Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Faculty: Archives and Special Collections

Orientation information for new university faculty members on SU Libraries

Other SU Libraries

The SU Libraries have multiple collections under its umbrella. Our archives and special collections are excellent for primary resources for your students to utilize in their research.  The Edward H. Nabb Center for Delmarva History and Culture houses an excellent collection of Delmarva materials and, despite its name, also SU's University Archives as well as archival and graphic collections from around the U.S. and the world.  These collections are available for research as well as course assignments, and the staff is happy to host class visits and work with you on developing assignments. 

During COVID-19, we are providing instruction via Zoom and also can digitize materials to make them available to your class; the reading room is open by appointment for in-person researchers.

University Archives and Special Collections

University Archives and Special Collections are part of the Nabb Center, located on the fourth floor of the Academic Commons.  The University Archives preserves and makes available for research administrative and other historical records for the University and community. The collections include records, manuscripts, rare books, and digital materials. Additionally the archives provides an ever-expanding database of faculty research and related Salisbury University works.

Special Collections includes manuscript items such as diaries, letters, journals, account books, ledgers, scrapbooks, and similar materials, largely from the U.S., plus many graphic items such as posters, postcards, illustrated magazines, and the like from all over the world.

To explore more, check out the Archives and Special Collections at the Nabb Center website or search the archives finding aid portal directly.

For questions or to plan an instruction session using archival materials, contact Jen Piegols, University Archivist & Special Collections Librarian.

Perdue Museum and Archive

The Franklin P. Perdue Museum of Business and Entrepreneurship is the newest archives on the SU campus. It allows visitors to explore the business philosophy of the Perdue family and their companies. It is located on the first floor of Perdue Hall.

Nabb Research Center

The Edward H. Nabb Research Center for Delmarva History and Culture houses an extensive collection of materials—documents, photographs, maps, and more—exploring the Delmarva region. The Nabb Center started in 1982 as the brainchild of Sylvia Bradley and Dr. Ray Thompson. It continues today as a robust resource for scholars and students from all over who are interested in the historic life and culture of the Delmarva region. The Nabb Center is now located on the fourth floor of the Academic Commons.

Explore the Nabb Center's rich website for resources, finding aids, events, and more.

For questions about our local history collections or to plan an instruction session using archival materials, contact Ian Post, Local History Archivist. 

Exhibits

The SU Libraries host several exhibitions each year in multiple locations throughout the Academic Commons. For questions, to plan a visit, or to plan a student assignment culminating in the creation of a class exhibit, contact Melinda McPeek, Exhibits and Artifacts Curator.

SOAR@SU

SOAR@SU logo: Salisbury University with a seagull outline as the dot for the "i" over the word Libraries over the word SOARMake sure to check out our institutional repository SOAR@SU. It is a digital archive that provides public online access to the work of the faculty, staff, and students of SU. SOAR@SU is a part of the larger repository MD-SOAR (Maryland Shared Open Access Repository).

Depositing your work in SOAR@SU increases its global visibility and impact, provides rapid dissemination, and long-term preservation. It also can help meet the data management and open access requirements of many research funding agencies.

Contact your library liaison to learn more about adding your papers, creative works, data, open educational resources (OER), and more to SOAR@SU.