All Library Databases
-
A-Z DatabasesUse the subject drop down menu to narrow to Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, and more.
Unpaywall
-
UnpaywallChrome browser extension that searches the internet to find open and legal versions of the articles you need. Look for the green unlocked symbol on the right side of your screen. A great tool that helps you find quality open access articles beyond our SU library subscriptions.
Librarian Contact
Find Articles, Books, and More
Library Databases - Best Bets
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowEnables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. It also provides cited reference searching.
-
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly and other learned publications in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biology, earth science, environmental science, and related subject areas.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts for over 5,000 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries and includes additional older and out of scope citations. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
Other Useful Databases
-
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new windowChemistry database with valuable information for microbiology, biochemistry, and chemical biology fields.
-
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowElectronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowProvides resources on a variety such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology as they relate to environmental science and studies.
-
Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new windowWorldwide technical literature related to marine & brackish-water environments. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, geology, technology, and legislative topics.
-
USGS PublicationsBrowse more than 160,000 publications from the US Geological Survey.
-
PubAgFree online database from the National Library of Agriculture. Includes some full-text coverage, but most entries are citation-only. Request citation-only articles through Interlibrary Loan.
-
Proceedings of the National Academy of SciencesResearch reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy.
-
Semantic ScholarFree online tool that indexes over 200 million academic papers. This is not a library database, so you may need to request the article full text through Interlibrary Loan. Semantic Scholar also pulls from other types of sources including conference abstracts and working papers.
What's in SURF?
