Find It Button
WHAT DOES THAT LITTLE "FIND IT" BUTTON DO, ANYWAY?- Looks in all of our databases to see if the document you want is available full-text in another of our databases. If so, it links you to it.
- Links you to the library catalog when we have the item you want in print.
- Links you to ILLiad (interlibrary loan) so you can borrow the item from another library if we don't have access electronically or in print.
Sources for ART 336
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowArt & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete, CMCC, incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 640 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 326 journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years; eBooks; ArtStor images; and primary sources. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Several databases pertaining to History may also be helpful for this assignment. Please also check out the list of recommended databases in the History subject guide.
Can't get access to an article, journal, or book? Use the identifying information you do have to find the material with the Citation Linker.
Finding primary sources for your research isn't easy. When looking for primary sources, consider:
- sourcebooks
- sources
- diaries
- letters
- autobiographies
- primary documents
- religious texts
- original writings
- interviews
- newspaper articles (from the time of the event)
- ...and more
- Primary vs. Secondary SourcesProvides further definition and context of primary and secondary sources.
Critically Evaluating Sources
Critically Evaluating Sources (what do we mean by "sources"?)
For college-level research, you'll want to consider using only the highest-quality information sources you can find. Between the internet and SU’s library, the “best” information can depend on the assignment. Here are some ways to determine the best information sources to lend support to your own research.
