Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OER): Education

Education Textbooks

BC Open Textbooks: Education - Provides the textbook, "Complexities, Capacities, Communities: Changing Development Narratives in Early Childhood Education, Care and Development."

College Open Textbooks: Education - A collection of open textbooks related to the subject of Education including, "Classroom Management and Supervision," "Curriculum Studies," and "Teaching Methodology."

MERLOT - A curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

The National Academies Press (NAP) - Provides textbooks on various education studies topics.

OER Commons - Provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for studies in Education.

Open Textbook Library - A wide selection of textbooks on educational studies.

Special Education Materials

Future Learn - Special Education - Discover ways to make education more inclusive, especially in areas where resources are limited or take a course to understand more about autism, including diagnosis, the autistic spectrum and life with autism, with this online course.

HathiTrust: Special Education - A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Internet Archive: Digital Library: Special Education - A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Special Needs Education Textbook - This module deals with special needs education. It defines the concept of this type of education, identifies its different types, and discusses the concept of inclusive education and inclusive classroom management practices. It also analyses strategies and policies that can be put in place to enhance learning needs of persons with disabilities.

Education Courses & Videos

Early Education and Care: Core Competencies - From the University of Massachusetts, this course is designed to provide early childhood education professionals with the knowledge and skills to assess their own level in terms of the eight core competencies, across the infant-toddler, preschool and out-of-school age range.

Education & Teacher Training Courses - edX - Offers online education courses covering a broad range of topics from educational policy and history to curriculum design and teaching techniques. Explore case studies in teaching and learn about how technology is increasing access to quality education on an unprecedented scale.

Edutopia: Education Video Library - Videos about K-12 teaching methods and strategies from the George Lucas Educational Foundation.

First Year Teacher Program - The 10 modules include video segments featuring teachers using effective strategies and techniques in the classroom on subjects such as phonemic awareness, phonics, speech sounds, and text comprehension.

Future Learn: Education - A course to learn how teachers can help close the gender gap and get guidance on helping girls achieve their potential with this free online course or take a course and learn how to be professionally involved in teaching, support and governing of higher education institutions.

Future Learn: Teaching Courses - Online teaching courses to support teachers' professional learning and development. Enhance how you teach subjects such as English as a foreign language or STEM, or try new approaches to assessment, behavior management or special needs provision.

Khan Academy - Hundreds of short educational videos covering many subjects.

The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice - An online college course developed for students preparing to be teachers, as well as in-service K-12 classroom teachers and other educators.

OpenLearn - Provides courses on education and development such as "Looking globally: the future of education", "Facilitating group discussions", "Play, learning and the brain", "Enhancing pupil learning on museum visits", and "Using visualization in maths teaching."

Signing Savvy - A sign language dictionary containing several thousand high resolution videos of American Sign Language (ASL) signs, fingerspelled words, and other common signs.

TED ED: Lessons Worth Sharing - Education - Create and share lessons around any TED-Ed original, TED Talk or YouTube Video

UC Irvine Open Courses - Help in preparing for the CSET subject tests. Also offered is a ”four-part webinar series specifically designed to help participants better understand and more effectively support gifted students both at home and in the classroom.”

YouTube EDU: Education - A collection of educational videos posted on YouTube.

Coursera: Education – Education-specific courses that include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.

Education Statistics & Data

National Center for Educational Statistics (NCES) - The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Data.gov/education - Explore education datasets, apps, resources for the classroom, and details about paying for college. These datasets cover education at all levels.

Project Open Data - A collection of code, tolls, and case studies to help agencies adopt the Open Data Policy and unlock the potential of government data.

Education Curriculum

WikiEducator - A community project working collaboratively with the Free Culture Movement towards a free version of the education curriculum by 2015. Driven by the learning for development agenda WikiEducator is developing free content for use in schools, polytechnics, universities, vocational education institutions and informal education settings.

CK-12 - Probably the biggest open content provider for K-12 STEM content. CK-12 provides standards-aligned teaching resources. Content is mapped to a variety of levels and standards, including common core.

Curriki - Open educational materials for K-12.

Connexions – A large repository of individual teachers' content, some courses and lots of modular writings about a variety of topics.

Edsitement! - Learning objects and lessons from the National Endowment for the Humanities. It offers a large collection of peer evaluated websites.

Additional Education Resources

COOL 4 ED (California Open Online Library for Education) - FREE and OPEN etextbooks, course materials, online courses, journals and articles, and other OER resources that everyone and anyone can use for teaching and learning.

PBS LearningMedia – A public media system-wide repository of digital media learning objects, including videos, images, podcasts and documents. Note: PBS LearningMedia has decided to require users to create an account in order to access their content.

EDUCAUSE - A higher education technology association and the largest community of IT leaders and professionals committed to advancing higher education.