Finding eBooks
Below are locations and methods for finding eBooks in our collections. If you need help accessing/downloading an eBook, refer to the next box (Access an eBook).
- Most eBooks are searchable through the SU Libraries All Types or Books & eBooks search boxes, just as with our print collection. To filter results to only eBooks, look to the left on the results screen. Under Format, checkmark eBooks (listed under Books).
- Once you find a book, click on the View eBook link to view or download the text.
Specific Databases with eBooks
- Taylor and Francis E-Book Collection This link opens in a new windowBusiness subject areas: Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Marketing, Non-Profit Management
Interdisciplinary subject areas: China, Culture and Ethnicity, Ethics, Globalization, Human Rights, The Internet, Korea, Race and Ethnicity, Sexuality Studies, Social and Cultural Theory and Urban.
How to access: Find a title, and read online or download the PDF. No specific apps required! - eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of eBooks. These titles should also be searchable through the SU Libraries Quick Search.
How to access: Read online or download the book. Adobe Digital Editions (free app) is required to view downloaded eBooks. For more instructions, follow the steps through "Download this eBook" on a book's record in EBSCOhost eBook Collection. Screenshots of process are available to the right (under Access an eBook)
Accessing an eBook
Follow the screenshots below for help with viewing or downloading an eBook from EBSCOhost eBook Collection.
If you began your search using the SU Libraries Quick Search, you will start from the book's record, as shown below.
- Use the purple Find It link to locate the eBook within one of our database collections.
- After accessing the Find It link, click on link for "Read full text at..." You may be prompted to login with your SU username and password at this time.
- You have 2 options to access the eBook: either by reading the PDF Full Text online, from EBSCOhost's page, or by downloading a copy of the book to your device. Refer to screenshots below if you choose to download a copy.
- The "Concurrent User Level" (listed last on the record) informs you how many patrons can access the book at the same time. Most common levels are Unlimited User Access (no limits) and 3 User Access (only 3 can access at a time; if the limit is reached, anyone else who tries to access the book will have the option to be placed on a "waitlist" to be notified when the book is available).
- If you choose to download the book to view offline from your device, you will need to create a login with EBSCOhost. This is quick and easy to do. From there, sign into your account and you will be able to download the book.
- Checkout period: This refers to the length of time the downloaded eBook will remain accessible from your device. You have a choice between 1 or 2 weeks. To access an eBook beyond this period, simply return to this page and re-download it.
- Viewing Requirements: Before you complete the process, be sure to take note of the viewing requirements stated on this box. For view on desktops and smart phones, you will need to download a free application to view the eBook. Some may require you to create a separate login with that application.
Select E-Books
Best customers : demographics of consumer demand by Call Number: HC110.C6 B384 2014ebISBN: 1940308437Publication Date: 2014"Find out how the American marketplace has been transformed by the Great Recession in the new 10th edition of Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand, with all-important 2012 spending data. Best Customers is a unique look at who the best and biggest customers are for hundreds of individual products and services. The new edition of Best Customers includes analyses of spending trends before (2000 to 2006) and after (2006 to 2012) the Great Recession, product by product."
Household Spending: Who Spends How Much On What by Call Number: HC110.C6 H385 2014ebPublication Date: 2014"Based on data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2012 Consumer Expenditure Survey, this report examines how much American households spend on hundreds of products and services, all organized by demographics. It discusses who is buying what, and how much they spend. Also included in this edition is a comparison of spending trends before and after the Great Recession."
Research on Main Street by Call Number: HF54.56 .P47 2011ebISBN: 9780910965934Publication Date: 2011-04-01"In today's global economy, businesses need targeted, localized information about customers, companies, and industries, but adding the element of geography to any search topic--especially for counties, cities, census blocks, or any other substate areas--makes any project more challenging. Aimed at tackling these issues head-on, this guide offers free and low-cost options for using the web to find business and market information about various places..."
The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns by Call Number: HF5415.3 .A44 2014ebPublication Date: 2014Provides the demographics and spending patterns of American consumers. Includes data on education, health, housing, income, labor force participation, living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth.
The Complete CPA Reference by Call Number: HF5636 .D377 2012ebISBN: 9781118224403Publication Date: 2013-01-10"The newly updated fast-reference problem solver The Complete CPA Desk Reference-the convenient, comprehensive reference professionals have relied on for nearly fifteen years-is now updated in a new Fifth Edition to give today's busy executives and accountants the helpful information they need in a quick-reference format. Packed with practical techniques and rules of thumb for solving day-to-day accounting issues, the new edition helps you quickly pinpoint what to look for, what to watch out for, what to do, and how to do it. In an easy-to-use Q & A format, it covers such useful."
Taxes in America: What Everyone Needs to Know by Call Number: HJ2381 .B79 2013ebISBN: 9780199995943Publication Date: 2012-01-01"Despite their passion and fury, contemporary Americans are remarkably clueless about how their tax system works. But with heated debates over taxation now roiling Congress and the nation, an understanding of our tax system is of vital importance..."The baby boom : Americans born 1946 to 1964 by
Call Number: HC110.C6 .B339 2015ebISBN: 9781940308890Publication Date: 2015"After more than six decades of breaking the rules established by their elders, the Baby-Boom generation and older Americans are one and the same. In 2014, Boomers spanned the ages from 50 to 68, accounting for 24 percent of the total U.S. population and 71 percent of the population aged 50 or older. The eighth edition of The Baby Boom: Americans Born 1946 to 1964 includes in its pages, for the first time, a statistical profile of the U.S. population aged 50 or older..."The millennials : Americans born 1977 to 1994 by
Call Number: HQ796 .M555 2015ebISBN: 9781940308838Publication Date: 2015"The Millennials: Americans Born 1977 to 1994 examines young adults who are establishing themselves in the household and labor market at a difficult time. This large generation is critical for business success. Not only is it responsible for putting the first African American in the White House, but its technological sophistication makes or breaks many products and services. In these difficult economic times, perhaps no generation is more important to business than Millennials. The Millennials will tell you what you need to know..."The generation X : Americans born 1965 to 1976 by
Call Number: HF5415.332.Y66 .G464 2015ebISBN: 9781940308869Publication Date: 2015"The eighth edition of Generation X: Americans Born 1965 to 1976 tells the story of the small but vital generation spanning the ages of 38 to 49 in 2014. Although their numbers are small, lifestage dictates that Generation X is a vital part of the nation’s commerce and culture. People in their thirties and forties are in the crowded-nest years. They are supposed to be advancing in their careers, their incomes should be growing, and their spending should climb because of the expenses of children and teens. But the generation has been hit hard by the Great Recession and is still struggling to recover. Generation X: Americans Born 1965 to 1976 shows how Gen Xers are coping with these demands and what to expect in the future..."
The Sustainable MBA: A business guide to sustainability by Call Number: HD30.255 .W384 2013ISBN: 9781118760611Publication Date: 2013-11-08
Browse for Books in the Library
BF - Psychology
G - Geography
- G154.9-155.8 Travel and state. Tourism
H - Social Sciences
- HA Statistics
- HB Economic Theory. Demography
- HB615 Entrepreneurship
- HC Economic History and Conditions
- HD Industries. Land Use. Labor
- HD28-70 Management
- HD60-60.5 Social Responsibility of Business. Social Entrepreneurship.
- HD1361-1395.5 Real Estate Business
- HE Transportation and Communications
- HF Commerce
- HF5410-5417.5 Marketing
- HF5549-5549.5 Personnel Management. Employee Management
- HF5601-5689 Accounting. Bookkeeping
- HF5801-6182 Advertising
- HG Finance
- HG179 Personal Finance
- HJ Public Finance
- HM Sociology
- HN Social History and Conditions. Social Problems. Social Reform
K - Law in General
- KF Law of the United States
T - Technology
- Call Number Locator MapUse this map to locate books in our library, based on call number.
Location of Print Books
The location of books should be listed in the item record under "Find a copy in the library". Location information is listed in the first column of each table, as shown in this screenshot. Below are possible Locations associated with Salisbury University Libraries.
SU Guerrieri Academic Commons...
- Stacks
- 3rd Floor. This is our general collection. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map to find exact location of a book.
- Folio Books
- 3rd Floor. Folio refers to oversized books that don't fit on normal shelves. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
- Juvenile Books
- 3rd Floor. This collection contains most of our children and young adult books. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
- Reference Collection (linked to library maps)
- 1st Floor, long shelf between the IT Help Desk and the Circulation and Research Help Desks. Collection carries over into the Pit. Reference books are generally topic overviews or materials like dictionaries and encyclopedias -- something you might need to refer to but don't need to read cover-to-cover.
- In-library use only. Please leave reference books on a table or cart when you are finished using them so we can track how often they are used.
- Stacks Reference
- 3rd Floor. While these books are housed in our stacks, they are reference books and are also in-library use only. Please leave them on a table or cart when you are finished using one so we can track how often they are used. Locate these books using the Call Number Locator Map just as you would a book in the General Stacks.
- Ready Reference
- Kept behind the Research Help Desk. Ask the person staffing the desk to borrow the item you need.
- In-library use only. Please return to Research Help Desk when finished using.
- Course Reserves
- These are items set aside by faculty for a class or particular purpose. Ask for print reserves at the Circulation Desk or access e-reserves via the link above.
SU Curriculum Resource Center...
- General
- Items in the CRC are located in Conway Hall (TET) 226, on the northeast side of campus.
- Main Collection
- Maryland Special Collections
- SU Faculty Authors Collection
- Visit the Nabb Center on the 4th floor of GAC to access any items located in these collections.