Library Guides: FINA 449: Stock Presentation/Reports

Starting Points

This page contains suggested starting points and recommended resources for the Stock Project/Presentation.

Also, directly below, are all Business LibGuides by topic for quick reference. Some (not all) of the guides might be helpful to reference throughout your research.

Guides By Subtopic

Locating the Annual Report

Visit the library guide for Annual Reports/SEC Documents for detailed information.

Examining Financial Position

For additional information on Company Profiles you may want to visit that page within the library guide for Company Research. For price data, visit the Stock Reports/Price Data library guide. Here are some recommended databases to start with.

Value Line Investment Survey
"...Its up-to-date, weekly issues are a comprehensive reference source. Its coverage is encyclopedic, covering some 1,700 equity issues. For each stock in its universe, the Value Line Investment Survey offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects..."

Includes a summary/index and 11 editions which are updated on a rotating basis (each edition is never more than 3 months old). Each edition covers specific industries and provides an industry overview, trends, and a company by company analysis of key players. Provides industry ratios at the beginning of each section as well as ratios per company.
How to Use the Value Line Investment Survey
Accessed from the 'Investment Education' - 'Guides' section within the Value Line Investment Survey database and provided for reference.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Content includes many full-text journals and topical video content.

Ratings

See the LibGuide for Ratings and for Research Insight.

Riskiness

For more information you may want to consult the library guide for Stock Reports/Price Data. In addition, here are some resources for historical stock prices/volatility.

BigCharts.com - Historical Stock Quote
Defaults to Microsoft Corp., MSFT. You will need to search by ticker symbol and a specific date.
Yahoo! Finance
Search by ticker symbol in the search box under the home tab and then click 'Get Quote.' Historical prices are available.