When and Where Can I Access Databases?
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
Selected Databases for Articles & Reference
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowThe Music Index, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949. The Music Index online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.
- Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new windowBrings together more than 17,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music in electronic form.
- JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books & other published sources from arount the world. This database includes data from American Humanities Index & Humanities International Index.
Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List
Search by subject or alphabetical.
Use SURF to Find Articles
In addition to searching in databases, you can also search for articles directly through SURF. You can use the filters to the left of your results list to sort by information pertinent to your search.
Did you know you can also search for journal names in SURF? Make sure you have changed your search to "All" or just "Journals" if you're looking for a specific title!
What is a Scholarly Article?
Click the image to expand, or here you can find a complete description of the image.