+In the research process: ARTICLES
1. Explore topic context (casual web searching)
2. Learn basic topic information (library catalog: books)
3. Focus on current scholarly conversations (library databases: articles)
4. Synthesize your ideas with previous scholarship (source citation)
5. Drafts & revisions (librarians & learning commons)
How do I *get* the article?
In most of our databases, you will either see a sign next to each of your search results that indicates full-text access via an html link 
, or else a sign that indicates full-text access via a PDF link 
. When those two options are not available, you will see the Find It button - 
. Clicking on this link will provide you with other possible options to get the article. These options could include:
- full-text links through a different database than the one you were originally searching in
- full-text access through our print holdings of that particular journal title
- a link to Inter-Library loan the article, if we don't have it for you any other way
A few of our databases that like to play rogue - namely SciFinder Scholar and ScienceDirect - don't have this FindIt button in their interface, but have other options that help you to search all possible avenues for the article.
+Multi-subject Databases
- AGRICOLA (Science & Agriculture: citations to agricultural literature)
- ASFA: Aquatic Sciences (ASFA series is the premier reference index in the field of aquatic resources.)
- Biological Sciences & Medical Sciences (Abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.)
- Biology Digest (Compilation of abstracts and indexes of domestic and international literature in the area of life sciences.)
- BioMed Central (Science, Technology and Medicine publisher of open access and peer reviewed journals.)
- BioOne (Contains 68 full-text bioscience research journals)
- Environmental Health Perspectives (Monthly journal of peer-reviewed research and news on the impact of the environment on human health.)
- JSTOR (Collections for Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, and Life Sciences)
- MEDLINE with Full Text (Provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.)
- Oceanic Abstracts (Worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment.)
- Plant Science Abstracts (Bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.)
- Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (Research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences.)
- PubMed Central (PMC: U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text of articles.)
- ScienceDirect (Full-text scientific database on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.)
- Web of Science (Citations on science, technology, social sciences and arts & humanities.)