Learn More!
Want to learn more about the American Red Cross? Explore some of the books and articles in the Salisbury University and Nabb Center Library Collections, as well as other online resources related to the history of the Red Cross.
Library of Congress Photographs
"Military Relief. American Red Cross Headquarters. Washington, D.C.", 1918.
Library of Congress Online Catalog. Identifying #: 2017668615
National Archives Photographs
"Negro GIs and American Red Cross workers, college graduates, join in some musical fun at Assam, India..." 1944. National Archives Identifying #: 531351
Left to right: Cpl. Robert Barttow, Pvt. James Montgomery, Jeannette C. Dorsey, and Willie Lee Johnson.
Nabb Center & SU Library Resources
Double Victory: How African American women broke race and gender barriers to help win World War II by ISBN: 9781613745335Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The American Red Cross: Background, Federal Coordination, and Oversight Issues by ISBN: 9781634848732Publication Date: 2016
Donut Dolly: an American Red Cross Girl's War in Vietnam by ISBN: 9781574414417Publication Date: 2011-11-15
Nursing Rural America: Perspectives from the Early 20th Century by ISBN: 9780826196156Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Rising Tide: the Great Mississippi Flood of 1927 and How it Changed America by Call Number: F354 .B47 1997ISBN: 0684810468Publication Date: 1997-04-09
Making the World Safe: The American Red Cross and a Nation's Humanitarian Awakening by ISBN: 9780199990085Publication Date: 2013-01-01
American Red Cross First Aid Textbook by Call Number: RC87.R3 1945Publication Date: 1945Non-Circulating/On Shelf ; SU Nabb Research Center- The Red Cross: a History of this Remarkable International Movement in the Interest of Humanity by Call Number: HV568 .B2Publication Date: 1898Non-Circulating/On Shelf ; SU Nabb Research Center
- The Medic: Life and Death in the Last Days of WWII by Call Number: D811.5.L559 2001ISBN: 1565123050Publication Date: 2001Non-Circulating/On Shelf ; Nabb Research Center
The American Ambulance in Paris, 1914 to 1917 Part IV: The American Ambulance and the American Red Cross by ISBN: 0026-4075Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Teaching “Americanism with a World Perspective”: The Junior Red Cross in the U.S. Schools from 1917 to the 1920s by ISBN: 00182680Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Stories Hidden and Lost Fort Wayne Red Cross Nurses in the Great War by ISBN: 00196673Publication Date: 2019-06-01
- Historical Eastern Shore NewspapersThis digital collection of historical Eastern Shore newspapers provides a unique glimpse into a by-gone way of life, major events, people, and includes articles about the American Red Cross's various activities. Made possible, in part, by a grant from the Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore, this unique collection includes digitized regional newspapers from 1745 through 1922 and represents the Nabb Center's commitment to preserving, providing access to, and facilitating research on these original resources.
- Holly Leaf (Salisbury University) CollectionThe Holly Leaf was the official campus newspaper at Salisbury University from 1926 to 1970. Published monthly, the Holly Leaf printed articles that covered campus events, student life, and opinions throughout the period of time when the school was known as Maryland State Normal School (1925-1935), Maryland State Teachers College (1935-1963), and lastly Salisbury State College (1963-1988). The Holly Leaf staff consisted of student editors, reporters, and photographers, along with one faculty advisor. Original issues of the Holly Leaf can be viewed at the Nabb Center.
Collection may be protected under Title 17 of the U.S. Copyright Law. To obtain information or permission to publish or reproduce, please contact the Salisbury University Archives.
Online Resources
- "History Detectives Clara Barton" VideoOrganized by the National Museum of Civil War Medicine, this video investigates a letter written by Clara Barton and explores her work behind the Missing Soldier's Office (1865-1868).
- Wearing Lipstick to War: An American Woman in World War II England and France by James A. MadisonThis National Archives article, published in Prologue Magazine (2007), examines the wartime experiences of American Red Cross volunteer, Emily Richardson, during World War II.
- "Women of the Red Cross Lift the Spirits of American Troops" FilmFootage from circa 1943 to 1945 depicting American Red Cross nurses and troops during World War II.
- Virtual Museum Exhibit at Clara Barton National Historic SiteExplore the life and work of American Red Cross founder, Clara Barton, through this interactive online exhibit , featuring images, artifacts, and even virtual tours of her Maryland home and the American Red Cross headquarters.