Library Guides: HLTH 230: Chronic & Communicable Disease: Finding Information

Who cares enough about your topic to publish information on it?

As you are brainstorming about where to seek out information about your topic, think who cares enough to collect this information? Begin your search there, and also consider the resources below.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Is a comprehensive source for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL® (Cumulated Index in Nursing and Allied Health Literature).
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Is a full-text database focused on health information for consumers and patients.
Health Source: Nursing Academic
Includes nearly 600 scholarly full text titles and an additional 400 indexed titles that focus on nursing and allied health topics.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Contains articles on a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
ScienceDirect
Provides extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities.

CDC Diseases & Conditions
CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services.
Cleveland Clinic Disease & Conditions
"Cleveland Clinic is one of the largest and most respected hospitals in the country. It is a nonprofit multispecialty academic medical center that integrates clinical and hospital care with research and education."
Mayo Clinic: Diseases & Conditions
It is the mission of the Mayo Clinic "to inspire hope and contribute to health and well-being by providing the best care to every patient through integrated clinical practice, education and research." In 2019-2020, the Mayo clinic was voted the No. 1 hospital in the nation by U.S. News and World Report.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.