Books and eBooks with Case Studies
Many textbooks will include case studies throughout the text or as part of an appendix. Try searching for books that contain case studies by trying the following search terms in the SU Libraries Quick Search:
- business cases
- business case stud*
- Using an asterisk* tells the search engine to search for all endings of a word, such as study or studies.
- case study research
Here are some select titles to get you started:
Project Portfolio Management in Theory and Practice by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781498769259Publication Date: 2016-10-14"...techniques to assess the value of projects, prioritize projects, and decide which projects to implement and which to postpone... The book provides thirty real-life project portfolio management case studies from pharmaceutical, product development, financial, energy, telecommunications, not-for-profit and professional services industries."
Knowledge-Based Configuration: From research to business cases by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780124158696Publication Date: 2014-04-02"...incorporates knowledge representation formalisms to capture complex product models and reasoning methods to provide intelligent interactive behavior with the user. This book represents the first time that corporate and academic worlds collaborate integrating research and commercial benefits of knowledge-based configuration. Foundational interdisciplinary material is provided for composing models from increasingly complex products and services. Case studies, the latest research, and graphical knowledge representations..."
Crafting and Executing Strategy: The quest for competitive advantage: concepts and cases by Call Number: HD30.28 .C72 2012ISBN: 9780077462871Publication Date: 2011-01-31"Fully revised, this new edition features new perspectives, reflects the best academic thinking, & has strengthened correlation with new research. Chapter content remains solidly mainstream & balanced, mirroring the pragmatism of real-world strategic thinking."
Negotiation: Readings, exercises, and cases by Call Number: HD58.6 .N45 2003ISBN: 9780072429657Publication Date: 2002-06-04"Explores the major concepts and theories of the psychology of bargaining and negotiation, and the dynamics of interpersonal and intergroup conflict and its resolution. This work is useful to management students and human resource management or industrial relations candidates."
Business Ethics: Concepts and Cases by Call Number: HF5387 .V44 2006ISBN: 9780131930070Publication Date: 2005-07-15
Case Studies for Corporate Finance: From A (Anheuser) to Z (Zyps) (2 Vols.) by Call Number: HG4026 .B529 2017ISBN: 9789814667012Publication Date: 2015-07-01"...provides a distinctive collection of 51 real business cases dealing with corporate finance issues over the period of 1985–2014. Written by Harold Bierman Jr, world-renowned author in the field of corporate finance, the book spans over different areas of finance which range from capital structures to leveraged buy-outs to restructuring. While the primary focus of the case studies is the economy of the United States, other parts of the world are also represented."
How Companies Succeed in Social Business: Case studies and lessons from Adobe, Cisco, Unisys, and 18 more brands by Call Number: HF5386 .H619 2015ISBN: 9780134036489Publication Date: 2014-12-24
Research Methods by Subject
The Real Life Guide to Accounting Research by Call Number: HF5630 .R39 2004ISBN: 9780080439723Publication Date: 2004-04-06
Essential Guide to Qualitative Methods in Organizational Research by Call Number: HM786 .E87 2004ISBN: 9780761948872Publication Date: 2004-06-05
A Dictionary of Business Research Methods by ISBN: 9780191792236Publication Date: 2016-01-01eBook available through Oxford Reference Online
A Dictionary of Social Research Methods by ISBN: 9780191816826Publication Date: 2016-11-17eBook available through Oxford Reference Online
Journals with Case Studies
How do I access journals?
Print: Current issues (roughly the most current 12 months) are in "The Pit" on the first floor. Older issues are located in the third floor Bound Journals section (compact, movable stacks). Both sections are organized alphabetically. To access an aisle in the Bound Journals section, check for patrons in the aisles, then rotate the crank on the movable stack next to the aisle you need to access.
Online: Search for a journal by name in the library Quick Search, or access the links below. Click on the Find It button on the journals' record to check for online access. If access is available, you will see a link(s) to a database as well as the available date range. Make sure you select one with the right date range for your needs. (e.g., 1990 through present). Most databases will give you the option to either search within the publication (using keywords), or to browse specific issues (listed by year/month, volume, or issue).
- Journal of Business Case StudiesAvailable online. Access to this journal is divided into two parts: 2009-2011, and 2011-Present. Once you click "Find it," select which content you want to view . From there, you can "Search within this publication" using keywords, or "Browse specific issues" to find a case study relevant to you.
- Journal of the International Academy for Case StudiesAvailable online. Once you click "Find it," select the Read Full Text link. From there, you can "Search within this publication" using keywords, or "Browse specific issues" to find a case study relevant to you.
- California Management ReviewAvailable in print and online. If locating online access, use the Find it button and select the first link provided. To search for case studies, use the "Search within this publication" link and type "case stud*" (including quotations) in the second search box. You may also want to add a third box to enter keywords relating to your specific topic. Refer to screenshots below.
- Asian Case Research JournalAvailable online. Use the Find it button and select the Read Full Text link. To search for case studies, use the "Search within this publication" link and type "case stud*" (including quotations) in the second search box. You may also want to add a third box to enter keywords relating to your specific topic. Refer to screenshots below.
- Harvard Business ReviewAvailable in print and online. If locating online access, use the Find it button and select the first link provided. To search for case studies, use the "Search within this publication" link and type "case stud*" (including quotations) in the second search box. You may also want to add a third box to enter keywords relating to your specific topic. Refer to screenshots below.
Databases with Case Studies
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowConstruct your search in EconLit just as you would for Business Source Premier. From Advanced Search, enter "case stud*" (including the quotation marks) in the first text box and select SU Subject Terms from the drop-down menu for that box. In the second box, try entering a keyword(s) to narrow your search based the topic you are researching. Once you have a list of results, you might want to adjust the date range (anywhere from the last 3-10 years, depending on how frequently the area is changing). See the example screen shot above from Business Source Premier.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowUse the Advanced Search to search for "case stud*" AND keywords describing your topic. Limit the Date Range to include only items from the last 10 years (or less). View the screenshot above for Business Source Premier for an example of how to format the keyword search.
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowOn the Advanced Search page, scroll down to Document Type and select both Business Case and Case Study. Then enter keyword(s) relating to your topic in the search box, and narrow the date range using the Publication Date drop-down menu (last 2 years, last 5 years, last 10 years...). Then hit search.
