Library Guides: FINA 449: Databases

Access SU Libraries Databases

Databases A-Z List

Tips for Searching Databases

Use keywords.

Combine keywords with boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).

If your research involves a company, search by the ticker symbol of that company, if available.

If you are doing industry research, search by industry code when possible.

Not sure where to start? Here are some databases organized by research need...

Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1889-2010.
Morningstar This link opens in a new window
Find a stock or fund to meet your needs, research current or prospective holdings or see how your investments work together. Morningstar's data reports cover more than 20,000 securities.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper 1984-present
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
The Value Line Investment Survey is one of the most widely used independent investment information services in the world. Its up-to-date, weekly issues are a comprehensive reference source. Its coverage is encyclopedic, covering some 1,700 equity issues.
For each stock in its universe, the Value Line Investment Survey offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects.
The Value Line Investment Survey's main section, "Ratings & Reports," presents full-page, individual stock reports and industry reviews. The "Summary & Index" provides a key to locating the latest quarterly and supplementary reports and cites the most recent data on each of the stocks followed. Finally, "Selection & Opinion," a feature section, gives Value Line's views on the economy and the stock market and on stocks of special interest.

Business-specific databases that provide articles and some non-journal content.

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for 1000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research in over 400 books, journals, dissertations, and working papers.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for 1000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.

Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for The Sun, Baltimore (Baltimore Sun) newspaper 1990-present.
Historical Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Includes complete issues of The Baltimore Sun,cover to cover from 1837 to 1996. Search by keyword, more than 20 article types, date ranges, specific dates, author, and more. View news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more for added context. Print and download articles and images in PDF format.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1851-2018.
Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1889-2010.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper (1980-present), the New York Times Book Review (1988-present), and the New York Times Magazine (1997-present).
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 60 sources.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper 1984-present
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper 1987-present

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the 5 volume Millennial edition, 2006. Provides data in electronic format useful for statistical analysis.

Checkpoint Edge This link opens in a new window
Checkpoint Edge is the industry leader providing intelligent information to tax and accounting professionals—including expert research, guidance, technology, tools, learning, and news. Checkpoint is relied on by thousands of professionals to understand complex information, make informed decisions and use knowledge more efficiently. Access is limited to 35 simultaneous users.

A-Z Databases Recommended for Business/Economics Topics

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for 1000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Content includes many full-text journals and topical video content.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research in over 400 books, journals, dissertations, and working papers.
Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1889-2010.
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
Morningstar This link opens in a new window
Find a stock or fund to meet your needs, research current or prospective holdings or see how your investments work together. Morningstar's data reports cover more than 20,000 securities.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 60 sources.
Checkpoint Edge This link opens in a new window
Checkpoint Edge is the industry leader providing intelligent information to tax and accounting professionals—including expert research, guidance, technology, tools, learning, and news. Checkpoint is relied on by thousands of professionals to understand complex information, make informed decisions and use knowledge more efficiently. Access is limited to 35 simultaneous users.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
The Value Line Investment Survey is one of the most widely used independent investment information services in the world. Its up-to-date, weekly issues are a comprehensive reference source. Its coverage is encyclopedic, covering some 1,700 equity issues.
For each stock in its universe, the Value Line Investment Survey offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects.
The Value Line Investment Survey's main section, "Ratings & Reports," presents full-page, individual stock reports and industry reviews. The "Summary & Index" provides a key to locating the latest quarterly and supplementary reports and cites the most recent data on each of the stocks followed. Finally, "Selection & Opinion," a feature section, gives Value Line's views on the economy and the stock market and on stocks of special interest.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper 1984-present
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.