Where to start?
Search for books using the search boxes on the library home page -- use the All Types or Books/eBooks tabs.
Scroll down to Search Strategies for help with constructing your search.
Locate print books and access eBooks by reading the records in your search results. Click on the book's title and check the information listed under Availability.
- For print books, you will see a call number and status like On Shelf. If it is currently checked out, its due date will be shown instead. Pay attention to the book's collection location. This information is listed just above the call # and status (e.g., SU Guerrieri Academic Commons Stacks, SU Guerrieri Academic Commons Juvenile, etc.). Use the call number locator map to find the collection and call # location.
- For eBooks, you will see an Access Online banner underneath Availability, along with links to View eBook or Find It. Once you've accessed one of these links, you should see at least 1 link that mentions "Full-text." Follow that link, and you will be directed to a database that provides online and/or downloadable access to the book. Each database should provide instructions on how to download the book.
Browse for Books
BF - Psychology
G - Geography
- G154.9-155.8 Travel and state. Tourism
H - Social Sciences
- HA Statistics
- HB Economic Theory. Demography
- HB615: Entrepreneurship
- HC Economic History and Conditions
- HD Industries. Land Use. Labor
- HD28-70: Management
- HD50.5: Employee Empowerment
- HD60-60.5:Social Responsibility of Business; Social Entrepreneurship
- HD5650-5660: Employee Participation in Management; Employee Ownership
- HE Transportation and Communications
- HF Commerce
- HF5548.8: Organizational Psychology; Workplace Motivation
- HF5549-5549.5: Personnel Management; Employee Management
- HG Finance
- HJ Public Finance
- HM Sociology
- HN Social History and Conditions. Social Problems. Social Reform
K - Law in General
- KF Law of the United States
T - Technology
- Call Number Locator MapUse this map to locate books in our library, based on call number.
Locate Books
The location of books should be listed in the item record under "Find a copy in the library". Location information is listed in the first column of each table, as shown in this screenshot. Below are possible Locations associated with Salisbury University Libraries.
SU Guerrieri Academic Commons...
- Stacks
- 3rd Floor. This is our general collection. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map to find exact location of a book.
- Folio Books
- 3rd Floor. Folio refers to oversized books that don't fit on normal shelves. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
- Juvenile Books
- 3rd Floor. This collection contains most of our children and young adult books. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
- Reference Collection (linked to library maps)
- 1st Floor, long shelf between the IT Help Desk and the Circulation and Research Help Desks. Collection carries over into the Pit. Reference books are generally topic overviews or materials like dictionaries and encyclopedias -- something you might need to refer to but don't need to read cover-to-cover.
- In-library use only. Please leave reference books on a table or cart when you are finished using them so we can track how often they are used.
- Stacks Reference
- 3rd Floor. While these books are housed in our stacks, they are reference books and are also in-library use only. Please leave them on a table or cart when you are finished using one so we can track how often they are used. Locate these books using the Call Number Locator Map just as you would a book in the General Stacks.
- Ready Reference
- Kept behind the Research Help Desk. Ask the person staffing the desk to borrow the item you need.
- In-library use only. Please return to Research Help Desk when finished using.
- Course Reserves
- These are items set aside by faculty for a class or particular purpose. Ask for print reserves at the Circulation Desk or access e-reserves via the link above.
SU Curriculum Resource Center...
- General
- Items in the CRC are located in Conway Hall (TET) 226, on the northeast side of campus.
- Main Collection
- Maryland Special Collections
- SU Faculty Authors Collection
- Visit the Nabb Center on the 4th floor of GAC to access any items located in these collections.
Borrow Books from Other Libraries
- My Library AccountsOnce you click here, scroll down to find the ILL account login.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service offered to patrons who are unable to find certain books or articles through the SU Academic Commons Library or other USMAI Libraries. Library staff may be able to request these items if they are owned by libraries across the United States.
If a book is not available in SU Libraries, we can check to see if it is available through other libraries in the University System of Maryland. If not we can request it through Interlibrary Loan. You can access your account below. For information on how ILL works and how to set up your account, go here.
Search Strategies
1. Research question or statement
What is it exactly that you are trying to find? Think of a way to state your topic in 1-2 sentences.
2. Search terms
Pull words (and/or synonyms of those words) from your statement/question to use as KEYWORDS to craft your search...
- employee ownership
- high performance work systems
- organizational behavior
- teamwork
...and use BOOLEAN OPERATORS to broaden or narrow your search, or create relationships between keywords...
- "high performance work systems" AND teamwork
- Searches for resources using BOTH of these keywords
- Use "quotation marks" around words/phrases that you want to keep together as a single concept
- ("high performance work systems" OR "organizational behavior") AND teamwork
- Searches for resources that use EITHER high performance work systems OR organizational behavior, in addition to searching for mention of teamwork
- Use (parentheses) around relationships to specify which keywords you want attached to which boolean operators. This makes your search less ambiguous when read by the search engine.
- ("high performance work systems" OR "organizational behavior") AND team*
- Same search as above, but expands the meaning of team. Using an asterisk* to truncate a word tells the search engine to find all possible endings of that truncated word (team* = teamwork, teams...)
- ("high performance work systems" OR "organizational behavior") AND team* NOT Haier
- Use NOT to eliminate keywords or phrases from your search results. This is useful if, after trying a search phrase, you receive too many results that pertain to an area that is not relevant to you.
3. More Tips
- Use Search Options or Filters to further narrow your search to a specific type of resource, date range, etc.
- String together relevant synonyms or words with similar meanings to broaden your search results. ---> strategy OR plan OR method OR practice
- Avoid inputting your entire research statement into the catalog or a database's search engine. Break it up into keywords as shown above
Search Library Holdings:
Select Books
The Great Game of Business by Call Number: HF5386 .S77 2013ISBN: 9780385348331Publication Date: 2013-07-16Print book version
Zingerman's Guide to Giving Great Service by Call Number: HF5415.5 .W445 2004ISBN: 9781401301439Publication Date: 2004-12-01
The Southwest Airlines Way: Using the power of relationships to achieve high performance by Call Number: HE9803.S68 G58 2005ISBN: 9780071458276Publication Date: 2005-05-05"The original low cost operator, Southwest Airlines is now one of the world's most profitable airlines. This book examines the relationship-based performance principles & innovative management that have driven this company to the top of the league."
Shared Entrepreneurship: A path to engaged employee ownership by Call Number: HD5650 .S484 2014ISBN: 9781137332219Publication Date: 2014-08-13"Presents texts and cases of employee ownership in privately, closely and publicly held companies and examines modern management concepts."
- Print: 1 copy is available to check out from the general collection (3rd floor stacks); a second, non-circulating copy is located in the Nabb Research Center's SU Faculty Authors Collection (4th floor).
- Online: available through EBSCO eBooks - access through the Find It button when viewing the book's record above. Access is available to an unlimited number of users, so multiple people can download or read the book online at once. View screenshots below for step-by-step process.
After accessing the Find It link, click on link for "Read full text at..." You may be prompted to login with your SU username and password at this time.
You have 2 options to access the eBook: either by reading the PDF Full Text online, from EBSCOhost's page, or by downloading a copy of the book to your device. Refer to screenshots below if you choose to download a copy.
If you choose to download the book to view offline from your device, you will need to create a login with EBSCOhost. This is quick and easy to do. From there, sign into your account and you will be able to download the book.
Checkout period: This refers to the length of time the downloaded eBook will remain accessible from your device. You have a choice between 1 or 2 weeks. To access an eBook beyond this period, simply return to this page and re-download it.
Viewing Requirements: Before you complete the process, be sure to take note of the viewing requirements stated on this box. For view on desktops and smart phones, you will need to download a free application to view the eBook. Some may require you to create a separate login with that application.
Unravelling the Mysteries of Case Study Research by Call Number: HD30.4 .T39 2017ISBN: 9781786437235Publication Date: 2017-07-28"Unraveling the Mysteries of Case Study Research helps students to develop a deeper understanding of cases within their contexts by presenting them from the perspective of the individuals involved. The authors discuss the stages of case study research including: the role of personal motivation, objectives, research design, data collection and analysis as elements of the investigation."
Collaborative Intelligence: Using Teams to Solve Hard Problems by Call Number: HD66 .H335 2011ISBN: 9781605099903Publication Date: 2011-05-12"Explains how to develop an environment where teamwork flourishes, identifying six conditions necessary for any team to succeed and using examples to show how each helps teams accomplish their goal."
Case Study Research for Business by ISBN: 9781446258767Publication Date: 2012-01-01Click on "View eBook." Select a chapter to either read online or download for offline viewing.
- Shared Entrepreneurship by Call Number: HD5650 .S484 2014 (also single user eBook)ISBN: 9781137332219Publication Date: 2014-08-13"Presents text and cases of employee ownership in privately, closely and publicly held companies and examines modern management concepts."
Employee Ownership and Shared Capitalism by Call Number: HD5660.U5 E47 2011ISBN: 9780913447031Publication Date: 2011-07-07"This book showcases the diverse state of cutting-edge academic work on shared capitalism in the United States and Western Europe. Its chapters present a representative cross-section of current research, lively debates, and new research initiatives."
How Did Employee Ownership Firms Weather the Last Two Recessions? by Call Number: HD5660.U5 K87 2017ISBN: 9780880995252Publication Date: 2017-01-15
A Stake in the Outcome: Building a Culture of Ownership for the Long-Term Success of Your Business by Call Number: HF5386 .S773 2003ISBN: 9780385505093Publication Date: 2003-09-16From the same author as The Great Game of Business.
ESOPs and Corporate Governance by Call Number: KF3496.Z9 E85 2017ISBN: 9781938220524Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Democratic Capitalism: The Way to a World of Peace and Plenty by Call Number: HB501 .C37 2004ISBN: 9781418428099Publication Date: 2004-05-01
See below for "strongly recommended" books from your course syllabus. For more books on specific companies, check out the Employee Ownership and Shared Entrepreneurship Resources guide. You can find books on the individual company tabs, or look through the Book List on the guide's introductory page.
- The Southwest Airlines Way: Using the power of relationships to achieve high performance by Call Number: HE9803.S68 G58 2005ISBN: 9780071458276Publication Date: 2005-05-05"The original low cost operator, Southwest Airlines is now one of the world's most profitable airlines. This book examines the relationship-based performance principles & innovative management that have driven this company to the top of the league."
- Collaborative Intelligence: Using Teams to Solve Hard Problems by Call Number: HD66 .H335 2011ISBN: 9781605099903Publication Date: 2011-05-12"Explains how to develop an environment where teamwork flourishes, identifying six conditions necessary for any team to succeed and using examples to show how each helps teams accomplish their goal."
Extreme teams: why Pixar, Netflix, AirBnB, and other cutting-edge companies succeed where most fail by Call Number: HD66 .S4849 2017ISBN: 9780814437179Publication Date: 2017-02-16"Great achievements are almost always the work of a great team. But most leaders rely on decades-old ideas and practices about teams developed by companies that have lost their edge. Times change and so must our teams. Those who cling to outdated views of teamwork and team building will be left behind. So what do you need to do to create a team that can successfully face the challenges of today's world?..."
Projects Without Boundaries: Successfully leading teams and managing projects in a virtual world by Call Number: HD69.P75 M3773 2017ebISBN: 1119376408Publication Date: 2017-03-13-eBook-
Questioning Corporate Hierarchy by Call Number: HF5549 .N566 2017ISBN: 9781518820038Publication Date: 2017-05-12
Zingerman's Guide to Giving Great Service by Call Number: HF5415.5 .W445 2004ISBN: 1401301436Publication Date: 2004-12-01"Do you really need another book on customer service? There are hundreds you could choose from, and you've probably read at least a dozen. Why should you take advice from a deli with a funny name in Ann Arbor, Michigan? Because the way Zingerman's teaches service is different, better, and more successful than the way others do it..."
The Evolution and Future of High Performance Management Systems by Call Number: HD31 .B369448 1993ISBN: 9780899308135Publication Date: 1993-08-23
Supporting Work Team Effectiveness: Best Management Practices for Fostering High Performance by Call Number: HD66 .S85 1999ISBN: 9780787943226Publication Date: 1998-11-06"Supporting Work Team Effectiveness lays out the nine essential systems organizations must put in place to ensure the optimal performance of six of the most common types of teams. The nine support systems are addressed by individual chapters that walk the reader through the steps of establishing team structure staffing, leaders' roles, training, performance measurement, information systems, communication technology..."
High Commitment High Performance: How to build a resilient organization for sustained advantage by Call Number: HD58.8 .B44 2009ISBN: 9780787972288Publication Date: 2009-08-10"In his time-tested approach to organizational success, Harvard Business School's Michael Beer integrates knowledge from the fields of leadership, strategic management, human resource management, organization design and organization development and change to show how a company can be transformed to achieve sustained high commitment and high performance..."
Critical Perspectives on Entrepreneurship by Call Number: HB615 .C757 2017ISBN: 9781138938878Publication Date: 2017-01-31
Industry 4.0: entrepreneurship and structural change in the new digital landscape by Call Number: HD2326 .I53 2017ISBN: 9783319496030Publication Date: 2017-03-08"This book presents the latest research perspectives on how the Industry 4.0 paradigm is challenging the process of technological and structural change and how the diversification of the economy affects structural transformation..."
Social Entrepreneurship by Call Number: HD60 .S5925 2013 v.1-3ISBN: 9780313393419Publication Date: 2012-11-01Tackling one of the hottest topics in business today, experts share practical insights about how to finance, market, manage, and assess a social entrepreneurship venture to create a new organization that can do well and do good.
Grow to Greatness by Call Number: HD62.7 .H483 2012ISBN: 9780804775342Publication Date: 2012-04-25"Simply put, most entrepreneurial start-ups fail. Those fortunate enough to succeed then face a second, major challenge: how to grow. This book focuses on the key questions an entrepreneur must answer in order to grow a business. Based on extensive research of more than fifty successful growth companies, Grow to Greatness discusses the top ten growth challenges and how to overcome them..."
