Syllabi
- Charlottesville
"Readings on the History of Hate in America: The history of racism and ethnic hate in America is long and deep. What are the cultural, economic, and political currents that led us here?" - Colin Kaepernick
"This syllabus represents an attempt to aid in these conversations, to turn our everyday conversations, debates, and discourse into a classroom, all while making sure our institutionalized classrooms are engaged with the histories, struggles, and public discourses that shape our current moment." - Ferguson
"We encourage all concerned about the injustices and inequities made evident by the recent events in Ferguson to join us as we dig deeper into understanding the multiplicity of factors that contribute to the criminalization and marginalization of black and brown communities." - Prison Abolition
African American Intellectual History Society (AAIHS), 2018. - Uprooting Whiteness [Supremacy & Domination]
Curated and Maintained by William R. Frey (@williamrfrey)
Doctoral Student at Columbia University’s School of Social Work
- Antiracist Resources GuideA guide of antiracist resources primarily available from off-campus, including eBooks, openly available resources, and links to other guides.
Scholarly Articles
- Are Emily and Greg More Employable than Lakisha and Jamal? A Field Experiment on Labor Market DiscriminationBertrand, Marianne and Sendhil Mullainathan. "Are Emily And Greg More Employable Than Lakisha And Jamal? A Field Experiment On Labor Market Discrimination," American Economic Review, 2004, v94(4,Sep), 991-1013
- Race and Ethnic Representations of Lawbreakers and Victims in Crime News: A National Study of Television CoverageBjornstrom, E. E., Kaufman, R. L., Peterson, R. D., & Slater, M. D. (2010). Race and Ethnic Representations of Lawbreakers and Victims in Crime News: A National Study of Television Coverage. E. Social problems, 57(2), 269-293.
Books
The colonial fortune in contemporary fiction in French by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781786948144Publication Date: 2017
Vocabulary
- Glossary for Understandin the Dismantling Structural Racism/Prmoting Racial Equity Analysis
From the Aspen Institute, 2016. PDF version available at bottom of blogpost. - Language to Use Around Slavery
From the Understanding Slavery Initiative
Additional Guides
- Simmons University anti-racism sources
Simmons University anti-oppression guide. This link is to their anti-racism page, but the guide includes several other pages of resources on anti-oppression for various identities.
News & Magazine
- Blacks and whites see racism in the United States very, very differently
By Ryan Struyk, CNN, 2017 - What This Cruel War Was Over
By Ta-Nehisi Coates, The Atlantic, 2015.
"The meaning of the Confederate flag is best discerned in the words of those who bore it." - The First White PresidentTa-Nehisi Coates, The Atlantic, 2017.
"The foundation of Donald Trump’s presidency is the negation of Barack Obama’s legacy." - The unwelcome revival of ‘race science’
By Gavin Evans, The Guardian, 2018.
"Its defenders claim to be standing up for uncomfortable truths, but race science is still as bogus as ever" - White People Think One Black Person’s Success Proves Racism Is Over
By Rebecca Hiscott, Huffington Post, 2014. - Nia Wilson and the Formula for Covering Black DeathBy Jordyne Blaise, The Atlantic, 2018.
"The racial elements and gruesome details surrounding the teen’s killing have pushed the story into the public sphere. But only some black victims are afforded this kind of attention." - Bringing a dark chapter to light: Maryland confronts its lynching legacy
By Jonathan M. Pitts, Baltimore Sun, 2018. - History of Lynchings on Maryland's Eastern Shore
DeNeen L. Brown, The Washington Post, 2015. - History of Lynchings in the South Documents Nearly 4,000 Names
By Campbell Robertson, New York Times, 2015. - Map of 73 Years of LynchingsNew York Times, 2015.
Interactive Map
Website & Blog
- Whiteness and White Privilege
Collection of resources from Racial Equity Tools including, practices, research, overview concepts, and other resources. - Welcome To The Anti-Racism Movement — Here’s What You’ve Missed
By Ijeoma Oluo, The Establishment, 2017.
Note: The Establishment does have a pay wall. - Whites See Racial Progress, While Blacks See Inequality
By Jamelle Bouie, The Nation, 2011.
"A new survey shows the wide perceptual gap in racial progress between whites and blacks." - White Fragility: Why It’s So Hard to Talk to White People About Racism
By Dr. Robin DiAngelo, 2015.
"Dr. Robin DiAngelo explains why white people implode when talking about race." - White People: I Don’t Want You To Understand Me Better, I Want You To Understand YourselvesBy Ijeoma Oluo, The Establishment, 2017.
Note: The Establishment does have a pay wall. - Equal Justice Initiative (EJI)
EJI is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment. - On Whiteness: Positionality, Sacrifice, and Collective Responsibility
By William, R. Frey, Medium. - Why We Must Teach Black Lives Matter to Our Kids: How To Guide
By Jillian “Mama J” Roth, Little Feminist, 2018. - Today’s Voter Suppression Tactics Have A 150 Year History
By Gregory Downs, Talking Points Memo, 2018.
"Rebels in the post-Civil War South perfected the art of excluding voters, but it was yankees in the North who developed the script."
Data
- Views about whether whites benefit from societal advantages split sharply along racial and partisan lines
By. Baxter Oliphant, Pew Research Center, 2017 - The Partisan Divide on Political Values Grows Even WiderThe Pew Research Center, 2017
Complete report and dataset available.
Video
- The Myth of Race, Debunked in 3 Minutes
Vox, 2015, 3 minutes.
"You may know exactly what race you are, but how would you prove it if somebody disagreed with you? Jenée Desmond Harris explains." - The future of race in America: Michelle Alexander at TEDxColumbus
Michelle Alexander's Ted Talk, 2013, 23 minutes. - Is Racism Over Yet?By lacigreen, 2015, 6 minutes
"In this video, Laci Green talks about the nature of racism in 2015. She begins by challenging commonly held ideas about what racism is. She highlights how racist attitudes have created a racist system...which have created more racist attitudes. In order to stop the cycle, she illustrates 6 common ways that racism is institutionalized. Wealth disparities and housing, education, employment, mass incarceration, racial profiling, and police brutality are all touched upon. She ends by calling white America to stop making excuses that enable the past to continue and instead acknowledge the injustice right in front of us." - A Conversation with White People on RaceNew York Times' Op-Doc, Season 4, 2015.
- Understanding My PrivilegeSue Borrego's TedxTalk, 13 minutes.
"University Chancellor, Susan E. Borrego, reflects on her life as an emancipated minor and dissects the emotionally charged conversation surrounding race relations in the United States. This raconteur uses her powerful first-person account of "White Privilege" and "Black Lives Matter" to underscore the responsibility each one of us has to bring about change. " - The biology of race in the absence of biological racesRick Kittles's TEDxTalk, 2011.
"Defining "race" continues to be a nemesis. Knowledge from human genetic research is increasingly challenging the notion that race and biology are inextricably linked, engendering tremendous ramifications for human relations, identity and public health." - A Conversation with Native Americans on RaceNew York Times Op-Doc, Season 6, 2017, 6 minutes.
- How to Explain White Supremacy to a White SupremacistGuante in Button Poetry, 2017. 4 minutes
Databases
- African American Communities This link opens in a new windowThis database focuses predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina and presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
- African American Music Reference This link opens in a new windowThis database is part of the Music Online collection including streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. Music Online allows users to cross search all of the Alexander Street Press music products that your institution subscribes to. Includes African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, and The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online.
- Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 This link opens in a new windowBetween the early 1920s and early 1980s, the Justice Department and its Federal Bureau of Investigation engaged in widespread investigation of those deemed politically suspect. Prominent among the targets of this sometimes coordinated, sometimes independent surveillance were aliens, members of various protest groups, Socialists, Communists, pacifists, militant labor unionists, ethnic or racial nationalists, and outspoken opponents of the policies of the incumbent presidents.
- Liberation Movement in Africa and African America This link opens in a new windowComposed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People’s Revolutionary Party; this collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles.
- Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League This link opens in a new windowBooker T. Washington, founder of the National Negro Business League, believed that solutions to the problem of racial discrimination were primarily economic, and that bringing African Americans into the middle class was the key. In 1900, he established the League "to promote the commercial and financial development of the Negro," and headed it until his death.
- Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad This link opens in a new windowThis collection of RAM records reproduces the writings and statements of the Revolutionary Action Movement (RAM) and its leaders. It also covers organizations that evolved from or were influenced by RAM and persons that had close ties to RAM.
- Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle This link opens in a new windowThe Black Liberation Army (BLA) was an underground, black nationalist-Marxist militant organization that operated from 1970 to 1981. Composed largely of former Black Panthers (BPP), the organization’s program was one of "armed struggle" and its stated goal was to "take up arms for the liberation and self-determination of black people in the United States." The BLA carried out a series of bombings, robberies (what participants termed "expropriations"), and prison breaks.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new windowSlavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law is a complete legal collection on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. It also includes hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery— defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it, including an expansive slavery collection of mostly pre-Civil War materials.
About the Guide
This guide was created by the Social Justice, Equity, and Teaching Transformation Faculty Learning Community (SETT-SU FLC) and Angeline Prichard, Research & Instructional Librarian. SETT-SU FLC is made up of faculty members from various departments across campus who share an interest in learning how to effectively teach topics of diversity and implement pedagogical choices that respect and affirm diversity in our classrooms.
If you have any suggested resources you think should be added to the guide, please submit them here!
Send any questions or comments about the guide to SETT-SU FLC co-facilitators Becky Anthony or Erin Stutelberg.