Books
Envisioning global LGBT human rights : (neo)colonialism, neoliberalism, resistance and hope by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780993110238Publication Date: London : Human Rights Consortium
The Medical Professional's Guide to LGBT+ Inclusion : Creating a Workplace Culture That Nurtures a Welcoming, Inclusive, and Affirming Environment by ISBN: 1003167306Publication Date: 2023
Training and Activities
- Safe Zone Project
"Our foundational curriculum is recommended for all groups to introduce them to core concepts of marginalized genders and sexualities." Free download of 2-hour curriculum. - SU Safe Spaces Training
SU's OIE offers several Safe Spaces trainings, designed by Dr. Diane Illig, on campus throughout the year.
Organizations
- ODI's LGBTQ List of Organizations
SU's Office of Diversity and Inclusion have curated a list of organizations at the local and national level, as well as faith based organizations.
Databases
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowLGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Video
- Trans
"It begins with the story of Lt. Commander Christopher McGinn, a Navy flight surgeon selected by NASA to serve on two space missions. But, upon his discharge from the armed forces, Chris McGinn would set out upon a different mission...from which he was never to return. Now Dr. Christine McGinn is able to tell her own amazing story, (picked up in the media on both MSNBC and the Oprah Winfrey show) and provide an entree into a complex and dramatic world that is 'Trans.'"
2012, 94 mins. Available in Kanopy for classroom viewing, streaming, and Public Performance Rights (PPR). - 5 Tips for Being an Ally
Tips by youtuber chescaleigh. 3:31 mins. - 'Ask Me': What LGBTQ Students Want Their Professors to KnowFrom the Chronicle of Higher Education, interviews from students. 11:50 mins.
- Breaking ThroughA documentary on confronting the demons that stand in the way of living life fully, told by those who ran openly LGBT campaigns - and won. Openly LGBT elected officials tell their stories of self-doubt and triumph.2014.
Syllabus Statement
FORMS OF ADDRESS: NAMES AND PRONOUNS - Created by University of Maryland, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Equity Center
Many people might go by a name in daily life that is different from their legal name. In this classroom, we seek to refer to people by the names that they go by. Pronouns can be a way to affirm someone's gender identity, but they can also be unrelated to a person's identity. They are simply a public way in which people are referred to in place of their name (e.g. "he" or "she" or "they" or "ze" or something else). In this classroom, you are invited (if you want to) to share what pronouns you go by, and we seek to refer to people using the pronouns that they share. The pronouns someone indicates are not necessarily indicative of their gender identity.
Syllabi
- Trans* Studies in Higher Education
"I have begun this syllabus as an act of resistance for and alongside my trans* kin and our accomplices. I also sincerely hope people will use the syllabus, and this will reduce the amount of cisgender people who feel the need to ask what they can do to learn about trans* populations, as if: (1) we haven’t always already been in your midst; (2) empirical, affirmative-based research has not existed for quite some time; and (3) cisgender people should take it upon themselves to answer their own question rather than requiring trans* people to do the (additional unpaid) labor for them."
Vocabulary
- LGBT Glossary
A-Z Glossary of LGBT terms from Charleston's We Are Family.
Miscellaneous
- Map of State Laws and Policies
"View the laws and policies that affect the LGBTQ community and see where the states stand on important issues." - Ally Spectrum
Brief description of different types of allies. - Genderbread Person
Genderbread Person v3.3. Graphic representation to explain the differences between gender identity, gender expression, biological sex, and sexual and romantic attraction. - The Gender Unicorn
Graphic representation explaining the differences between gender identity, gender expression, biological sex, and sexual and romantic attraction. - NCTE Statement on Gender and Language
This statement, formerly known as Guidelines for Gender-Fair Use of Language, was revised in October 2018. - Trans Resources & Policies
This guide provides useful information on resources and policies supporting trans students and employees at University of Maryland - Independent Voices' LGBTQ Series
Independent Voices Collection is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals. This collection is comprised of queer publications from the 1950s-1990s. Titles include Gay Liberator, The Phoenix, ONE, Lesbian Connection, Sinister Wisdom, and Tangents, among many more.
About the Guide
This guide was created by the Social Justice, Equity, and Teaching Transformation Faculty Learning Community (SETT-SU FLC) and Angeline Prichard, Research & Instructional Librarian. SETT-SU FLC is made up of faculty members from various departments across campus who share an interest in learning how to effectively teach topics of diversity and implement pedagogical choices that respect and affirm diversity in our classrooms.
If you have any suggested resources you think should be added to the guide, please submit them here!
Send any questions or comments about the guide to SETT-SU FLC co-facilitators Becky Anthony or Erin Stutelberg.