What are books good for?
Every book has its time and place; when it comes to non-fiction works, here a couple varieties you may encounter:
- Reference: Provide topic overviews, guidelines, summaries, or definitions. These could be formatted like a textbook, or they might be similar to a dictionary or encyclopedia.
- Research: May be written in normal chapters, or they may resemble a thematic collection of research published by different authors. The authors may be presenting empirical research they conducted themselves (hint: you'll see methods, results, conclusions...), or they may have gathered others' research to explain and analyze in bulk, similar to a literature review.
Reference texts are great choices for getting a better feel for a topic (similar to using Google or Wikipedia to get started), but they won't be as effective as research texts when it comes to writing a paper and supporting your claim, argument, statement, etc.
Note: Just because a text is not in the "Reference Collection" of the library does not mean it isn't a "reference text". Some are labeled as such (with a REF sticker), but something closer to a textbook will not likely carry this label.
Find Books and eBooks
Refer to the General Search Strategies page for brainstorming search terms. Keep your search broad to begin with (1-3 words that describe your topic). Use the SU Libraries Quick Search below (also located on the SU Libraries home page).
- SU Libraries Quick SearchFilter your results on the left-hand side of the results page. For Format, select Book and/or eBook.
Print Books
Refer to the Locate Books details further down this page to determine where certain collections (Reference, Ready Reference, Folio Books, etc.) are located in the library.
- Call Number Locator MapUse this map to locate a book based on its call number. Make sure you select the correct collection (ie General Stacks, Folio, etc.) first.
- InterLibrary Loan (ILL)If we don't have the book you need, request it through ILL. Books generally arrive in 5-7 business days. Follow the link above and scroll down to access/create your account.
eBooks
If you need help accessing/downloading an eBook, refer to this page or contact your librarian.
Most eBooks are searchable through the SU Libraries Quick Search, just as with our print collection. Filter results by Format (under Book -> eBook) on the left side of the results page.
Use the Find It button or one of the database links listed underneath the Find It button to find full-text access
If you would prefer to browse for books on a shelf, here are some recommended call number ranges for you.
HF 1416+ International marketing/exports
HF 5410+ Marketing
- HF 5415.1255 Branding
- HF 5415.126 Direct marketing
- HF 5415.127 Market segmentation. Target marketing.
- HF 5415.129 Marketing channels.
- HF 5415.13 - .157 Marketing management
- HF 5415.2 Marketing research.
- HF 5415.32+ Consumer behavior
- HF 5415.335 Consumer satisfaction
- HF 5415.55 Relationship marketing
- HF 5416.5 Pricing
HF 5438 Selling
HF 5801+ Advertising
Locate Books
The location of books should be listed in the item record under "Find a copy in the library". Location information is listed in the first column of each table, as shown in this screenshot. Below are possible Locations associated with Salisbury University Libraries.
SU Guerrieri Academic Commons...
- Stacks
- 3rd Floor. This is our general collection. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map to find exact location of a book.
- Folio Books
- 3rd Floor. Folio refers to oversized books that don't fit on normal shelves. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
- Juvenile Books
- 3rd Floor. This collection contains most of our children and young adult books. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
- Reference Collection (linked to library maps)
- 1st Floor, long shelf between the IT Help Desk and the Circulation and Research Help Desks. Collection carries over into the Pit. Reference books are generally topic overviews or materials like dictionaries and encyclopedias -- something you might need to refer to but don't need to read cover-to-cover.
- In-library use only. Please leave reference books on a table or cart when you are finished using them so we can track how often they are used.
- Stacks Reference
- 3rd Floor. While these books are housed in our stacks, they are reference books and are also in-library use only. Please leave them on a table or cart when you are finished using one so we can track how often they are used. Locate these books using the Call Number Locator Map just as you would a book in the General Stacks.
- Ready Reference
- Kept behind the Research Help Desk. Ask the person staffing the desk to borrow the item you need.
- In-library use only. Please return to Research Help Desk when finished using.
- Course Reserves
- These are items set aside by faculty for a class or particular purpose. Ask for print reserves at the Circulation Desk or access e-reserves via the link above.
SU Curriculum Resource Center...
- General
- Items in the CRC are located in Conway Hall (TET) 226, on the northeast side of campus.
- Main Collection
- Maryland Special Collections
- SU Faculty Authors Collection
- Visit the Nabb Center on the 4th floor of GAC to access any items located in these collections.
Collection Highlights
The Handbook of Online and Social Media Research by Call Number: HF5415.2 .P66 2010ISBN: 0470710403Publication Date: 2010-09-20"Drawing together the new techniques available to the market researcher into a single reference, The Handbook of Online and Social Media Research explores how these innovations are being used by the leaders in the field. This groundbreaking reference examines why traditional research is broken, both in theory and practice, and includes chapters on online research communities, community panels, blog mining, social..."
The Handbook of Marketing Research by ISBN: 9781412973380Publication Date: 2006-06-23eBook accessible via Find It button
Twenty Ads That Shook the World by Call Number: HF5811 .T9 2000ISBN: 9780609807231Publication Date: 2001-12-26
Creating a Brand Identity by Call Number: HF5415.1255 .S54 2016ISBN: 9781780675626Publication Date: 2016-01-26
Creative Advertising : ideas and techniques from the world's best campaigns by Call Number: HF5823 .P73613 2008ISBN: 9780500287330Publication Date: 2008-06-23
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns by Call Number: HF5837 .E53 2000ISBN: 078763042XPublication Date: 2000-01-01Details on 500 U.S. marketing campaigns in the 20th century, each selected because of "its conceptual value or innovation, ... the importance of the company or brand for which it was run; and its effectiveness in selling the advertised product or service."
Digital Marketing Analytics by Call Number: HF5415.1265 .H46 2013ISBN: 9780789750303Publication Date: 2013-04-15
Marketing Analytics by Call Number: HF5415.2 .G754 2015ISBN: 9780749474171Publication Date: 2015-06-28
Understanding digital marketing: marketing strategies for engaging the digital generation by Call Number: HF5415.1265 .R93 2017ISBN: 9780749478438Publication Date: 2016-11-28"Marketing expert Damian Ryan looks at the world of digital marketing: how it got started, how it got to where it is today and where the thought leaders in the industry believe it is headed in the future. This new edition demonstrates in a practical and comprehensive way how to harness the power of digital media and use it to achieve the utmost success in business..."
The Best Digital Marketing Campaigns in the World II by Call Number: HF5415.1265 .R92 2014ISBN: 9780749469689Publication Date: 2014-03-28
Designing Brand Identity by Call Number: HD69.B7 W44 2013ISBN: 9781118099209Publication Date: 2012-11-06"A revised new edition of the bestselling toolkit for creating, building, and maintaining a strong brand. From research and analysis through brand strategy, design development through application design, and identity standards through launch and governance, Designing Brand Identity, Fourth Edition offers brand managers, marketers, and designers a proven, universal five-phase process for creating and implementing effective brand identity.."
The Complete Marketer by Call Number: HF5415 .M37953 2013ebISBN: 9780749466770Publication Date: 2013-05-03A source of hard intelligence about the marketing discipline, broken down into over 60 constituent chapters - including internet marketing, understanding consumers, market audits, segmentation, advertising and PR, and managing a sales team. It applies the authors' marketing know-how to every aspect of the marketing mix.
The Market Research Toolbox by Call Number: HF5415.2 .M383 2012ISBN: 9781412991735Publication Date: 2011-10-12"An ideal resource for those who want to conduct market research but have little experience in doing so, The Market Research Toolbox describes how to think of market research in the context of making a business decision. The book begins by defining market research and discussing some of the various types and techniques..."
Marketing to Millennials by Call Number: HF5415.332.Y66 F76 2013ISBN: 9780814433225Publication Date: 2013-07-02"With more than 80 million in their ranks, the Millennials (aka Generation Y)--born between 1977 and 1995--are the largest generation in American history, outnumbering Generation X by far, and even the Baby Boomers by 1 million. Their direct buying power is estimated at $200 billion, and their indirect buying influence at least double that..."
Mobile Marketing by Call Number: HF5415.1265 .R69 2014ISBN: 9780749469382Publication Date: 2013-11-28"A growing portion of internet traffic is coming from smartphones and tablets. Net Marketshare put mobile's share of global browsing traffic at 10.3% in October 2012. This was the first time mobile had topped 10% of all browsing. In North America, the share of Web traffic from smart phones and tablets was estimated at 28% as of June 2012, with the time spent with mobile growing at 14 times the rate of desktop..."
Marketing to the Campus Crowd by Call Number: LB2342.82 .M67 2004ISBN: 9780793186006Publication Date: 2004-06-01
