When and Where Can I Access Databases?
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
Evaluating Sources
Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be another helpful tool to identify potentially scholarly resources. You are likely to hit a pay wall, however, as the licensing on academic journals is steep! Here's how you can connect your Google Scholar account with SU Libraries to avoid those fees!
Once you are in Google Scholar, click on the three lines in the top left corner to get a navigation menu to appear, and select the last option next to the gear icon, Settings.
From here select the third option down, Library links. Type in Salisbury University to the search bar. Then click the two boxes that appear to connect to our Libraries, as shown below.
Selected Databases for Articles
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowThe Music Index, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949. The Music Index online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years; eBooks; ArtStor images; and primary sources. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List
- All Library DatabasesThis page lists all the databases the library subscribes to. Databases can be thought of as search engines that allow you to find articles across multiple sources.
- Music DatabasesThis is the same as the link above, but with the database list limited just to databases that work best for music-related searches. You'll still often find useful articles in databases not on this list, but this is a great place to start.
Getting Full Text
Some databases will have the full text of the entire article available within the database, others will only have a citation for the article. When there is only a citation available, you will see a yellow find it button
. This button will give you options for getting a full text version of the article. If we have access to it in another database it will be linked there.
If it says "Not Available Online" then look for "Check Availability in SU Catalog"; if you see that then we may have a hardcopy version on the shelf in the library.
If you don't have either of those options then you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! There are loads of ways to get a copy of an article you are interested in.
+Endings can indicate reliability
Sometimes, you can judge how reliable website information is by noting the URL ending.
.GOV - refers to a government website. Highly reliable.
.EDU - often refers to a reliable website that belongs to an educational institution.
.ORG - implies a non-profit ORGanization. Approach with skepticism.
.COM - stands for "commercial" and is often used for businesses. Approach with skepticism.