Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases & example
What industry? Who runs it? What kind of money are we dealing with?
1. Searched 3M in the database called Mergent = 0 results!
2. Use ticker MMM = 3M Co.
- Industry and NAICS
- # of employees, executives (with biographical info).
- Competitors --> Top rank by revenue. Report builder is handy here.
- Official website URL
- Synopsis, Highlights, & History
- News - even includes today's Tweets
3. Export & save your information
Find a stock or fund to meet your needs, research current or prospective holdings or see how your investments work together. Morningstar's data reports cover more than 20,000 securities.
Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest)
Hoover's™ Company Records, a valuable resource for academic libraries, provides information about companies, industries, and the people who lead them. Featuring profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover's Company Records provides easy access to thorough and up-to-date business information.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Content includes many full-text journals and topical video content.
Provides indexing and abstracting for 1000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications
Value Line Investment Survey
The Value Line Investment Survey is one of the most widely used independent investment information services in the world. Its up-to-date, weekly issues are a comprehensive reference source. Its coverage is encyclopedic, covering some 1,700 equity issues.
For each stock in its universe, the Value Line Investment Survey offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects.
The Value Line Investment Survey's main section, "Ratings & Reports," presents full-page, individual stock reports and industry reviews. The "Summary & Index" provides a key to locating the latest quarterly and supplementary reports and cites the most recent data on each of the stocks followed. Finally, "Selection & Opinion," a feature section, gives Value Line's views on the economy and the stock market and on stocks of special interest.
Other good sources
Use to find your company's ticker, if applicable. Knowing the ticker will make searching library databases easier. Also handy if your company is private.
These are great places to go for some quick financial information.
U.S. Census Bureau tool for using the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Like knowing the ticker, knowing your company's NAICS code will help you locate industry and market information on library databases. I often will google "[Company Name] NAICS" to get a quick answer.