Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Still need help?
Having trouble developing keywords? Use this exercise to help you along:
KEYWORDS carry some of the most important meanings that will open doors to vast amounts of information. You can develop keywords by searching reference sources, books, websites, and thesauri, among other materials.
Creating KEYWORD lists are important in that you will use these terms to search library tools such as the library catalog and article research databases.
Where can I find background information?
It is important to gather background information on a topic before diving into doing research. It can supply contextual information to give a better understanding of a topic, and it can also be a great way to start developing keywords to use during the research process. Background information on a topic can be gathered from a variety of sources, including textbooks, books, reference materials like encyclopedias, and reputable websites. Some (but not all!) databases where you can find background information are found below:
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for The Sun, Baltimore (Baltimore Sun) newspaper
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries.
New York Times
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper, the New York Times Book Review, and the New York Times Magazine.
Oxford English Dictionary
Complete text of the 20-volume 2nd edition of the Oxford English Dictionary (1989), plus its 3-volume Additions Series (1993, 1997).
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper