Library Guides: MBA Program: Popular Sources and Websites

Newspapers, Magazines, and Websites

In addition to scholarly sources, SU Libraries provides access to many popular business periodicals. The business world moves fast, sometimes the information you need won't be in a peer-reviewed scholarly source, you may need quarterly earnings reports, 10-k reports, stock information, etc. So, oftentimes news sources and online government filings will provide important information when researching for business.

While not a "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" source, it would be unwise to discount these sources of information because they do not fit the usual academic research mold. Just be sure to evaluate your sources critically.

Wall Street Journal
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper 1984-present.
Washington Post
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper 1987-present.
Baltimore Sun
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for The Sun, Baltimore (Baltimore Sun) newspaper 1990-present.
New York Times
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper (1980-present), the New York Times Book Review (1988-present), and the New York Times Magazine (1997-present).

Business Week
Reports on news, ideas and trends affecting industry and the economy for those in business management, with national and international coverage.
The Economist
Founded in 1843, The Economist is and always has been, a publication of sometimes radical opinion with a reverence for facts. It is firmly established as one of the world's most authoritative and influential publications. Articles from The Economist are anonymous.
Financial Times
The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations, recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. It is part of Nikkei Inc., which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community.
Forbes
Forbes is a business magazine featuring business leaders, entrepreneurs, executives and investors.
Fortune
A monthly magazine that business information on the economic, political and social trends that affect the environment of business.
Harvard Business Review
Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.

Select Websites

arXiv.org e-print archive
Open access to e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Funded by Cornell University Library, the Simons Foundation and by the member institutions.
SOAR@SU
A digital archive that provides public online access to the work of the faculty, staff, and students of Salisbury University. It is SU's contribution to MD-SOAR (Maryland Shared Open Access Repository).

Select federal resource sites.

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies (usa.gov)
A directory of federal agencies from the official U.S. government website.
BusinessUSA (usa.gov)
Sections include: Start a Business; Access Financing; Explore Exporting; Grow Your Business; Find Opportunities; Learn About New Health Care Changes; Browse Resources for Veterans; Learn About Taxes and Credits; Help with Hiring Employees
GovInfo
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
The U.S. Small Business Administration (sba.gov)
Sections include: Starting & Managing; Loans & Grants; Contracting; Learning Center; Local Assistance; and, SBA Direct.
United States Patent and Trademark Office (uspto.gov)
Patents; Trademarks; Intellectual Property Law and Policy

Select local resource sites.

Salisbury, MD Area Chamber of Commerce (.com)
Offers business support and information about the area.
Wicomico County Quick Facts (census.gov)
Data from the U.S. Census Bureau (a great place to look for demographic information).
Maryland Be Moved. Department of Business and Economic Development
Offers a wealth of information on Maryland and business (formerly Choose Maryland).
Maryland Open Data Portal
Browse by category or use the search bar in the top right.
Maryland State Data Center (.us)
Coordinated by the Maryland Department of Planning and official partner with the U.S. Census Bureau.
Maryland Small Business Development Center (.org)
Provide advice, consulting and support to entrepreneurs and small businesses across the state. Part of a national SBDC network that helps over 500,000 U.S. businesses annually.

Social media sites for businesses or brands.

Facebook for Business
How to use Facebook for business marketing
Instagram for Business
Share your brand's unique point of view with Instagram
LinkedIn Small Business
Small business resources to help you get more out of LinkedIn
X Business
Grow your business with X (formerly Twitter)
Social Media Management Dashboard - HootSuite
Manage social networks, schedule messages, engage your audiences, and measure ROI right from the dashboard.
Yelp for Business Owners
Yelp provides a free suite of tools to showcase your business and connect you to the Yelp community.
Google Business Profiles
How to use Google Business Profiles to allow people to easily find your business on Google Search and Maps.

BRASS Best of the Best Business Web Resources

The BRASS Best of the Best Business Web Resources Award was established in 2009. The Award recognizes 3-5 websites highly-relevant to information professionals involved in providing business reference services. The websites are nominated and selected by the BRASS Education Committee members, typically in October-November. The criteria include the quality of content, ease of use, and technical execution.

World Bank Business Ready (B-READY)
The World Bank’s new Business Ready (B-READY) site benchmarks the business and investment climate across economies, replacing the former Doing Business report. The complete open-source data set and a reproducibility package are provided. The B-READY methodology evaluates economies by assessing ten topics, such as Business Entry, Labor, Financial Services and International Trade, and organizes this analysis around three pillars: Regulatory Framework, Public Services, and Operational Efficiency.
Nonprofit Explorer
ProPublica's free Nonprofit Explorer provides comprehensive, searchable access to tax filings from over 3 million tax-exempt organizations in the United States. This powerful database allows users to search, browse, and download Form 990 filings dating back to 2013, offering unparalleled transparency into nonprofit operations. The interface includes user-friendly search capabilities by organization name, location, or EIN, while also offering filtering by organization type, revenue size, and filing year.
Data Quality Literacy: A Guidebook
This eBook covers various aspects of data quality literacy, including quality assurance in data creation, governmental and commercial data, data reproducibility and preservation, and more. The edited volume is based on a series of national forum webinars which were compiled and enhanced with infographics and supplementary materials to equip information professionals, researchers, and students with the skills to critically evaluate data quality.
AI Transformation Case Studies
The “AI Transformation Case Studies” Notion workspace, published by AI Expert Network (AIX), expands its “AI in Action” newsletter and Substack. The site provides a free, curated repository of business AI implementation examples. AIX is a global organization connecting businesses with AI professionals. This collection of case studies addresses the scarcity of documented real-world business AI deployments. The collection provides over 200 case studies indexed by company, industry, use case, and technology. Each case study presents structured information including company approach, implementation, challenges, results, takeaways, and referenced sources.

The Business Model Canvas
Used to create and document business models, the BMC is a strategic analysis tool that visually maps the relationships between customer segments, value propositions, channels, customer relationships, revenue streams, key resources, key activities, key partnerships, and cost structure.
Ethics Unwrapped
Designed to teach ethics in “every academic discipline where human beings think, interact, and work”, this educational program encompasses an introductory section and eight focused areas, including ‘Organizational Ethics’ and ‘Sustainability and CSR.’
Harvard's Atlas of Economic Complexity (version 3, 2021)
The Atlas is a globally recognized tool “intended to advance the understanding of inclusive economic growth.” Interactive data visualizations enable researchers to explore relevant international business information focusing on imports/exports, drivers of economic growth, and GDP growth prospects of certain countries.
Tax Notes' Tax History Project
This educational resource presents the history of taxation in the United States through three chronological collections. The ‘Tax History Museum’ is an encyclopedic overview from colonial America in 1660 to the present. The ‘1040 Archive’ provides copies of all IRS 1040 Forms beginning with tax year 1913.

Census Business Builder
The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.
Data USA
This visualization engine draws from a variety of U.S. federal and state sources, allowing for easy discovery, comparison and customizations of data. It can be used by job seekers, policy makers, business people, students and other researchers. There are four starting silos: Cities & Places, Industries, Jobs, and Education, which offer information on trends in employment (industry growth, diversity, salaries, etc.), industries, education, public health and more. Recipient of the BRASS Best of the Best Business Websites Award 2022.
Investopedia Dictionary of Financial Terms
This free dictionary of 14,000+ financial and business terms is for beginner to experienced information-seekers. Its definitions range from short to article-length, each clearly indicating its author and date. Entries are well-known for being factual and accessible, and the site provides clear, contextual information, even for complex topics.
Our World in Data (OWD)
Our World in Data (OWD) covers global policy “problems of the day” by providing factual articles, historical data and data visualizations, which are available for open access use under the Creative Commons “BY” license. OWD encompasses research related to the environment, economics and social issues, and broadly tracks 100+ sub-topics, like demographic change, economic development, education, energy, food security, health, inequality, poverty, sustainable development and war.

BRASS Best of the Best Business Web Resources Award
To see all BRASS Best of the Best winners visit the BRASS Award Recipients webpage.