Why use articles?
Why use articles for research?
- For very recent, current information
- Cover very specific subjects
- Popular topics
- Alternative viewpoints
- Reports on scholarly research
Database searching
Now is the time to be more specific with your searching. Articles tend to cover very specific or niche topics, and are also published more quickly than books, meaning the information is typically more current than the general information you can gather from books.
Possible keywords to use for this example: food rationing ration coupon ration stamp ration card ration book poster propaganda Spain Europe World War II Spanish Civil War Francisco Franco Adolf Hitler Axis Powers ...and many more
- Academic Search CompleteMulti-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Art & Architecture CompleteArt & Architecture Complete is the definitive research database for the study of art and architecture. This database provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books.
- Communication & Mass MediaCommunication & Mass Media Complete includes journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
- JSTOROffers access to academic journals, books, and primary sources across many disciplines.
Several databases pertaining to History may also be helpful for this assignment. Please also check out the list of recommended databases in the History subject guide.
Food Ration Coupons/Poster
Spain, 1940s
From SU Libraries' Special Collections