Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page contains suggested starting points and recommended resources for the Sector Analysis.
Also, directly below, are all Business LibGuides by topic for quick reference. Some (not all) of the guides might be helpful to reference throughout your research.
For additional information, you may want to visit the library guide for Industry Research. Here is a recommendation for one library database and one resource located in our reference collection.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (Reference HC106.6 .S74)
Analyzes over 50 major North American industries. Each industry survey contains information on: Current Environment; Industry Profile; Industry Trends; How the Industry Operates; Key Industry Ratio and Statistics; Glossary; Industry References (periodicals, trade associations, and government agencies); and, Comparative Company Analysis. Published quarterly.
For additional information, you may want to visit the library guide for Industry Research. Here are recommended databases to start.
How to Use the Value Line Investment Survey
Accessed from the 'Investment Education' - 'Guides' section within the Value Line Investment Survey database and provided for reference.
Value Line Investment Survey
"...Its up-to-date, weekly issues are a comprehensive reference source. Its coverage is encyclopedic, covering some 1,700 equity issues. For each stock in its universe, the Value Line Investment Survey offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects..."
Includes a summary/index and 11 editions which are updated on a rotating basis (each edition is never more than 3 months old). Each edition covers specific industries and provides an industry overview, trends, and a company by company analysis of key players. Provides industry ratios at the beginning of each section as well as ratios per company.