How Do I Get the Article?
You may see a few options to access the full text of an article through our databases.
- HTML Full Text
- PDF Full Text (or a similar Get PDF option)
- View at Publisher
- When those options are not available, you may see the yellow Find It button
Clicking on the Find It button will provide you with other possible options to get the article. These options could include: full-text links through a different database, full-text access through our print holdings of that particular journal title, or a link to request the article through Interlibrary Loan.
A few of our databases - namely SciFinder Scholar and ScienceDirect - like to play rogue and don't have this Find It button in their interface, but they have other similar linking options to help you to search all possible avenues for the article you want! You can always email me for help finding the full article.
Useful Databases for Your Project
- American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new windowPremiere chemistry research database that includes over 80 chemistry magazines and journals.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowExtensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences.
- SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new windowEach user must register to set up an account here and keep track of their username & password. SciFinder allows you to search chemistry literature, but it also helps you search for molecules, processes, and reactions. SciFinder includes a useful molecular drawing tool.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowEnables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowParticularly useful for biomedical topics or substances. Provides abstracts and indexing for over 5,000 biomedical journals.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowAn unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text.
- JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. JSTOR is a great database for the "impact of this substance on society" part of your research project.
ACS Citations
Journal article
Foster, J. C.; Varlas, S.; Couturaud, B.; Coe, J.; O’Reilly, R. K. Getting into Shape: Reflections on a New Generation of Cylindrical Nanostructures’ Self-Assembly Using Polymer Building Block. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2019, 141 (7), 2742−2753. DOI: 10.1021/jacs.8b08648
Journal article from an aggregator database
Lanzotti A.; Grasso M.; Staiano G.; Martorelli M. The Impact of Process Parameters on Mechanical Properties of Parts Fabricated in PLA with an Open-source 3-D Printer. Rapid Prototyp. J. 2015, 21 (5), 604−617. DOI: 10.1108/RPJ-09-2014-0135 (accessed 2019-11-22 from ProQuest: Materials Science & Engineering Collection).
Book chapter in print
Bard, A. J.; Faulkner, L. R. Double-Layer Structure and Absorption. In Electrochemical Methods: Fundamentals and Applications, 2nd ed.; John Wiley & Sons, 2001; pp 534−579.
Document from a website
American Chemical Society, Committee on Chemical Safety, Task Force for Safety Education Guidelines. Guidelines for Chemical Laboratory Safety in Academic Institutions. American Chemical Society, 2016. https://www.acs.org/content/dam/acsorg/about/governance/committees/chemicalsafety/
publications/acs-safety-guidelines-academic.pdf (accessed 2019-02-21).
Online Open Access Search Engines
- Directory of Open Access JournalsSearch by article title or journal. Massive Open Access aggregator for many fields, including chemistry and other sciences.
- MDPIOpen Access publisher of several hundred journals, largely in the natural and biomedical sciences.
- Wiley Online LibraryLimit to Open Access Content. Wiley is a library database that we don't subscribe to here at Salisbury, but they have lots of open access content freely available to anyone.
- PLOSOne of the leading Open Access publishers in the sciences.
Request Articles We Don't Own
- Interlibrary LoanNeed to get an article that we don't have at SU? Request it through Interlibrary Loan! Most articles are fast and free, opening up the amount of research articles you're able to get.