Library Guides: BIOL 520: Find Articles

Find Articles, Books, and More

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly and other learned publications in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biology, earth science, environmental science, and related subject areas.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as other disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's Medline database that provides abstracts and indexing for over 5,000 biomedical journals. Also has lots of animal science and veterinary journals, perfect for animal research.

American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Chemistry database with valuable information for microbiology, biochemistry, and chemical biology fields.
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Worldwide technical literature related to marine & brackish-water environments. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorololgy and geology plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.

USGS Publications
Browse more than 160,000 publications from the US Geological Survey.
PubAg
Free online database from the National Library of Agriculture. Includes some full-text coverage, but most entries are citation-only. Request citation-only articles through Interlibrary Loan.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences
Research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy.
Semantic Scholar
Free online tool that indexes over 200 million academic papers. This is not a library database, so you may need to request the article full text through Interlibrary Loan. Semantic Scholar also pulls from other types of sources including conference abstracts and working papers.

Unpaywall
Chrome browser extension that searches the internet to find open and legal versions of the articles you need. Look for the green unlocked symbol on the right side of your screen. A great tool that helps you find quality open access articles beyond our SU library subscriptions.