Library Guides: MBA Program: Find Articles & More

Popular vs. Scholary Sources

Magazine vs. Journals

Do you have a citation and need to find the article?

Use the library's CitationLinker tool. Identify parts of the citation and use what you know to search for the article.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service offered to patrons who are unable to find certain books or articles through the SU Academic Commons Library or other USMAI Libraries. Library staff may be able to request these items if they are owned by libraries across the United States.

+Search Recommended Databases for Articles

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for 1000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research in over 400 books, journals, dissertations, and working papers.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection provides seamless access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. Hosted content includes MEDLINE (back to 1950) and these regional collections: SciELO Citation Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, and the Russian Science Citation Index.

Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for The Sun, Baltimore (Baltimore Sun) newspaper 1990-present.
Historical Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Includes complete issues of The Baltimore Sun,cover to cover from 1837 to 1996. Search by keyword, more than 20 article types, date ranges, specific dates, author, and more. View news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more for added context. Print and download articles and images in PDF format.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1851-2018.
Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files from 1889-2010.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper (1980-present), the New York Times Book Review (1988-present), and the New York Times Magazine (1997-present).
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 60 sources.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper 1984-present
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper 1987-present

Search Strategies

1. Research question or statement

What is it exactly that you are trying to find? Think of a way to state your topic in 1-2 sentences.

2. Search terms

Pull words (and/or synonyms of those words) from your statement/question to use as KEYWORDS to craft your search...

international management
culture
business strategy

...and use BOOLEAN OPERATORS to broaden or narrow your search, or create relationships between keywords...

management AND culture
- Searches for resources using BOTH of these keywords
(business OR management) AND culture
- Searches for resources that use EITHER business OR management, in addition to searching for mention of culture
(business OR management) AND cultur*
- Same search as above, but expands the meaning of cuture. Using an asterisk* to truncate a word tells the search engine to find all possible endings of that truncated word (cultur* = cultural, culture, cultures...)
(business OR management) AND cultur* NOT "United States"
- Use NOT to eliminate keywords or phrases from your search results. This is especially useful if, after trying a search phrase, you receive too many results that pertain to an area that is not relevant to you.

More Tips

Use Search Options or Filters to further narrow your search to a specific type of resource, date range, etc.
String together relevant synonyms or words with similar meanings to broaden your search results. ---> strategy OR plan OR method OR practice
Avoid inputting your entire research statement into the catalog or a database's search engine. Break it up into keywords as shown above

Access SU Libraries Databases

Databases A-Z List

MBA Program: Find Articles & More