What is a scholarly article?
Article Databases: an A-Z List
You can search for databases by name or by subject.
Use SURF to Find Articles
You can filter your search in SURF to just Articles if you know what kind of source you need, isn't that helpful? You can select that filter yourself or use this nifty search box which is already set to only look for articles.
Database List
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowOffers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
-
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
-
Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSU no longer subscribes to this resource. Due to overlap in content, we suggest searching the following resources instead: Academic Search Ultimate, JSTOR. Read more information about the 2025 library cancellation process.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides data and infographics on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors with quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
-
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of these newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
-
Washington Post This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper 1987-present.