Library Guides: BIOL 520: Find Data

Library Stats Databases

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. Quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research. Although most datasets are related to the social and behavioral sciences, there are many datasets about issues in geography, science, and the environment, especially if they relate to US federal law.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the 5 volume Millennial edition, 2006. Provides data in electronic format useful for statistical analysis.

The Zebrafish Information Network (ZFIN)
Database of genetic and genomic data for the zebrafish (Danio rerio) as a model organism. ZFIN provides a wide array of expertly curated, organized and cross-referenced zebrafish research data.
Mouse Genome Informatics (MGI)
MGI is the international database resource for the laboratory mouse, providing integrated genetic, genomic, and biological data to facilitate the study of human health and disease.
FlyBase
Despite the differences in the circulating energy fuels between human and fruit fly, Drosophila melanogaster serves as a versatile model to study energy metabolism and its disorders such as obesity, diabetes and metabolic syndrome.

Census Business Builder
The totality of this report includes all the demographics area for your target metro area/zip code/city, spending habits, and comparative businesses.
US Census
Data from the US Census. Demographics, population characteristics, local issues, and more.
Data | US Geological Survey
Search by topic (such as Coasts, Natural Hazards, or Water) or by search term (such as Delmarva, Assateague, or Eastern Shore).
The US Geological Survey is also a great government agency to find articles and reports.
UN Stats Environment
Browse by topic to find broad data at the country level.
Data.gov
One-stop-shop for publicly available data from the US Government and various government agencies. Datasets in agriculture, business, climate, education, science, and much more. Refine the dataset options using filters - topic, dataset type, tags, format, organizations, and publisher.