Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Company Research - Key Terms
A report similar to the "Annual Report" but usually containing more details. It is submitted annually by public companies to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and is due within 60 days after the end of the fiscal year. 10-Q is the quarterly report.
An annual document that public companies must provide to their shareholders to describe their operations and financial health. It is often available through the company's website. It is similar to the 10-K but often contains commentary and pictures.
A larger firm that owns or controls subsidiary companies.
Usually owned by the company's founder(s), family, or a small group of private investors. They do not have the same requirements as public companies to file with Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). The amount of information available on private companies is very limited.
Authorized to sell stock to the general public. They are legally required to file financial statements with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and must share information with their shareholders.
A company that is partly of fully owned or controlled by another company (parent company).
An arrangement of characters that represent a publicly traded company.
Find Company (Competitor) Information
When locating reports and profiles on companies or industries, pay attention to the publication date.
Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest)
Hoover's™ Company Records, a valuable resource for academic libraries, provides information about companies, industries, and the people who lead them. Featuring profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover's Company Records provides easy access to thorough and up-to-date business information.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Content includes many full-text journals and topical video content.
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information by
Call Number: HF1010 .M67 2012
This book is located in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Library. Industry Information is the subject Chapter 4 (p. 57-74); you may find this information helpful.
Find Industry Reports & More
To supplement company-specific information, get a better sense for the total market by researching the overall industry.
When locating industry reports, pay attention to the 1) publication date, and 2) geography (global, US, India, etc.).
Online Resources (for off-campus access, you will be prompted to login with your SU username and password - same as for Gullnet, MyClasses, etc.)
For Industry Reports: Go to Advanced Search. After entering your search terms, use the options below to limit your Document Type to Industry Report.
Business Source Complete
Start your search using the NAICS code for the industry, or some keywords relating to the industry. Narrow the publication or document type to Industry Profile, Industry Report, or Market Research.
--Select Industry Reports from the Reports tab, then click on "Show more industry reports." You can search for an industry by keyword or browse the available reports. These are limited the US, France, UK, and Germany.
--OR, click on Consumer Markets. Select a market then choose a country from the drop-down menu at the top of the following page. More countries exist here.
Value Line Investment Survey
Check out the Markets tab. You can browse industry and market news, or scroll down to click on "View all industry analyses" to view all reports. Another option is to search directly for a company (using the search field at the top of the screen), then locate the Industry Analysis box on its page. This section will likely have more brief, yet up-to-date commentary.
--To get a different perspective, try using the Browse Research tab, then select an industry from the drop-down menu for "Industry Screens."
Print Resources (in the library)
Industry Surveys by
Call Number: HC106.6 .S74
Publication Date: July 2016 - Present
Most current 2 years kept in Reference Collection (1st floor). This series continues S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys (Feb. 2013 - Apr. 2016).