Library Guides: MKTG 336: News

Find News

If you are unsure how to approach your topic, try using Google to get a sense for any breaking news or trends concerning the issue you are researching. From there, dive into some of these resources to find reliable news articles about that topic.

Remember to avoid using sentences and long phrases when creating your search. Use KEYWORDS and BOOLEAN OPERATORS to get the most relevant results.

Print Access (1st floor GAC)

We have print issues of the periodicals below, located in the Pit on the first floor of GAC.

New York Times -- last 30 days retained
Wall Street Journal -- last 30 days
Washington Post -- last 30 days
Forbes -- current year available

Online Access

News Databases (through the library - SU login required)

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 60 sources.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper 1987-present
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper 1984-present
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper (1980-present), the New York Times Book Review (1988-present), and the New York Times Magazine (1997-present).

Forbes
For electronic access, follow the purple Find It button and select Business Source Premier from the access options.

Business Websites / Online Publications

Business Insider (.com)
Homepage for the online business site.
The New York Times (.com)
Homepage for The New York Times. Access may be limited -- refer to our New York Times database for full-text access to current and historic articles.
The Wall Street Journal (.com)
Homepage for The Wall Street Journal. Access may be limited -- refer to our Wall Street Journal database for full-text access to current and historic articles.
Advertising Age
Trade publication for national and international marketing news, as well as some advertising reports and statistics.

Check your sources

Need help evaluating your news article for concerns like bias, slant, authority, and reliability? Check out the Critically Evaluate Information page on this guide.