Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles & more - where to start?
This page provides information on where and how to search for articles, reports, and other research. Specific resources of interest include:
- Scholarly Articles
- Case Studies
- Company & Industry Information
Refer to the boxes below for tips and tricks on accessing each of these types of resources.
Find Scholarly Articles
Craft your search using KEYWORDS...
- international management
- business strategy
...and BOOLEAN OPERATORS...
- management AND Argentina
- (business OR management) AND cultur*
- Using an asterisk* at the end of a truncated word (cultur*) will search all possible endings of that word (cultural, culture, cultures)
...rather than a phrase or sentence (e.g., books on cultural practices that affect management strategies in Argentina)
Search options & filters
Catalog: Use the filters on the left-hand side of the page to trim down your search results.
- Format: select the "Peer-reviewed" box under "Article"
Databases: Filters will differ slightly depending on the database. Most offer Search Options (edit these before you hit search), as well as results filters (available once you view the search results list).
- When available, check the box for Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly.
- Date Range: keep this search option in mind if you only want research from the last 5-10 years.
Print journals in the library - refer to the map and text below. For details on how to determine whether we have print access, see screenshots at the bottom of this page.
- Current journals (current year) on 1st floor in "Pit". Listed alphabetically, run clockwise starting near the Circulation & Research Help Desks
- Bound journals (roughly 1 year ago and older) on 3rd floor in compact, movable stacks. To access an aisle in the Bound Journals section, check for patrons in the aisles, then rotate the crank on the movable stack next to the aisle you need to access.
Online access to articles & journals
- Follow the tips and instructions under "Search strategies", "Search the catalog & databases", and "Browse journals" to find articles & journals online
- Search for a journal by name in the SU Libraries Quick Search on the library home page, or use the search widget below. (For a list of select journals, refer to the "Browse journals" tab.)
- Click on the purple Find It button on the journal's record to check for online access. If access is available, you will see a link(s) to a database as well as the available date range of that journal. Make sure you select one with the right date range for your needs. (e.g., 1990 through present). Most databases will give you the option to either search within the publication (using keywords), or to browse specific issues (listed by year/month, volume, or issue).
- You can also go directly into a database to find journals and articles. See the "Search the catalog & databases" tab for a list of suggested databases.
- To obtain full-text access to an article, you will either see a PDF icon (usually red; click to view or download) or the yellow Find It button next to that article. The Find It button will search other library databases and holdings for access to the article. The page may display: a link to another database that does have access; a link to the catalog if we have a print copy of the journal containing the article; and/or a link to InterLibrary Loan (ILL) if no access through SU Libraries could be found. Read the information below to request materials through ILL.
- Refer to the screenshots at the bottom of this page for assistance.
Access from other libraries
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
If we don't have full-text access to an article you need, request it through ILL. Articles will be sent electronically to your ILL account within 1-3 business days. Follow the link above and scroll down to access/create your account.
Step-by-step screenshots for how to find and access a journal.
1. Use the SU Libraries Quick Search (via the library homepage) to search for a journal by name. Open its record to view a page similar to below:
2. For print access, refer to the "Status" column under "Find a copy in the library" to determine whether we have the issue you need. Refer to top of this page for information on journal locations within the library.
3. For online access, click through the Find It button, as seen in the screenshot above.
4. From there, you will be directed to a screen similar to below. Three scenarios await you here. Refer to the text and screenshots below for examples.
- If we have full-text access to a journal, as is the case with Harvard Business Review (below), you will see a "Read full text at" link that sends you to a database with access to the journal. Note the date range beneath the link, which details the range of access that database provides. Here, Business Source Premier provides access to HBR from 1922-present. Follow the link for access. You may be asked to log in with your SU username and password.
- Here you can "Search within this publication" to search for resources within the journal as a whole, or select specific issues to browse from the right-hand column. This page also provides a description of the journal and its subject coverage, as well as confirmation on whether or not its content is peer-reviewed.
- NOTE: Journals provided through other databases (e.g., ProQuest ABI/INFORM, ScienceDirect, etc.) may display differently from what is shown below.
- If we do NOT have full-text access, you will see 1) a link directing you to check the SU Libraries Catalog for print access to the journal, and 2) a link to request access through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
- View detailed information in Salisbury University Libraries' Catalog: Follow this link to check whether we have print access to that journal. If we do, you will be directed to its record in our catalog, as shown below. From there, click on "Holdings" to view the date range of our print copies of that journal. You can also view this information from the initial library record, under Find a copy in the library (see screenshot in step one).
- Request it from InterLibrary Loan: If we do not have online or print access, InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is your way to go. Please note that you will need to request a specific article from a journal if you make an ILL request, not the entire journal or an issue of a journal. Article requests generally take 1-3 business days to fill.
Search specific databases...
Provides indexing and abstracting for 1000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Please note that this publisher is offering EXPANDED CONTENT through June 30, 2022.
APA PsycArticles (formerly: PsycARTICLES)
APA PsycArticles is a source of searchable full text articles in psychology. The database contains full text articles from 52 psychology journals, including 44 APA journals.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences
This database provides coverage of nearly 550 full-text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full-text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
...Or, use the SU Libraries Quick Search tool, which searches SOME databases at once.
Have a specific journal in mind? Instead of searching within a database (which searches multiple journals and resources at once), try browsing and searching within a specific journal for the article you need.
Click on the links below to find online or print access to these journals, or type the name of a journal into the eJournal Quick Search at the bottom of this box.
For online access to a journal, use the Find It button from its library record page (like those linked above). Refer to the "Locate & access resources" tab for details and screenshots.
Try searching Google or a company/competitor's website for press releases, current trends, and breaking news.
Again, avoid using sentences and long phrases when creating your search. Use KEYWORDS and BOOLEAN OPERATORS to get the most relevant results.
Refer to the Critically Evaluate Information page on this guide for assistance on how to evaluate a news or web resource for credibility, reliability, and authenticity.
New York Times
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper, the New York Times Book Review, and the New York Times Magazine.
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper
Wall Street Journal
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper
Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 60 sources.
Find Case Studies
When searching for case studies, try including this as a keyword or subject term in your search, in addition to keywords relating to your topic:
- case stud* AND "organizational behavior"
- case stud* AND (teamwork OR team behavior)
If searching within a specific database (see "Databases with case studies" tab), the database's advanced search tool may have the option to select "Case Study" as a Document Type, which can also help narrow your results.
- Use an asterisk* to tell the search engine to grab all endings of a word:
- stud* will search for both study and studies.
- Use quotation marks to search for a phrase exactly as it is:
- "organizational behavior"
- Use parentheses around terms that are associated with the same boolean operator string:
- case stud* AND (teamwork OR team behavior OR organizational behavior OR organizational structure)...
Each tab of this box provides examples of different types of resources that contain case studies, such as books, journals, and databases.
- For help locating a book, refer to the Find books page at the top of this guide.
- For help locating a journal, refer to the "Locate & access resources" tab under "Find Scholarly Articles" to the left of this box.
- For help searching through databases, see the "Search strategies" tab in this box, then select a database from the "Databases with case studies" tab.
Search for Harvard Business Review in the SU Libraries Quick Search:
SU Libraries Quick Search
...which should direct you to its record through the library: http://salisbury.worldcat.org/oclc/1751795
We have both print and online access to Harvard Business Review (HBR).
- Current issues are kept on shelves around the Pit on the first floor, and run alphabetically clockwise around the space.
- Older issues are kept in the Bound Journals section on the third floor. Refer to the library map for assistance.
- To access online issues, follow the Find It button from HBR's library record (see above).
- Click through to Business Source Premier. You may be prompted to log in with your SU username and password.
- Search within the publication or browse specific issues
- Need a visual? Refer to the step-by-step screenshots on the "Locate & access resources" tab of "Find Scholarly Articles" (to the left of this box).
Journal of Business Case Studies
Available online. Access to this journal is divided into two parts: 2009-2011, and 2011-Present. Once you click "Find it," select which content you want to view . From there, you can "Search within this publication" using keywords, or "Browse specific issues" to find a case study relevant to you.
Journal of the International Academy for Case Studies
Available online. Once you click "Find it," select the Read Full Text link. From there, you can "Search within this publication" using keywords, or "Browse specific issues" to find a case study relevant to you.
California Management Review
Available in print and online. If locating online access, use the Find it button and select the first link provided. To search for case studies, use the "Search within this publication" link and type "case stud*" (including quotations) in the second search box. You may also want to add a third box to enter keywords relating to your specific topic. Refer to screenshots below.
Asian Case Research Journal
Available online. Use the Find it button and select the Read Full Text link. To search for case studies, use the "Search within this publication" link and type "case stud*" (including quotations) in the second search box. You may also want to add a third box to enter keywords relating to your specific topic. Refer to screenshots below.
For a list of databases, recommended search strategies, and screen shots, see this page on the MBA Program research guide.
Many textbooks will include case studies throughout the text or as part of an appendix. Try searching for books that contain case studies by trying the following search terms in the SU Libraries Quick Search:
- business cases
- business case stud*
- Using an asterisk* tells the search engine to search for all endings of a word, such as study or studies.
- case study research
Here are some select titles to get you started:
Negotiation: Readings, exercises, and cases by
Call Number: HD58.6 .N45 2003
Publication Date: 2002-06-04
"Explores the major concepts and theories of the psychology of bargaining and negotiation, and the dynamics of interpersonal and intergroup conflict and its resolution. This work is useful to management students and human resource management or industrial relations candidates."
Case Studies for Corporate Finance: From A (Anheuser) to Z (Zyps) (2 Vols.) by
Call Number: HG4026 .B529 2017
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
"...provides a distinctive collection of 51 real business cases dealing with corporate finance issues over the period of 1985–2014. Written by Harold Bierman Jr, world-renowned author in the field of corporate finance, the book spans over different areas of finance which range from capital structures to leveraged buy-outs to restructuring. While the primary focus of the case studies is the economy of the United States, other parts of the world are also represented."
Find Company & Industry Information
When searching for articles and profiles on a specific company or organization, use their stock ticker symbol when possible. Most business databases have the stock ticker listed as a search option when using its Advanced Search tool.
For industry information, try searching using the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code classified for that industry. If NAICS is too specific, try finding the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System code. If you cannot easily discern the NAICS or SIC codes for an industry, think critically about the keywords you use to find information. String together synonyms that capture the industry your business/organization is operating in (printer OR photocopy OR inkjet OR office equipment...).
Refer to the Company & Industry Research guide for more information on search strategies and resources.
These databases contain company profiles. These often link out to articles, press releases, reports, financials, and other information on that company. While most only index public companies, try Mergent Online for privately held companies.
You can also search these databases for industry reports. For a more complete list that contains suggestions for how to search within each database, refer to this page.
Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest)
Hoover's™ Company Profiles, a valuable resource for academic libraries, provides information about companies, industries, and the people who lead them. Featuring profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover's Company Profiles provides easy access to thorough and up-to-date business information.
Business Market Research Collection
Provides company, industry, and geopolitical macroeconomic market research from three sources: (1) Hoover's Company Profiles, which offers information on 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, summary financials, and competitors, (2) OxResearch, which covers significant economic and political developments from Oxford faculty; and (3) Snapshots Series, which includes market research overviews on over 40 industries and 40 countries.
Historical Wall Street Journal
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.
Find a stock or fund to meet your needs, research current or prospective holdings or see how your investments work together. Morningstar's data reports cover more than 20,000 securities.
Wall Street Journal
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper
Value Line Investment Survey
The Value Line Investment Survey is one of the most widely used independent investment information services in the world. Its up-to-date, weekly issues are a comprehensive reference source. Its coverage is encyclopedic, covering some 1,700 equity issues.
For each stock in its universe, the Value Line Investment Survey offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects.
The Value Line Investment Survey's main section, "Ratings & Reports," presents full-page, individual stock reports and industry reviews. The "Summary & Index" provides a key to locating the latest quarterly and supplementary reports and cites the most recent data on each of the stocks followed. Finally, "Selection & Opinion," a feature section, gives Value Line's views on the economy and the stock market and on stocks of special interest.