When and Where Can I Access Databases?
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
Article Databases: an A-Z List
You can search for databases by name or by subject.
Scholarly or Popular?
Database List
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
- Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 520 publications with some links to full-text in other EBSCO databases.
Newspapers
Current Newspapers
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of these newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowNew York Times newspaper, Book Review, and New York Times Magazine (1980-present)
- Washington Post This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and full text for the Washington Post newspaper (1987 - present)
Historical Newspapers
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new windowHistorical New York Times with Index (1851-1993)
- Historical Washington Post This link opens in a new windowFull text and image articles from the Washington Post (1877 - 2002). Includes full digital reproductions.
- Virtual NewsrackThis guide collects all of the news sources to which we have subscriptions. Some of them are in print, some are digital, some are daily, some are historical, etc. It also includes some magazines and other popular sources.