What are books good for?
Every book has its time and place; when it comes to non-fiction works, here a couple varieties you may encounter:
- Reference: Provide topic overviews, guidelines, summaries, or definitions. These could be formatted like a textbook, or they might be similar to a dictionary or encyclopedia.
- Research: May be written in normal chapters, or they may resemble a thematic collection of research published by different authors. The authors may be presenting empirical research they conducted themselves (hint: you'll see methods, results, conclusions...), or they may have gathered others' research to explain and analyze in bulk, similar to a literature review.
Reference texts are great choices for getting a better feel for a topic (similar to using Google or Wikipedia to get started), but they won't be as effective as research texts when it comes to writing a paper and supporting your claim, argument, statement, etc.
Note: Just because a text is not in the "Reference Collection" of the library does not mean it isn't a "reference text". Some are labeled as such (with a REF sticker), but something closer to a textbook will not likely carry this label.
Find Books and eBooks
Refer to the General Search Strategies page for brainstorming search terms. Keep your search broad to begin with (1-3 words that describe your topic). Use the SU Libraries Quick Search below (also located on the SU Libraries home page).
- SU Libraries Search BoxUse the All Types or Books & eBooks tabs to search for books. You can also use the search box at the bottom of this page.
Print Books
Refer to the Print Book Locations details further down this page to determine where certain collections (Reference, Ready Reference, Folio Books, etc.) are located in the library.
- Call Number Locator MapUse this map to locate a book based on its call number. Make sure you select the correct collection (ie General Stacks, Folio, etc.) first.
- InterLibrary Loan (ILL)If we don't have the book you need, request it through ILL. Books generally arrive in 5-7 business days. Follow the link above and scroll down to access/create your account.
eBooks
Most eBooks are searchable through the SU Libraries All Types or Books & eBooks search boxes, just as with our print collection. Filter results to only eBooks (on results screen, look to the left side to find Format -> Book -> eBook) on the left side of the results page to only see eBooks.
Once you find a title, click on the View eBook link and follow the prompts to view or download the eBook.
If you need help accessing/downloading an eBook, refer to this page or contact your librarian.
To find even MORE eBooks, try searching within the following two databases:
- Taylor and Francis E-Book Collection This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of e-books from Taylor & Francis covering the following subject areas: China, Culture and Ethnicity, Ethics, Globalization, Human Rights, The Internet, Korea, Race and Ethnicity, Sexuality Studies, Social and Cultural Theory and Urban Studies.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries.
If you would prefer to browse for books in person, here are some recommended call number ranges. The main library collection is on the third floor of GAC. Use the Call Number Locator Map linked below to find a specific call number's shelf location.
GN 345.6: Intercultural communication
GN 345.7: Cross cultural studies
GN 448-450.8: Economic organization, anthropology
HD 28-70: Management
- HD62.4: International management
- HD66.5: Multinational, international teams in the workplace
HF 5387: Business ethics
HF 5389: Business, office etiquette
HF 5549.A2- HF 5549.5.T8: Personnel, employment management
- HF5549.5.C6: Communication
- HF5549.5.E45: International businesses enterprises
- HF5549.5.M5: Minorities; diversity of employees; multiculturalism
- HF5549.5.M63: Motivation
- HF5549.5.N64: Nonverbal communication in the workplace
- HF5549.5.R23: Racism
- HF5549.5.S47: Sexual orientation
HM Social psychology
- HM1261: Leadership
- HM1271: Multiculturalism; pluralism; toleration
- Call Number Locator MapMap to show students the actual range their call number is in.
Books Only
Locate Books
The location of books should be listed in the item record under "Find a copy in the library". Location information is listed in the first column of each table, as shown in this screenshot. Below are possible Locations associated with Salisbury University Libraries.
SU Guerrieri Academic Commons...
- Stacks
- 3rd Floor. This is our general collection. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map to find exact location of a book.
- Folio Books
- 3rd Floor. Folio refers to oversized books that don't fit on normal shelves. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
- Juvenile Books
- 3rd Floor. This collection contains most of our children and young adult books. Follow link to Call Number Locator Map.
- Reference Collection (linked to library maps)
- 1st Floor, long shelf between the IT Help Desk and the Circulation and Research Help Desks. Collection carries over into the Pit. Reference books are generally topic overviews or materials like dictionaries and encyclopedias -- something you might need to refer to but don't need to read cover-to-cover.
- In-library use only. Please leave reference books on a table or cart when you are finished using them so we can track how often they are used.
- Stacks Reference
- 3rd Floor. While these books are housed in our stacks, they are reference books and are also in-library use only. Please leave them on a table or cart when you are finished using one so we can track how often they are used. Locate these books using the Call Number Locator Map just as you would a book in the General Stacks.
- Ready Reference
- Kept behind the Research Help Desk. Ask the person staffing the desk to borrow the item you need.
- In-library use only. Please return to Research Help Desk when finished using.
- Course Reserves
- These are items set aside by faculty for a class or particular purpose. Ask for print reserves at the Circulation Desk or access e-reserves via the link above.
SU Curriculum Resource Center...
- General
- Items in the CRC are located in Conway Hall (TET) 226, on the northeast side of campus.
- Main Collection
- Maryland Special Collections
- SU Faculty Authors Collection
- Visit the Nabb Center on the 4th floor of GAC to access any items located in these collections.
Collection Highlights
Understanding Culture's Influence on Behavior by Call Number: GN345.7 .B74 1993ISBN: 0030758971Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Understanding Global Cultures by Call Number: GN345.7 .G36 2004ISBN: 0761929800Publication Date: 2003-12-15
Cultural Intelligence: People skills for global business by Call Number: GN450.8 .T47 2004ISBN: 1576752569Publication Date: 2004-05-10
Cross-Cultural Management Communication by Call Number: HD30.3 .M45 1990ISBN: 0471926604Publication Date: 1990-12-28
Culture, Leadership, and Organizations: the GLOBE study of 62 societies by Call Number: HD57.7 .L4323 2004ISBN: 0761924019Publication Date: 2004-04-29
International Perspectives on Organizational Behavior and Human Resource Management by Call Number: HD58.7 .P86 2013ISBN: 9780765631077Publication Date: 2012-10-23
Managing Across Borders by Call Number: HD62.4 .B36 1998ebISBN: 0585232520Publication Date: 1998-01-01Available as an eBook.
Ethical Dimensions of International Management by Call Number: HD62.4 .C365 1997ISBN: 9780803955431Publication Date: 1996-10-16
International Management: Managing across borders and cultures by Call Number: HD62.4 .D47 2003ISBN: 0130090530Publication Date: 2002-07-17
International Management: Theory and practice by Call Number: HD62.4 .G66 2013ISBN: 9781781004388Publication Date: 2013-05-31
Managing Cultural Differences: Global leadership strategies for the 21st century by Call Number: HD62.4 .H37 2004ISBN: 9780750677363Publication Date: 2004-02-25
International Management and Language by Call Number: HD62.4 .T54 2008ISBN: 9780415403931Publication Date: 2008-06-27
International Project Management: Leadership in complex environments by Call Number: HD69.P75 G755 2010ebISBN: 9781118276570Publication Date: 2011-11-21Available as an eBook.
Global Business Etiquette by Call Number: HF5389 .M375 2006ISBN: 0275988155Publication Date: 2006-03-30- International Dimensions of Human Resource Management by Call Number: HF5549 .D627 1990ISBN: 0534919464Publication Date: 1990-02-01
International Human Resource Management by Call Number: HF5549.5.E45 I577 2004ISBN: 0761940391Publication Date: 2003-12-20
Cultures and Organizations: Software for the mind by Call Number: HM1211 .H574 2005ISBN: 0071439595Publication Date: 2004-09-12- Cultural Intelligence by Call Number: HM1211 .P47 2004ebISBN: 9781417526802Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Bridging the Culture Gap by Call Number: HF5389 .C36 2004ebISBN: 9781417557158Publication Date: 2004-01-01eBook through EBSCO
Intercultural Communication: A reader by Call Number: HM1211 .I57 2009ISBN: 9780495554189Publication Date: 2008-02-08
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information by Call Number: HF1010 .M67 2012ISBN: 9781598848076"Market share is, quite simply, the ratio of sales for one company's product or product line to the total market sales of that product or product line, expressed as a percentage of the market" (p. 147). This book is located in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Library. Market Share is addressed and explained on pages 147-149; you may find this information helpful.
Dun and Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World by Call Number: HF1416 .M78 2001ISBN: 0735201080Publication Date: 2000-12-01"... features vital facts on population, demographics, and markets; top prospects for export; risk ratings; economic overviews and foreign investment reports; information on societal, religious, and political influences on business; critiques of trade and monetary policies; and updates on tariffs...Each chapter covers a different country and addresses key cultural factors..."
A Basic Guide to Exporting by Call Number: HF1416.5 .B37 2008ISBN: 9780160792045Publication Date: 2009-01-02
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands by Call Number: HF5389 .M67 2006ISBN: 1593373686Publication Date: 2006-07-24"Presents information on the practices needed to do business in over sixty countries, covering such topics as historical background, cultural orientation, protocol, negotiations, entertainment, dress, and forms of address."The Statesman's Yearbook
Call Number: JA51 .S7 2015Publication Date: 2015This classic reference work presents a political, economic and social account of every country of the world together with facts and analysis.
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Management by Call Number: HD30.15 .B456 1996ebISBN: 0631227865Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Borrow Books from Other Libraries
- My Library AccountsOnce you click here, scroll down to find the ILL account login.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service offered to patrons who are unable to find certain books or articles through the SU Academic Commons Library or other USMAI Libraries. Library staff may be able to request these items if they are owned by libraries across the United States.
If a book is not available in SU Libraries, we can check to see if it is available through other libraries in the University System of Maryland. If not we can request it through Interlibrary Loan. You can access your account below. For information on how ILL works and how to set up your account, go here.