Subject Searching
A good way to refine your search is to use the subjects provided by the database.
Here is an example of the subjects in Academic Search Ultimate for a search using the keywords <conflict analysis>.
To find this, select View All Filters under the search bar and open the section titled Subject: Thesaurus Term.
The number next to the subject indicates how many articles in your results set are tagged with that subject term. Be sure to click on the link at the bottom to view more terms.
Use SURF to Find Articles
General Databases
We have several databases you can use to search for journal, magazine, or newspaper articles. Some of them only give a citation to the article, and some have the full-text.
Here are some larger databases you might want to get started with:
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowOffers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
-
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
-
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of hundreds of journals, books & other published sources from around the world. This database includes data from American Humanities Index & Humanities International Index.
-
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)Provides access to a wide range of Open Access, mostly full-text, articles from different groups. This includes working papers from research institutes, occasional paper series from NGOS, policy briefs, case studies, conference proceedings and papers, course packs, book chapters and journal articles.
Subject Specific
Some databases are more narrow and focus only on specific subjects, which can be especially useful as you narrow down the points within your research.
Consider trying different key terms as you search in different databases to cover all your bases in searching!
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly literature on all aspects of communication studies including indexing, and abstracts for over 600 journals. Coverage: 1915-present.
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a comprehensive index for publications in psychology and related fields, containing more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new windowis an online library of education research and information, including the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
-
Education Source This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing, abstracts, and citations for over 4 million resources like journal articles, conference papers, and periodicals. It spans all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education.
-
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracting for 1000 business-related periodicals with full text for more than 600 business-related publications.