Mindful Research
Remember, your research paper must have at least 6 scholarly sources, and at least 3 of those need to come from peer-reviewed journals. Be sure you know if you are using a source that is scholarly or not, and be sure to use it appropriately.
The infographics under the "Evaluating Sources" tab can help!
Multi-Subject Journal Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowOffers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
- Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes indexing and abstracts for over 700 active peer-reviewed journals (and over 700 more that are not peer reviewed), covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIs a robust sociology research database with hundreds of journals, including many that are peer-reviewed. Also includes 899 journals with searchable cited references as well as a growing collection of global Open Access journals.
The A-Z Database list can be sorted by subject or searched by keyword too, which could open up more relevant places to search, depending on your conflict.
PRO TIP: Subject Searching
A good way to refine your search is to use the subjects provided by the database. Here is an example of the subject list that appears in Academic Search Ultimate for a search using the keywords <conflict analysis>.
You will only see the top six, so make sure to click on the show more link to see all of the subjects provided.
This can benefit your search strategy by helping you think of other ways to phrase the information you are looking for, and also open your eyes to relevant subjects you may not have thought of otherwise.
Newspaper Databases
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of these newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIs an extensive resource for American Newspapers from 1690-1922. All 50 states are represented, and topics include Business, Religion, Politics, Race, and Ethnicity.
News LibGuides
The Virtual Newsrack is a compilation of access points to all of the newspapers to which SU Libraries currently subscribes, online as well as any print.
The "How To Find..." guide is a great thing to reference if you can't seem to find exactly what you're looking for in the library. If you're specifically focused on cases/examples right now, you might benefit most from the News or Primary Source pages.