Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ECON 150: Find Articles & More

Tips for Searching Databases

Review the information on the Search Strategies page!

Database Search Filters

Search Filters or Options allow you to further narrow down your search results. Search Options are often available to select when you initially enter in your search terms (such as on an Advanced Search page). Search Filters appear when you are on the search results screen, and are usually on the left-hand side of the page.

Some example filters or options include:

  • Type of document or source you are looking for (an article, report, biography, book review, etc.)
  • Publication date of the source (often as a range)
  • Subject
  • Research method used by the author (qualitative, quantitative, empirical, etc.)
  • & more

The above filters are usually menus where you select the option(s) you want included. Another filter you will see is more of a check-box -- either you want that item included or you don't. This is where you will see the filter for Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed articles.

Find Articles in Specific Databases

SU Libraries has access to around 178 research databases. Some cover multiple subject areas, while others are tailored to a specific discipline.

In addition to subject areas, these databases may also differ in the type of materials they offer. The most common type is scholarly, or peer-reviewed, journal articles. Other types include news articles, company financial data, industry reports, films, videos, images, and more.

Below are a few databases your librarian recommends for finding scholarly, peer-reviewed articles for ECON 150:

Databases with other types of resources... like videos:

To browse other databases, view our complete list below.

Find Articles in Select Databases

You Found an Article -- Now What?

If you have trouble accessing the article itself (you see the title, and maybe the abstract, but cannot seem to access the article), read the steps below.


Online Articles

Once you find an article (whether through a database, the discovery search, or a specific journal), check for an icon or link that says "PDF Full Text". Opening that should provide you with immediate access to the article. From there, you can read, save, or print.

Can't find that "PDF Full Text" link? You may see a "Find It" button instead. Open that link to see whether we have access to the article through a different research database. (Note: Make sure you select a database whose access includes the publication date of your article.)

Still no full-text? Request the article through InterLibrary Loan. You may see a link to this form on the "Find It" page. If not, follow the link below to login to your ILL account and fill out the form manually. Article requests take 1-3 business days. Once the request is filled, you can access the article within your ILL account.


Print Articles

Find a journal using the "All Types" search box on the Libraries' homepage (see Find and Browse Journals tab for more information).

Once you click on a journal's title, check for our print holdings under "Availability". If a record exists under "Salisbury University Libraries", check the date ranges listed to see whether we have current issues. If the date range is open-ended (e.g., 2002- ), that means we currently subscribe to the journal and should have the most recent issue. (View the screenshot under Find and Browse Journals for a visual).

In most cases, the current year of the journal's issues will be kept in the Pit. Titles are filed alphabetically, and run clockwise starting near the Leisure Books section by the service desks. Older issues are bound and located on the 3rd floor of the GAC. Again, they are filed alphabetically. Use the map below to find the Bound Journals location.

  • Current journals (current year) on 1st floor in "Pit". Listed alphabetically starting near the Circulation & Research Help Desks
  • Bound journals (roughly 1 year ago and older) on 3rd floor in compact, movable stacks. To access materials on a given stack (the library shelving unit), simply spin its crank to create an aisle. Check for people in other aisles first! This will move all stacks to the left or right of that stack, depending on the direction you move it.