Select Databases
- ABI/IFORM Global (ProQuest)Access Country Reports from Economic Intelligence Unit (EIU) ViewsWire, OxResearch Daily Brief Service, and OxResearch Country Profiles, by clicking 'Browse' and then 'Country Reports'
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs OnlineBe sure to check out the content under "Country Data & Maps" (select from left side of the page), which provides data collected from the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU). From there, type your country in the search bar. Results include maps, country overviews and outlooks; and economic and political reports. Tip: sort results by year to see most current information first.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Content includes many full-text journals and topical video content.
Select Websites
- U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets (state.gov)"Factual publications that provide information on all the countries of the world with which the US has relations. They include facts on the country's land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and its relations with other countries and the United States."
- The World Factbook (cia.gov)The CIA provides users with an excellent concise country overview (map, introduction, geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational).
- Country Studies (loc.gov)"Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region. The series includes several books on countries that no longer exist in their original configuration—such as Czechoslovakia, East Germany, the Soviet Union, Sudan, and Yugoslavia. These books remain in the series because they continue to offer valuable historical information and perspective. In some cases, studies on successor states are also part of the series."
- Export.govHelping U.S. companies export
- U.S. Direct Investment Abroad (bea.gov)Economic information. Quarterly, annual, and historic data. Available by country or by industry.
- U.S. International Data - Foreign Trade (census.gov)Reports, Interactive Graphs, Graph of the Month, Recent News
- International Trade Administration (.gov)A bureau within the U.S. Department of Commerce
- Everything International (Russow, Philadelphia University)Page with resources for Country & Regional Data in addition to many other pages on International Business topics. Created and maintained by a Professor of International Business and Marketing at Philadelphia University).
- globalEDGE (.edu)A source for global business knowledge. Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. BRASS Best of the Best Business Web Resources Award 2012 recipient.
- BRASS Best of the Best Business Websites LibGuide - International BusinessA LibGuide containing resources for 'Country Profiles and Statistics' and 'Doing Business' created and maintained by business librarians through BRASS, part of the Reference and User Services Association, which is a division of the American Library Association
- BRASS Selected Core Resources - International BusinessFrom the American Library Association and authored/maintained by business librarians, this guide gives the best sources to use in answering frequently asked questions for International Business.
- UN Comtrade - International Trade Statistics Database"Free access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010."
- World Bank - Countries & RegionsEconomic and starting a business information. Search a particular country and view available information.
- Geert Hofstede's Dimensions of National CultureThis site outlines the research of Geert Hofstede, where he breaks down the dimensions of culture into six areas. Through this site you can also access a tool to compare different countries' scores on the spectrum.
- Country Specific Sources (Karen Blakeman)Blakeman provides links to a number of key country overview websites, as well as specific links per country or region. Also, check out the link to Statistics for a specific country/region statistical data.
Select Books
Dun and Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World by Call Number: HF1416 .M78 2001ISBN: 0735201080Publication Date: 2000-12-01"... features vital facts on population, demographics, and markets; top prospects for export; risk ratings; economic overviews and foreign investment reports; information on societal, religious, and political influences on business; critiques of trade and monetary policies; and updates on tariffs...Each chapter covers a different country and addresses key cultural factors..."
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands by Call Number: HF5389 .M67 2006ISBN: 1593373686Publication Date: 2006-07-24"Presents information on the practices needed to do business in over sixty countries, covering such topics as historical background, cultural orientation, protocol, negotiations, entertainment, dress, and forms of address."The Statesman's Yearbook
Call Number: JA51 .S7 2015Publication Date: 2015This classic reference work presents a political, economic and social account of every country of the world together with facts and analysis.
