Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Red Cross on Delmarva: Chapter Activities

Delmarva Red Cross Community Services

The collections housed at the Nabb Research Center demonstrate various local Red Cross efforts and community engagements here in Salisbury and throughout the Delmarva peninsula. Local Red Cross chapters from the National Capital & Greater Chesapeake Region (NC & GCR) have dedicated themselves to community outreach, offering resources to those affected by local disaster emergencies, blood donor services, health & safety training classes, and support for military families. They also maintain an active presence in local communities by participating in a variety of community events such as parades, celebrations, and safety fairs. In the last year, the Red Cross NC & GCR responded to unprecedented crises, such as the COVID-19 pandemic and California wildfires, and continue to rely on the efforts of volunteers to provide relief services to the most affected communities on Delmarva and throughout the United States. 

This page features materials from the Nabb Research Center's American Red Cross, Lower Shore Chapter records collection that involve local Red Cross chapter activities on Delmarva. 

Red Cross in Delmarva, ca. 2004

From the American Red Cross, Lower Shore Chapter Records collection. Identifier: 2016.095.02.32.21

Salisbury Red Cross Newspaper Clipping, 1983

From the American Red Cross, Lower Shore Chapter Records collection. Identifier: 2016.095.02.24.23

Digital Collections Guide

Digital Archive

Accession # Description of Items Dropbox Link
2016.095.01.32 Monthly Report, Chapter Activities, 1922 View item
2016.095.01.33 Monthly Report, School Nursing Report, 1923 View item
2016.095.01.34 Monthly Report, Public Health Nursing Service,, 1923 View item
2016.095.01.35 Monthly Report, Maryland State Department of Health, Bureau of Child Hygiene, 1923 View item
2016.095.01.36 Annual Meeting and Report Programs, 1966-1975 View item
2016.095.01.37 Annual Meeting and Report Programs, 1976-2003 View item
2016.095.01.38 Annual Meeting and Report Programs, 2004-2011 View item
2016.095.02.02 Finances, Fund Campaign and Record of Block Leaders, 1947 View item
2016.095.02.03 Finances, Fund Campaign and Record of Block Leaders, 1948 View item
2016.095.02.04 Finances, Fund Campaign and Record of Block Leaders, 1949 View item
2016.095.02.05 Fundraiser, The Purdue Chicken Cookbook, 1991 View item
2016.095.02.08 Correspondence, Chapter Activities, 1919 March - 1934 August View item
2016.095.02.11 Correspondence, Chapter Activities 1982 - 2003 View item
2016.095.02.12 Correspondence, Thank You Notes from Relief Recipients, 2003 January View item
2016.095.02.13 Program, Regional Conference, 17th Annual Roll Call, 1933 October 4 View item
2016.095.02.15 Certificates of Appreciation for Service, 1939 - 2006 View item
2016.095.02.18 Pamphlet, The American Red Cross in Maryland Response to Hurricane Katrina and Rita, circa 2005 View item
2016.095.02.19 Chapter Success Stories, 1983 View item
2016.095.02.26 Guidelines for Managing Historical Documents and Objects, 2002 May View item
2016.095.02.34 Booklet, Defining Moments in History, 1881-2006 View item

Digital Archive

Accession # Description of Items Dropbox Link
2016.095.02.16 Pamphlet, Nursing Service Information, 1942 May View item
2016.095.02.17 Pamphlet, Services to the Armed Forces and to Veterans, 1944 September View item
2016.095.02.18 Pamphlet, The American Red Cross in Maryland Response to Hurricane Katrina and Rita, circa 2005 View item
2016.095.02.21 Publicity Channels Suggestions and Script for Press Release, circa 1942 View item
2016.095.02.22 Press Releases, 1978 - 1994 View item
2016.095.02.23 Newspaper Articles and Correspondence, Re: Criticism of Red Cross Efforts During World War II, 1979 September 26 View item
2016.095.02.24 Newspaper Clippings, 1971 - 2005 View item
2016.095.02.25 Newspaper Clippings, 2008 - 2011 View item

 

Digital Archive

Accession # Description of Items Dropbox Link
2016.095.02.14 Chapter Pin and Logo, 2011 View item
2016.095.02.28 Photograph of Court House, Salisbury, MD, circa 1950 View item
2016.095.02.29 Photographs of Relief Work, Community Outreach, Annual Meetings, Fundraisers, Holiday Parties, 1994 - 2000 View item

2016.095.02.30-31

Photographs of Relief Work, Community Outreach and Training, Fundraisers, Annual Meetings, 2001 - 2003 View item

2016.095.02.32-33

Photographs of Christmas Parades, Katrina Aid, Relief Work, Community Outreach, Volunteer Picnic and Meetings, 2004 - 2009 View item
2016.095.02.34 Booklet, Defining Moments in History, 1881 - 2006 View item