Library Guides: How To Find...: Primary Sources

Nabb Research Center

Looking for primary sources related to Salisbury University, local history, family genealogy, or the Eastern Shore? Visit the Nabb Research Center, located on the fourth floor of the Academic Commons!

Nabb Center Collections
Nabb Center Finding Aid Portal
The Finding Aid Portal provides descriptions of the Nabb Research Center’s archival collections, as well as their affiliated artifacts, to help facilitate access to the materials.

Library Databases

JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new window
After searching, use the "Primary source content" limiters on the left side of the screen to see primary documents, images, audio files, books, and more.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of college & university scholars & students.
American Historical Periodicals (American Antiquarian Society). This link opens in a new window
A highly comprehensive primary source history of the American experience that spans four centuries with multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality This link opens in a new window
Contains over 3,000 documents focused on different phases of Black Freedom from the 1700s to present.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
Includes hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery— defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it, including an expansive slavery collection of mostly pre-Civil War materials.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window
This collection documents life in the internment camps.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Parts I and II This link opens in a new window
This primary source database includes content on the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, such as the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and marginalization within the LGBTQ community.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000: Scholar's Edition This link opens in a new window
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this vast collection of documents also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Victoria Research Web This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to the scholarly study of nineteenth-century Britain, and to aiding researchers, teachers, and students in their investigations of any and all aspects of this fascinating period.

Online Primary Sources

Most states and countries keep primary documents related to their history, culture, and people. If you're working on a project related to a specific place, Google "country national archives".

Maryland State Archives This link opens in a new window
The central depository for Maryland government records from 1634 onward. Colonial, executive, legislative, and judicial records; county probate, land, and court records; church records; business records; state publications and reports; and special collections of private papers, maps, photos, and newspapers.

National Archives NextGen Catalog
The National Archives holds historical U.S. government documents (federal, congressional, and presidential records), many of which are digitized and available to the public.
Library of Congress
Search box located in the top right. The Library of Congress maintains a massive online repository that includes articles, maps, musical scores, legislation, film, photographs, and thousands of other historical US documents.