Newspaper Location
Daily print newspapers are located in the Pit for in-house use.
Current News
- Washington Post This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper 1987-present
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper (1980-present), the New York Times Book Review (1988-present), and the New York Times Magazine (1997-present).
- Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for The Sun, Baltimore (Baltimore Sun) newspaper 1990-present.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper 1984-present
Local Historical Newspapers
- Maryland Historical Newspapers: Maryland Edition 1923-Recent This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper collection provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and in-depth coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time. Coverage: The Daily Times (1964-Recent), The Evening Times (1923-1927), The Salisbury Times (1927-1964)
- Historical Eastern Shore NewspapersThis unique collection includes digitized regional newspapers from 1745 through 1922 and represents the Nabb Center's commitment to preserving, providing access to, and facilitating research on these original resources.
- Holly LeafThe Holly Leaf was the official campus newspaper at Salisbury University from 1926 to 1970. Published monthly, the Holly Leaf printed articles that covered campus events, student life, and opinions.
- SSC InformerThe S.S.C. Informer was the official campus newspaper at Salisbury University from 1971 to 1973. Published monthly, the S.S.C. Informer printed articles that covered campus events, student life, and opinions throughout the period of time when the school was known as Salisbury State College (1963-1988).
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Somerset County Library’s newspapersThe Somerset County Library System has a digitized microfilm collection of local newspapers dating back to 1827 to make these records accessible and searchable for researchers.
Historical Newspapers
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch and browse over 700 American newspapers published in the 18th and 19th centuries.
- American Historical Periodicals (American Antiquarian Society). This link opens in a new windowThe collection offers a highly comprehensive documentary history of the American experience spanning four centuries, with multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America.
- Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama This link opens in a new window
This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war."
- Historical Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and in-depth coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time. Coverage: 1893-1988
- Historical Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new windowIncludes cover to cover issues of The Baltimore Sun from 1837 to 1996. News articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new windowIncludes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1851-2018.
- Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1889-2010.
- Historical Washington Post This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Washington Post. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1877-2006.
- Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowThe entire digital edition of The Times (London) is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.