Librarian Contact
Please Complete All Tutorials Below!
For your library module, complete all the tutorials below. Time estimates are provided, and the tutorials are broken out so you can manage your own time and complete each piece as you see fit. All together, this should take you roughly the same amount of time as your other class adventures, around two hours.
-
Developing a Topic Tutorial5-10 minutes.
-
Keywords and Searching Tutorial10 minutes.
-
Finding Books Tutorial10-15 minutes.
-
Finding Articles Tutorial10-15 minutes.
-
Evaluating Sources Tutorial20-25 minutes.
-
Library Scavenger Hunt for Geography, Culture, Food FYS25-35 minutes. Make sure you're physically located in the GAC when you begin.
Find Research Articles
This Guide is designed to help you find sources for your research project! Use it as a starting point to find quality research on the culture of foods and geographic regions, including recipes, agricultural growing practices, historic foodways, food economics, and migration.
-
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
-
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Natural Science Collection of databases provides access to scholarly and other learned publications in agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biology, earth science, environmental science, and many other related subject areas. The databases included are: Agricultural & Environmental Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; and Biological Science Database.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowEnables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. It also provides cited reference searching.
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowOffers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Content includes many full-text journals and topical video content
Request Free Resources Beyond SU
-
Interlibrary LoanNeed an article that we don't have at SU? Order it for free through Interlibrary Loan! Give yourself 2-4 days for articles and several weeks for books.
-
Request Books from other USMAI SchoolsLogin with your GullNet credentials to access books from other University of Maryland schools! Books usually arrive in about a week, much faster than traditional ILL.