Where to Start My Research?
Try using NAICS codes or keywords to search for industry reports in our library databases. You can also use the NAICS code to do demographic search on Census Business Builder to get an idea of your market demographics. Google professional organizations to see if you might find trade research published at their website or in specific trade publications, and use books, journals, and online resources
Printing Firm: DPI
printing
publishing
brochure
"tourism rack card"
"marketing strategies"
"marketing plan"
"industry report"
"convention and visitor's bureau"
In addition to searching for professional organizations you may want to search for local clients; instead of a Google search of hotels in the area, try using sources such as Convention and Visitors Bureaus (also called CVBs) to find potential clients.
- Maryland's Wicomico CountyVisitor's Center for Wicomico County, MD.
- Maryland's CoastVisitor's Center for Worcester County, MD.
- US Travel AssociationThe U.S. Travel Organization is a nonprofit association with a membership of over 1200 organizations representing multiple segments of the travel industry. Some of the association’s offerings are available only to members; however, much information on its website is free and publicly available, including industry fact sheets and toolkits, research reports, and interactive tools, such as a travel economic impact calculator. Recipient of the BRASS Best of the Best Business Websites Award 2019.
- Printing United AlliancePRINTING United Alliance is a trade association built by and for printers and professionals in the industrial, graphic, apparel, textile, electronics, packaging and commercial printing markets. Alliance members grow their businesses through connections, resources, content and education.
Books from the Catalog:
Academic Journals:
- MarketingAcademic journal focusing on the theory and practice of marketing and business management including such topics as modern marketing, internet marketing, consumer organizations, logistics, corporate responsibility and many more.
- Marketing InsightsAcademic journal with a focus on marketing.
- CRM MagazineTrade publication designed to serve leaders engaged in the development of customer-centric business initiatives & ventures.
Marketing Plans:
- Marketing Plans & Marketing Strategy Guides (Mplans.com)100+ free sample marketing plans, marketing articles, and more
- Marketing & Sales (SBA.gov)Resources on marketing and developing a marketing plan. From the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Business Guide.
Non-profit Arts Organization: DA
It is important to understand the organization as the NAICS code depends on the type of art, there are several NAICS codes related to art, including but not limited to:
711510 Independent artists, writers, and performers
459920 Art Dealers
926110 Administration of General Economic Programs (includes Cultural and arts development support program administration)
Etsy
Arts
"market report"
non-profit
- Americans for the Arts (AFTA)The AFTA mission is to build recognition and support for the extraordinary and dynamic value of the arts and to lead, serve, and advance the diverse networks of organizations and individuals who cultivate the arts in America.
- Indie Sellers GuildThe mission of the Indie Sellers Guild is to provide education and support to all online creative indie sellers around the world. Creative indie sellers are the makers, artists and curators of handmade, unique, vintage and craft goods who sell their creations online through small businesses.
Start your own Etsy business: Crafts, jewelry, furniture, and more by ISBN: 9781613083673Publication Date: 2017-08-29
Academic Journals:
- MarketingAcademic journal focusing on the theory and practice of marketing and business management including such topics as modern marketing, internet marketing, consumer organizations, logistics, corporate responsibility and many more.
- Marketing InsightsAcademic journal with a focus on marketing.
- CRM MagazineTrade publication designed to serve leaders engaged in the development of customer-centric business initiatives & ventures.
Marketing Plans:
- Marketing Plans & Marketing Strategy Guides (Mplans.com)100+ free sample marketing plans, marketing articles, and more
- Marketing & Sales (SBA.gov)Resources on marketing and developing a marketing plan. From the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Business Guide.
Etc.:
- Etsy-Statistics and Facts2024 Report from the Statista Research Department
- Leading sellers on Etsy worldwide as of June 2024, by number of sales transactionsStatista data compiled from a June 2024 Report from Market Place Pulse.
Recovery Facility: HH
"human resources"
handbook OR "employ* handbook"
rehabilitation
recovery
onboarding
"personnel management"
- National Association of Addiction Treatment ProvidersNAATP is a nonprofit professional society that represents hundreds of not-for-profit and for-profit addiction treatment providers who offer critical services along the full continuum of care, from intervention, transportation, private therapy, outpatient care, hospitalization, residential treatment, and continuing/aftercare. NAATP supports members by providing clinical and operational resources as well as law and policy advocacy.
- The Society for Human Resource ManagementSHRM, an membership association for HR Professionals, offers this guide for creating employee handbooks.
Books from the Catalog:
- The Journal of Human ResourcesThe Journal of Human Resources is among the leading journals in empirical microeconomics. Intended for scholars, policy makers, and practitioners, each issue examines research in a variety of fields, including labor economics, development economics, health economics, and the economics of education, discrimination, and retirement.
- People and Strategy: A Journal of the Human Resource Planning SocietyPeople + Strategy is a highly respected quarterly journal that delivers the most current theory, research and practice in strategic human resource management. It consistently ranks among the top benefits in surveys among the SHRM Executive Network members. The publication focuses on HR best practices that help executives consistently improve HR performance and drive organizational development and effectiveness.
Sample Employee Handbooks:
- SHRM Sample Employee HandbookFrom the Society of Human Resource Management, to access the free sample you will need to sign up for a SHRM account.
- How to Write an Employee HandbookTemplates from Indeed for Employers.
Massage Therapist, Aesthetician: SD
"digital marketing"
strategies
methods
esthetician
marketing
wellness
- American Massage Therapy AssociationThe American Massage Therapy Association's mission is to serve AMTA members while advancing the art, science and practice of massage therapy.
- Associated Skin Care Professionals: Esthetician AssociationASCP is the nation’s largest association for skin care professionals and an inclusive source for professional liability insurance, education, community, and career support.
Books from the Catalog:
Academic Journals:
- MarketingAcademic journal focusing on the theory and practice of marketing and business management including such topics as modern marketing, internet marketing, consumer organizations, logistics, corporate responsibility and many more.
- CRM MagazineTrade publication designed to serve leaders engaged in the development of customer-centric business initiatives & ventures.
- Marketing InsightsAcademic journal with a focus on marketing.
Marketing Plans:
- Marketing Plans & Marketing Strategy Guides (Mplans.com)100+ free sample marketing plans, marketing articles, and more
- Marketing & Sales (SBA.gov)Resources on marketing and developing a marketing plan. From the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Business Guide.
Etc.:
- Wellness Industry: Statistics and FactsReport from Statista published by Marketplace Pulse.
- 2023 Wellness and Spa Industry DossierFrom Statista this dossier provides a range of statistics and facts about the global wellness industry with an emphasis on the United States. It includes revenue and market figures, information on corporate and online wellness, as well as data on yoga and massage services, and the wellness tourism industry.
- Most Common Reasons for Getting a Massage in the United States in 2022Statista graphic based on a report from the American Massage Therapy Association.