Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page contains suggested starting points and recommended resources for the Economics Analysis.
Also, directly below, are all Business LibGuides by topic for quick reference. Some (not all) of the guides might be helpful to reference throughout your research.
Try consulting a free online dictionary, like Investopedia, to gather more information about any of the components involved in an Economic Analysis.
The resources mentioned below provide detailed information regarding resources that can be useful for the Economic Analysis -- simply consult the Index or Table of Contents to find the needed information. Some of the resources covered in these books are also noted throughout this guide.
ALA Guide to Economics and Business Reference by
Call Number: HB61 .A423 2011
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Find this book in the reference collection. "Focuses on print and electronic sources that are key to economics and business reference, providing a classified annotated bibliography."
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information by
Call Number: HF1010 .M67 2012
Find this book in the reference collection. "This new edition of Strauss's classic handbook will retain its place as an essential text for library students; an indispensable guide for practitioners in public, academic, and special libraries who deal with business inquiries; and a resource for entrepreneurs and business professionals."
Recommended Web Sources for the Economics Analysis
American FactFinder (Census.gov)
"American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys." Use Advanced Search to customize search and find specific data within a particular area.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (bea.gov)
The U.S. BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce that produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. The cornerstone of BEA's statistics is the national income and product accounts (NIPAs), which feature the estimates of gross domestic product (GDP) and related measures.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (bls.gov)
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.
Congressional Budget Office (cbo.gov)
Nonpartisan Analysis for the U.S. Congress
Consumer Price Index (BLS.gov)
As part of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
Economic Census (Census.gov)
"The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law."
Economic Indicators (GPO.gov)
"Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics."
Economic Report of the President (Whitehouse.gov)
"The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chair of the Council of Economic Advisers. An important vehicle for presenting the Administration’s domestic and international economic policies, it provides an overview of the nation's economic progress with text and extensive data appendices. You can download the full report or individual chapters in PDF format. Statistical appendix tables are also available for download in either PDF or Excel format."
Economics and Statistics Administration (DOC.gov)
"The Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) plays three key roles within the Department of Commerce (DOC). ESA provides timely economic analysis, disseminates national economic indicators, and oversees the U.S. Census Bureau (Census) and the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). In this latter role, ESA works closely with the leadership at BEA and Census on high priority management, budget, employment, and risk management issues, integrating the work of these agencies with the priorities and requirements of the Department of Commerce and other government entities.
ESA’s expert economists and analysts produce in-depth reports, fact sheets, and briefings on policy issues and current economic events. DOC and White House policymakers rely on these tools, as do American businesses, state and local governments, and news organizations around the world. See our Reports section for a list of recent reports."
Producer Price Index (BLS.gov)
As part of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, The Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output. The prices included in the PPI are from the first commercial transaction for many products and some services.
Survey of Consumers (University of Michigan)
A wealth of reports, tables, charts, data, and information available from Thomson Reuters University of Michigan. Latest 6 months not available.
The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER.org)
"Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research in a scientific manner, and without policy recommendations, among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community." A wealth of data is indexed on this site.