Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MKTG 440: Content Dev. & Inbound Mktg: Books & Articles

Resources to help identify professional skills and develop a blog's target audience persona.

How should you use books and articles for this assignment?

Brainstorming: Search for guides and handbooks on professional/vocational skills as a whole to get brainstorm topics. Keep this kind of search broad, using terms like career skills, professional skills, job searching, etc. Avoid full phrases like, "how to find a job" or "what skills do you need for a marketing analyst position".

Targeted research: Once you've narrowed down the skill(s) you'll focus on, try searching for articles and books specific to that skill. If you need to broaden your search (too few search results), play around with synonyms and other words/phrases that hint at the skill you've identified. If your results aren't targeted enough, be more specific with your skills or the strategies you'll recommend to develop them.

Find Scholarly Articles

Refer to the General Search Strategies tab for information on keywords and search phrase construction!

Search options & filters

Catalog: Use the filters on the left-hand side of the page to trim down your search results.

  • Format: select the "Peer-reviewed" box under "Article"

Databases: Filters will differ slightly depending on the database. Most offer Search Options (edit these before you hit search), as well as results filters (available once you view the search results list).

  • When available, check the box for Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly.
  • Date Range: keep this search option in mind if you only want research from the last 5-10 years.

Online Access

For a list of recommended article databases, see the box "Library Databases with Scholarly Articles" to the right (or the bottom of the page, if on a mobile device).

To search certain databases at once, use the SU Libraries Quick Search. Once you find an article, check the publication date, then use the Find It button to access it through one of our databases. Make sure you select a database whose access includes the publication date of your article. 

  • Access not available through SU?

If you find an article with no full-text available, first double-check our print holdings of the journal. See the "Print Access" summary below.

If we do not have print access, request access to the article through InterLibrary Loan (see link below). Article requests take 1-3 business days.

 

Print Access

To find articles in print, search a journal by name (for a recommended list, see the "Browse journals for articles" tab) in the SU Libraries Quick Search. Select a journal and check our holdings under "Find a copy in the library". If a record exists, check the date range provided in the "Status" column and compare it against the date your article was published (or, if you're just browsing, simply make sure we have recent issues available). If the date range is open-ended (e.g., 2002- ), that means we currently subscribe to the journal and should have the most recent issue.

Locate print holdings of a journal in our SU Libraries Quick Search

  • Current journals (current year) on 1st floor in "Pit". Listed alphabetically starting near the Circulation & Research Help Desks
  • Bound journals (roughly 1 year ago and older) on 3rd floor in compact, movable stacks. To access materials on a given stack (the library shelving unit), simply spin its crank to create an aisle. Check for people in other aisles first! This will move all stacks to the left or right of that stack, depending on the direction you move it.

If you have a specific journal in mind, look up SU Libraries' holdings or online access.

For online access, use the search box below or the search field on the library homepage. If using the library home page search, once you find the journal, open its page and use the Find It button to select an access method. Be sure to select a database that has the most recent holdings available (e.g., Vol. 39 Issue 1 through present; 1999 to 12 months ago).

For print access, use the library homepage search box. Once you locate the journal, open its page and scroll down to "Find a copy in the library." If a record exists, refer to the date range provided under the "Status" column to check our holdings. If a date range is open-ended (e.g., 2002- ), this means we currently subscribe and should have the most recent available issue. For locating journals, refer to the library map information on the previous tab ("Locating articles online and in print").

Library Databases with Scholarly Articles

These are online resources, accessible on or off campus using your SU username and password.

Refer to the search strategies in this guide (both on this page and under General Search Strategies) when using these databases.

When browsing search results, if the full-text PDF of an article is not immediately available, use the yellow Find It button to see if we have access elsewhere. If we don't have access, you can still request it through InterLibrary Loan! (See more information on ILL under Access and Read Articles to the left).

Pro tip: You can actually search across multiple EBSCO databases (e.g., Business Source Complete, PsycINFO, and more) at once. To do so, open one of the EBSCO databases (e.g., Business Source Complete, PsycINFO) and click on "Choose Databases" (above the search fields). Select ones from this list that seem appropriate. Several newer ones are at the very bottom of the list. Don't select ALL databases, as it will seriously slow down the processor!

Find Books and eBooks

Refer to the General Search Strategies page for brainstorming search terms. Keep your search broad to begin with (1-3 words that describe your topic). Use the SU Libraries Quick Search below (also located on the SU Libraries home page).

SU Libraries Quick Search

Print Books

Refer to the Locate Books details further down this page to determine where certain collections (Reference, Ready Reference, Folio Books, etc.) are located in the library.

eBooks

If you need help accessing/downloading an eBook, refer to this page or contact your librarian.

Most eBooks are searchable through the SU Libraries Quick Search, just as with our print collection. Filter results by Format (under Book -> eBook) on the left side of the results page.

Use the Find It button or one of the database links listed underneath the Find It button to find full-text access

If you would prefer to browse for books on a shelf, here are some recommended call number ranges for you.

​HD 28 - HD 70: Management

HF 5387: Business ethics

HF 5389: Business, office etiquette

HF 5410+ Marketing

  • HF 5415.1255 Branding
  • HF 5415.126 Direct marketing
  • HF 5415.127 Market segmentation. Target marketing.
  • HF 5415.129 Marketing channels.
  • HF 5415.13 - .157 Marketing management
  • HF 5415.2 Marketing research.
    • HF 5415.32+ Consumer behavior
    • HF 5415.335 Consumer satisfaction
  • HF 5415.55 Relationship marketing
  • HF 5416.5 Pricing 

HF 5438 Selling

HF 5801+ Advertising

HF 5549.A2 - HF 5549.5.T8: Personnel, employment management

  • HF5549.5.C6: Communication
  • HF5549.5.M5: Minorities; diversity of employees; multiculturalism
  • HF5549.5.M63: Motivation
  • HF5549.5.N64: Nonverbal communication in the workplace
  • HF5549.5.R23: Racism
  • HF5549.5.S47: Sexual orientation

HM Social psychology

  • HM 1261: Leadership
  • HM 1271: Multiculturalism; pluralism; toleration

Both of these titles are eBooks with 3 user limits, meaning only 3 people can be viewing or have downloaded each title at any given time. Because of this restriction, you can only "borrow" each title for 1-2 weeks at a time.

Locate Books

The location of books should be listed in the item record under "Find a copy in the library". Location information is listed in the first column of each table, as shown in this screenshot. Below are possible Locations associated with Salisbury University Libraries.

SU Guerrieri Academic Commons...

  • Stacks 
    • 3rd Floor. This is our general collection. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map to find exact location of a book.
  • Folio Books
    • 3rd Floor. Folio refers to oversized books that don't fit on normal shelves. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
  • Juvenile Books 
    • 3rd Floor. This collection contains most of our children and young adult books. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
  • Reference Collection (linked to library maps)
    • 1st Floor, long shelf between the IT Help Desk and the Circulation and Research Help Desks. Collection carries over into the Pit. Reference books are generally topic overviews or materials like dictionaries and encyclopedias -- something you might need to refer to but don't need to read cover-to-cover.
    • In-library use only. Please leave reference books on a table or cart when you are finished using them so we can track how often they are used.
  • Stacks Reference
    • 3rd Floor. While these books are housed in our stacks, they are reference books and are also in-library use only. Please leave them on a table or cart when you are finished using one so we can track how often they are used. Locate these books using the Call Number Locator Map just as you would a book in the General Stacks.
  • Ready Reference
    • Kept behind the Research Help Desk. Ask the person staffing the desk to borrow the item you need.
    • In-library use only. Please return to Research Help Desk when finished using.
  • Course Reserves
    • These are items set aside by faculty for a class or particular purpose. Ask for print reserves at the Circulation Desk or access e-reserves via the link above.

SU Curriculum Resource Center...

  • General
  • Items in the CRC are located in Conway Hall (TET) 226, on the northeast side of campus.

SU Nabb Research Center...

  • Main Collection
  • Maryland Special Collections
  • SU Faculty Authors Collection
  • Visit the Nabb Center on the 4th floor of GAC to access any items located in these collections.