The Open Textbook Library is a collection of open textbooks that features reviews written by professors. A project of the University of Minnesota, The Open Textbook Library provides a review rubric for faculty to use when evaluating textbooks and displays them for the benefit of potential adopters.
The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. This includes providing training for instructors adopting open resources, peer reviews of open textbooks, and mentoring online professional networks that support for authors opening their resources, and other services. -College Open Textbooks
The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it. A goal of the Project is to provide flexible and affordable access to higher education resources in B.C. by making available 40 openly-licensed textbooks. These texts will be available for selection by B.C. faculty, and digital versions of the texts will be free of charge to students. For those who prefer a printed copy, this format will also be available on demand for a low cost. -BC Campus
MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education. This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty. MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.
The Internet Archive is a repository whose purpose is to provide permanent access to historical collections that exist in digital form to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public. Highlighted here is the Internet Archive's film collection. Films in this collection are in the public domain either because the copyright holder wishes to share them or their copyright has expired.
Many movies and collections are licensed with Creative Commons Licenses or are in the public domain, but license terms vary from film to film.
LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then release the audio files back onto the net for free. All published audio is in the public domain and therefore may be used for any purpose. LibriVox contains recordings of literary classics, autobiographies, plays, and poetry among many other genres.
All recordings featured on LibriVox are in the public domain.
Writing Commons is a comprehensive, peer-reviewed, Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research. Writing Commons has been adopted by Georgia Institute of Technology, University of South Florida-Tampa, Ohio State University, and Duke University.
Critical reading, and persuasive research writing techniques are addressed in this complete list of courseware. This material intended to span a 16 week course includes online readings and assignment directives. Critical reading, and persuasive research writing techniques are addressed by this material through a multiple draft writing process.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.5 License.
This course promotes clear and effective communication skills through use of the Pre-Write, Write, and Revise method. The remaining units will focus on the minutiae of good writing practices, from style to citation methodology. -Saylor
Authors: Carolyn Tedholm & Carolyn Savoldy
Content on Saylor.org is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Project Gutenberg serves digital versions of a variety of books including fiction, non-fiction, classic, law, and technical.
The Gutenberg Project serves only books whose copyright has expired or has been released for unlimited non-commercial use.
The Public Domain Review is an online journal an not-for-profit project dedicated to promoting and celebrating the public domain in all its richness and variety. All works eventually fall out of copyright - from classics works of art to absentminded doodles - and in doing so they enter the public domain . . . Our aim is to help readers explore this rich terrain - like a small exhibition gallery at the entrance to an immense network of archives and storage rooms that lie beyond. -The Public Domain Review
All material featured in The Public Domain Review is in the Public Domain or openly licensed.
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. The DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
The copyright status of items in the DPLA varies. Many items are in the public domain. For individual rights information, please check the Rights field in the metadata or follow the link to the digital object on the content provider’s website for more information.
Writing Spaces collects peer-reviewed essays and composes them into textbook chapters that are intended to not only be instructional in nature, but to also be excellent examples of college-level writing. Some of the included essays provide students with sound writing advice and strategies; others can be used to stimulate classroom discussion.
All Writing Spaces essays are published under a Creative Commons License; however, licenses vary from essay to essay.
The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University maintains a general purpose writing guide. Here you can find grammar guidance, research and citation references, and topic specific writing examples.
This unit introduces you to the role that English plays in the world today, and examines the social, political and cultural factors that have influenced its development. It traces the history of the language from its arrival in Britain in the fifth century AD through to the present day and its status as a language with a truly global reach. It looks at how and why English came to occupy this position, and at what the consequences of its global spread are for the way it’s used and perceived around the world. -The Open University
This unit is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike License.
Content used and adapted with permission - originally created by University of Oklahoma Libraries English Literature OER guide, which is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Yay for OERs!