2) This loose scrapbook was kept by Lilly Mae Hastings Jones from 1948 to 1949 and documents the Salisbury Indians baseball team through player cards and newspaper clippings. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.068
2019.069 Federalsburg Historical Society collection This 374-image digital collection from the Federalsburg Historical Society dates between the 1880s and the 2010s, though primarily from the 1940s to the 1960s. Included are photocopied news articles, documents, and photographs relating to the Federalsburg Athletics, as well as other Eastern Shore baseball teams.  http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.069
2019.070 Kirkland Hall collection This 58-image digital collection was created by Dr. Kirkland Hall and primarily documents the Negro League team, Oaksville Eagles, located near Princess Anne, Maryland. Included are photographs, newspaper clippings, and other documents related to the team, other Negro League teams and players, and the Oaksville baseball field. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.070
2019.071 Eastern Shore Equipment baseball team photo This black and white photograph depicts the Eastern Shore Equipment company baseball team in the 1950s. All players are identified on the photograph and one man is African American. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.071
2019.072 Howard Bozman signed baseballs This 25-image digital collection consists of photographs of three signed baseballs from the personal collection of Howard Bozman. The balls were signed in the 1950s by notable Eastern Shore baseball players including Dick Porter, Frank "Home Run" Baker, Ducky Detweiler, and Ed Watkins. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.072
2019.077 Ducky Detweiler collection This 1,767-image digital collection documents the baseball career of Robert "Ducky" Detweiler, primarily in the 1940s and 1950s, though including documents up to his induction to the Eastern Shore Baseball Hall of Fame in 1998. Included are photographs, artifacts, a personal narrative by Detweiler, audiovisual items, programs, and many chronological scrapbooks maintained by Detweiler's wife. While Detweiler's career spans Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, and New York, the collection primarily documents his experience in Federalsburg, Maryland where he played on, and later managed, the Federalsburg Athletics. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.077
2019.079 Salisbury Indians baseball scrapbook This scrapbook was kept by Ann B. Suthowski in the 1940s and documents the Salisbury Indians baseball team. Included are baseball player "cards" with player stats, photos, and local advertisements, as well as newspaper clippings from the Daily Times. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.079
2019.087 Donnie Davidson collection This 271-image digital collection has been amassed by Donnie Davidson and are part of his personal collection documenting baseball on Delmarva from the 1860s to the late 20th century. Included are Davidson's research notes, programs, photographs, newspaper clippings, and other ephemera, especially relating to Dorchester County baseball teams.  http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.087
2019.088 Eastern Shore Baseball Hall of Fame scrapbooks This 124-image digital collection consists of scrapbooks from the Eastern Shore Baseball Hall of Fame Museum's collections. Included are newspaper clippings, images, and more related to baseball on the Eastern Shore from the 1920s to the 1940s. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.088
2019.107 Baseball in Princess Anne Collection This 10-image digital collection was donated by Don Chelton and documents baseball in Princess Anne, as well as Salisbury, primarily from the 1930s and 1940s, but also includes photographs from the 1910s reprinted in newspapers decades later. Included are photographs of amateur and semi-professional teams, some of which individuals are identified. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.107
2019.108 Smith Island baseball team photograph This digital collection consists of one image of a newspaper clipping that reprinted a photograph of Smith Island baseball team in 1948. All of the individuals in the photograph, donated by Charles Northam, are identified. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.108
2019.110 Allen Historical Society, Dick Porter collection This 8-image digital collection from the Allen Historical Society documents the career and life of local baseball professional, Dick Porter. Included are newspaper clippings, statistics, biographical information, and reproductions of photographs primary from the 1920s and 1930s, with documents dating as late as 2000. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.110
2019.111 Sudlersville, Jimmy Foxx ephemera This collection consists of ephemera from the Sudlersville Community Betterment Club related to Hall of Fame baseball player, Jimmy Foxx, who was born in Sudlersville, Maryland. It includes a National Baseball Hall of Fame Museum postcard, as well as programs from tribute events held in 1987, 1997, and 2007. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.111
2019.114 Marty Payne collection This digital collection was collected by Marty Payne and documents baseball on Delmarva in the late 19th century. Included in the 35 images are newspaper clippings, photographs, and an 1880s score book from the Dorchester County Historical Society.  http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.114
2019.115 Baseball in Crisfield collection This digital collection was collected by Frank Rhodes and documents baseball in Crisfield, Maryland from 1926 to 1994, though primarily in the 1940s and 1950s and also includes a photograph of an 1892 team reproduced in a later newspaper article. The collection includes many photographs, including one of the Negro League team Crisfield Stars, newspaper articles, team stock certificates (including one for Parksley, Virginia), and written narratives, such as the 1994 article by Scorchy Tawes. http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2019.115
SUA-019 Sports Information Collection Photographs, statistics books, press books, brochures, plaques and more for Salisbury University baseball (1940s-2000) and softball (1974-2004). http://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/university-archives/SUA-019