Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOWK 309: Privilege and Oppression : General Websites

Additional Resources

Polls

Public Opinion Surveys

  • Cornell University maintains a list of public opinion surveys.  Many of the poll organizations can be accessed through this website. 

Pew Research Center 

  • Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan think-tank that conducts research and public opinion polling on attitudes and trends in the U.S. and the world. 

Gallup Polls

  • Gallup has conducted opinion polls about what people think and feel for over 75 years.  Polls range from the economy, wellbeing, and politics.

Background Information Resources

Here's a list of resources that include statistics, poll, and other important information that you may find helpful:

Statistical Abstract of the United States (www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/statab.html)

  • Published annually by the U.S. Census Bureau since 1978, this resource is a compilation of statistical information from the government and private sources.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) (www.cdc.gov)

  • The CDC website provides a wealth of data on health, injuries, morbidity, and morality. 

  • Annually, the CDC publishes the National Health Report, which tracks health and epidemiology in the U.S.

The U.S. Census Bureau (www.census.gov)

  • In addition to the Statistical Abstract, the Census Bureau publishes other data collected by the Census as well as the user-friendly ability to identify data by zip code through the American FactFinder (http://factfinder.census.gov).

Government Accountability Office (GAO) (www.gao.gov)

  • The GAO serves as the investigative arm for members of Congress, who request information or investigation on policies, programs, or procedures that fall under the domain of the government. 

Congressional Budget Office (CBO) (www.cbo.gov)

  • Serving the U.S. Congress, the CBO is responsible for providing objective and nonpartisan analysis of fiscal and budgetary issues to assist legislators in making decisions on programs funded by the federal budget

  • Some information includes the economic forecasts, productivity data, and budget projections.  There are also special collections focused on topics such as Social Security, immigration, and social services.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) (www.loc.gov/crsinfo/)

  • CRS serves as the policy research service for Congress and produces in-depth reports on legislative concerns.  The reports are not publicly disseminated and developed confidentially for legislators, but you can request a copy through members of Congress and it is legal for them to distribute reports to constituents upon request.

  • OpenCRS provides many of the reports that are in the public domain.  (http://opencrs.com/)>>

THOMAS (http://thomas.loc.gov/)

  • THOMAS is the official legislative tracking website for the federal government and is run by the Library of Congress.

  • THOMAS is a wealth of information including searching for public laws, bills introduced to Congress, as well as the background information and history of all bills and laws introduced and passed by Congress.>>

National Conference of State Legislatures (www.ncsl.org/)

  • The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that produces research and technical reports on state issues. 

KIDS COUNT Data Book (http://www.kyyouth.org/KIDS_COUNT/State/)

  • Released annual by Kentucky Youth Advocates, the KIDS COUNT Data Book provides county-by-county data on the status of children in Kentucky.  Child health indicators include poverty rates, prenatal care, breastfeeding, early childhood obesity, and access to recreational facilities.  

American Fact Finder (https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml)

 

Organizations, Centers

American Policy Directory

  •  from Univ. of Oregon Libraries;  comprehensive directory with links on analysis and advocacy from all perspectives on US national public policy 

Think Tank Search

  • from Harvard Kennedy School- Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses. Inclusion is based upon the relevancy of subject area to HKS coursework and scholarship, the availability of the think tank’s research in full-text on the website, and the think tank’s reputation and influence upon policy making. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.

Legislative Bill Sources